Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Munich Hotels

Torbräu

Pros

  • Nice rooms
  • Central location
  • Good restaurant
  • Very attentive service

Cons

  • Underground parking difficult
  • Front rooms a little noisy

Updated 11/18/2013

Fodor's Review

The welcoming Torbräu has been looking after guests in one form or another since 1490, making it the oldest hotel in Munich, and it has been run by the same family for more than a century. It's next to one of the ancient city gates—Isartor, originating in the 14th century—and the location is perfect for an amble up to Marienplatz, or to the river Isar, then onto the Deutsches Museum. The comfortable rooms are modestly decorated in a plush and ornate Italian style, rather than cutting-edge modern design.

Hotel Information

Address:

Tal 41, Munich, 80331, Germany

Map It

Phone:

089-242–340

Website: www.torbraeu.de

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 90 rooms
  • Breakfast

Updated 11/18/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Munich

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 18, 2007

Best location can cost!

Perfect, clean, nice and helpful staff, right in the middle of everything, spendy, but you can walk to everything, subway has a stop right across the street.

By Julian

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 3, 2005

Ideal location, highly recommended.

As the hotel is in two older buildings there is great variation in room size and layout. We were promptly moved when we expressed discontent with the small (cruise ship size) "twin" and were given a double-the-size, two bath sinks and a tub "double" !?!? A/C was fine with outdoor temp to 85F. Great breakfast, smokers segregated, and sitting outside is nice. Wonderful location and easy access to airport with Isartor S-Bahn station across the street.

Family owned/run and always helpful.

Read More

By Rob

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 19, 2005

The Place to Stay !!

Great location , excellent facility , and a helpful & friendly Staff ! The rooms are large , the Staff is accomodating , just a few blocks from the old city center . Near-by are excellent places to eat . This hotel is in excellent condition !

By Andrew

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 13, 2003

Great location near Marienplatz

Nice hotel -- not a value by american standards, but a great location, a few blocks from the Marienplatz. Friendly, accomodating staff; comfortable rooms; quiet, with most rooms overlooking side street (and view of Munich skyline from our 4th floor room)

By Lina

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 11, 2003

Heard it All

This hotel lived up to the reviews, with a great location close to transport and to town. Breakfast was good and there was a good selection. We were happy enough with the room, but it was in the evening that the problem started. Our headboard was up against the wall where the other headboard in the room next to us was. Well we might as well have been in the room with our neighbors,the walls were so thin. Not all that amusing when trying to sleep,

so try to get a corner room...

Read More

By Deb

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 23, 2002

Totally Satisfied by the Torbrau

A terrific gem, this hotel is tops in our book. For starters, our room was ready for check-in a bit before 10am. After the all-nighter from the States, being able to get into our room and clean-up was great! As others have mentioned, the hotel's location was perfect. It was an easy walk to just about everything you'd want to see in central Munich. And for those sites further out, the metro system station was literally, just outside the hotel's

entrance. The hotel was VERY clean! Bathroom was large and beds were comfortable. We stayed in a suite, so our room was large also, but we did peek into some of the other rooms and found them to be bigger than many rooms we've seen in other European hotels. I must agree too with other raters that the staff was wonderful! They were friendly, very knowledgable, helpful and polite. We felt very welcomed. No question was too trivial. There was always a smile and a personal greeting when we walked into the lobby. Their English skills were excellent (lucky, since I speak no German). The room rates were reasonable and included a lovely breakfast buffet. We stayed for a week and if we ever go to Munich again, we would certainly choose the Torbrau. I would recommend it to anyone, for our experience there was totally terrific.

Read More

By Dick

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 7, 2002

Great small hotel with a super location

Steps from the Isator S-Bahn station and a short walk to the MarienPlatz and everything else you want to see. Staff extremely helpful. Our room on the 2nd floor was very nice with a balcony that overlooked Isator and Tal Strasse. Excellent breakfast buffet in a very pretty room. Would not consider staying anywhere else on our next visit. Email me if you have any questions. I would be happy to answer.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 30, 2002

Location, Location, Location

Hotel Torbrau was located centrally by everything a tourist would want to see in Munich. We parked our car and left it there until it was time to leave Munich. So convenient. The room was small, but modern and very clean. The staff was wonderful, very friendly and all spoke excellent English, while helping me with my German. For the price, this place is tops!

By Frank

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 15, 2001

A great place to stay

Our experience was quite good. Unfortunately it was freakishly warm and the A/C wasn't turned on yet, but we made do. The location is excellent and though our room was small, it had everything we needed including a shower with excellent pressure. The location can't be beat with walking distance to Marienplatz, Hofbrauhaus, Deutcshes Museum, and a subway outside the Hotel entrance.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement