Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

The French Riviera Hotels

Windsor

  • 11 rue Dalpozzo Map It
  • $$
  • Design

Pros

  • Private pool and garden in heart of city
  • Enthusiastic welcome
  • You can print your boarding pass for free in the lobby

Cons

  • Artist-inspired decor is not for everyone (look online before booking!)
  • Street rooms can be noisy
  • Ultra-Violet elevator is cool the first time but annoying by the end of the week

Updated 12/20/2013

Fodor's Review

This is a memorably eccentric hotel—most of its white-on-white rooms either have frescoes of mythological themes or are works of artists' whimsy—but the real draw at this otherworldly place is its astonishing city-center garden, a tropical oasis of lemon, magnolia, and palm trees, only outdone by the excellent service. You can breakfast (extra €13.50) or dine here by candlelight (the breakfast-and-dinner option costs €36 per person), yet with so many eateries close

by, you may not want to tie yourself in.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

11 rue Dalpozzo, Nice, 06000, France

Map It

Phone:

/04–93–88–59–35

Hotel Details:

  • 57 rooms
  • No meals

Updated 12/20/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in The French Riviera

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 26, 2003

Arty, But Not Pretentious

Cool, clean room with a little balcony. Stayed here a few weeks ago on a warm winter day. Loved the garden, the great front desk personnel, and the restrained funkiness of the place. Located in a good part of town close to everything. Would return.

By Amy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 27, 2003

Every room is an adventure!

We just got back from our stay at the Windsor. The family run hotel is a blast. They are very accomodating and friendly. OUr room was fun and sufficient. Parking is tricky, but if you're lucky you'll find something on the street. It is close to the airport and easy to find. We had a great meal at a local restaurant, La Toque Blanche. We'll be back.

By Barbara

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 30, 2002

Bizarre Artwork

The garden is the best thing about this hotel. One wall of my room was garishly painted. The elevator loudly counts down to 10. Some may find all this cute, but I thought it was tasteless. Staff on the other hand, was warm and friendly. I wouldn't stay here again and I go to Nice often.

By Peter

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 12, 2002

Request an Art Room

Not to far from the beach. Make sure you ask for the discount coupon for the beach. There is no sand in Nice. Bring a good pair of aqua socks or sandles that can go in the water. You will need them. A good value. Staff helpfull. Colvin (the owners son) was great. Everyone spoke great english. Elevator was a trip. You have to request a artist room. I stayed in "Ben" and it was wild. I had a room that faced the street and I slept with the window open.

No problem with the street noise. A must do 3 blocks away is the restuarant Il vinaino. It is fantastic. Best food in Nice.

Read More

By Lori

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 13, 2002

I expected a little more from a 3 star hotel

While the room was nice, it was nothing special. Small bathroom, but clean. Lovely gardens and the help was more than accomodating. Lots of construction happening in the area that made it a bit noisy, they need double paned windows. Tiny lift, can only fit 1 person with luggage. Nothing special breakfast. The massage is the best value you will ever find - 40 euros for an hour of bliss.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 15, 2001

Overrated

This is a clean, friendly hotel for Nice. It's garden is the real charm.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement