Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

The French Riviera Hotels

La Perouse

Pros

  • Discreet elegance steps from the Old Town and the Promenade
  • Very good service

Cons

  • Some windows face a stone wall
  • Not good for those with mobility issues
  • Best to get to breakfast (€24) before 10 am as supplies may run low

Updated 12/19/2013

Fodor's Review

Just past the Vieille Ville, at the foot of the town's château, this hotel is a secret treasure cut into the cliff (an elevator takes you up to reception). The best rooms—including Raoul Dufy's favorite—not only have views of the azure sea, they also look down into an intimate garden dotted with lemon trees; all rooms, however, underwent some serious renovations in 2013 and have a breezy, inviting style that makes you think twice about leaving them for a drink at the new patio bar or a dip in the cliff-side pool. An excellent on-site restaurant serves meals year round in a candlelit garden.

Hotel Information

Address:

11 quai Rauba Capeu, Nice, 06300, France

Map It

Phone:

/04–93–62–34–63

Hotel Details:

  • 57 rooms
  • No meals

Updated 12/19/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in The French Riviera

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Vickie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 16, 2005

Hotel with lots of charm

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights in June 2005. We absolutely loved it! Our room had a large terrace overlooking the Mediterranean. The breakfast is in a cute little courtyard. We also liked the location of the hotel - just a 5 minute walk from Old Nice. If we go to Nice in the future, we'll definitely stay at La Perouse again.

By Jen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 9, 2002

Nice Location

The location of La Perouse couldn't be better. A quick walk one way gets you to Old Nice, dozens of restaurants and the maze of small stores. A short walk the other way brings you to the port with the amazingly huge yachts and even more restaurants. And a mere walk across the street brings you to the tip of the waterfront walkway, with a view of the entire Nice waterfront strip. And, of course, many rooms have an amazing view of the Med and the surrounding

area. Along with all of that, the hotel is tastefully decorated with wonderful attention to detail. The beds are comfy and the bathrooms are new and absolutely gorgeous. The pool area and outside terrance are also beautiful both day and night. (Although no view unless you stand up and look over the wall.) The staff was also helpful and spoke fluent English. Just two pieces of advice -- splurge to get a room with a view (we wish one had been available) and if you can't, make sure to avoid the standard room that's located below the breakfast room. Unless you're an early bird, you'll be woken up early by walking and chairs scraping. For a hotel that has clearly put a focus on getting all the details right, this is one they've overlooked.

Read More

By suzanne

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 2, 2002

worth the $$

our stay here was a highlight in a long trip. the extra $$ for a room at the top with a balcony facing the med. sea is well worth it. delicious breakfast on the patio, relaxing dinner under the lemon trees.

By Diane

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 10, 2002

La Perouse Made Nice 'Nicer'

To set the stage, please know that we were robbed at the Avis counter and when the police called the hotel for us to notify them we were delayed, the hotel upgraded our room at no additional charge because they felt so badly about our mishap. In addition, our luggage had not arrived and they intervened for the next 3 days in running interference between airlines to get us our luggage (way above the call of duty, as we had already left the hotel!!!).

But, the staff were extremely warm, pleasant and helpful. The room had breathtaking views of both the coast and the sea. The location of the hotel takes you just out of the busy atmosphere of the city, but still within easy walking distance of the market, shops, restaurants, etc. Rooms were spacious by French standards, nicely appointed and welcoming. The bathroom was very lovely (recently been refurbished). Adequate closets, place for luggage (and an in-room safe). Food was great - a good value. I would not hesitate to recommend La Perouse to anyone going to Nice.

Read More

By Wendy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 9, 2002

Missing La Perouse...

My husband and I stayed at La Perouse in June 2001. It was an amazing experience. We felt completely pampered. Definitley pay the extra $ for a view. The breakfasts are terrific. Excellent location. Linens are great. Perfectly relaxing. What more can I say but that I would love to go back!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement