Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Paris Hotels

Hôtel d'Aubusson

  • Hôtel d'Aubusson, St-Germain-des-Prés

    Courtesy Hôtel d'Aubusson

  • Hôtel d'Aubusson, St-Germain-des-Prés

    Courtesy Hôtel d'Aubusson

  • Hôtel d'Aubusson, St-Germain-des-Prés

    Courtesy Hôtel d'Aubusson

  • Hôtel d'Aubusson, St-Germain-des-Prés

    Courtesy Hôtel d'Aubusson

Pros

  • Central location near shops and a market street
  • Spacious rooms
  • Staff greets you warmly

Cons

  • Some of the newer rooms lack character
  • Busy street and bar can be noisy
  • Very touristy

Updated 02/19/2014

Fodor's Review

The showpiece at this 17th-century town house in the heart of St-Germain-des-Prés is the stunning front lobby, spanned by massive beams and a gigantic stone fireplace reminiscent of French aristocratic homes of yore. Decked out in rich burgundies, greens, or blues, the bedrooms are filled with Louis XV and Regency antiques; even the smallest rooms are a generous size by Paris standards. Hermès toiletries fill the granite bathrooms. Behind the paved courtyard is a second

structure with three apartments, all ideal for families. The hotel's Café Laurent hosts jazz musicians Thursday through Saturday evening, and piano on Wednesday.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

33 rue Dauphine, 6e, Paris, 75006, France

Map It

Phone:

/01–43–29–43–43

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 49 rooms
  • Breakfast

Updated 02/19/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Paris

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By YodaS

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 10, 2012

Hôtel d'Aubusson Review

Great location. Helpful and courteous staff. Eat off premises, as their restaurant wasn't that great. However, wine tastings and mid-afternoon teas were great. Housekeeping could have vacuumed the floors in the rooms a little better, but overall would come back again. Did I mention the location?

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 15, 2011

Hôtel d'Aubusson Review

Telling the truth about the hotel. I used to stay there a lot and wanted to return there to spend Thanksgiving this year with my sister because my husband had recently died.Unfortunately,AFTER I cancelled the reservations I was informed that the entire amount I had been told I had to pay upfront to reserve this room (which was EUR 3,240.00 when I reserved it -- was NOT refundable!! The reason I had to cancel was because I got MRSA which is a highly

contagious disease and had I entered Paris, I probaby would have been ordered to be quarantined in a hospital or at the hotel until I got better. I THIS THEIR BUSINESS PRACTICES ARE A DISGRACE AND I WILL FILE A LOT OF COMPLAINTS AND GENERATE A LOT OF PUBLICITY OF THEY DO NOT REFUND THIS! By the way, there is really nothing charming or special about this hotel. The only reason I used to stay there was because they allowed guests to bring dogs, if you stayed in the most cramped rooms in the hotel. TRAVELERS BEWARE: IF YOU HAVE TO CANCEL YOUR REGISTRATION, YOU WILL LOST ALL THE MONEY YOU HAD TO PAY UPFRONT TO MAKE THE RESERVATION.

Read More

By Uma

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 20, 2009

Style and Charm in the 6th

This is a lovely small hotel in the bustling St. Germain des Pres area, only minutes from the Seine, close to the islands, Louvre, Luxembourg Gardens, cafes, bistros, boulangeries, patisseries, shops. Our room was nicely decorated and had ample space. The lobby is elegant and inviting. Listening to jazz in the evenings in the hotel's Cafe Laurent was an added treat. Staff couldn't have been nicer to us. We would definitely return here.

By Sara

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 20, 2004

A Hidden Jewel in Paris' Left Bank

I did months of research on Parisian hotels and decided that the Hotel D'Aubusson seemed to be a good price for the location. Boy, was that an understatement! The hotel is a gorgeous, converted townhouse with large sized rooms and bathrooms (for Paris standards). The staff is so friendly and very helpful with everything - especially Sebastian! And, the hotel is extremely well-located in the heart of the Left Bank. I will not stay anywhere else

the next time that I come to Paris. What a jewel! I am a little worried that my rave reviews will cause this well-kept secret to become over-booked and overly expensive. But, I feel that the Hotel D'Aubusson deserves the recognition.

Read More

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 2, 2004

look elsewhere

Stayed over new year's 2003/2004. Goodlocation but lousy service. Quite overpriced relative to what's available elsewhere. A lousy continental breakfast for 23 Euro per person?! This place may make sense for folks looking for "perceived" quality. Its kind of stuffy and we thought it was under staffed. Room was nice but had to put the mattress on the floor to avoid falling into the middle of it. Would not stay there again after trying some of the alternatives.

By Jim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 29, 2003

Great Hotel across the river from the Lovre

We stayed here the last week of September 03 and had a wonderful experience. The concierge staff (especially Sebastian) were very accomodative and helpful with restaurants and directions to all attractions. Our room was very comfortable, clean and quiet, eventhough Europeans haven't figured out how to contain water within a bathtub/shower. But the best thing about the hotel is it's location in St Germain. Great shopping, restaurants, Notre Dame,

Musee d'Orsay and the Lovre were all within easy walking distance. We plan on staying here next spring when visit this most wonderful city. A total winner.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 14, 2002

The perfect Parisian hotel!

I stayed at this hotel during the Winter of 2002, and had a wonderful experience there. The Standard room was very clean, quiet, and spacious. The staff was friendly and spoke English quite well. The lobby was small (not like the typically garish American ones) but in good taste, and the breakfast room in the back was adorable. Lastly, the location can't be beat - it's on a very cute little street in the middle of a bustling but quaint area of

Paris, and you are within walking distance to all the major museums, many great restaurants and cafes, and great shopping areas. For the price ($250 a night), I highly reccomend this hotel!

Read More

By Terry

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 22, 2002

D'Aubusson - Right Hotel, Left Bank

My wife, daughter and I stayed at Hotel D'Aubusson during June 2002. Our first night happened to be the day Music Festival began. The streets of St. Germain de Pres looked like Mardi Gras. When we retired for the evening, we expected to hear music all night. We were on the second floor and I can tell you we never heard a thing. The double windows in the hotel totally blocked the noise. This hotel is a real find. Though slightly expensive, the rooms

are very modern a large by European standards and the bath was very large with all of the amenities. Best of all was the staff. They were so accomodating and friendly. The got us last minutes reservations at one very popular restaurant that was, when we checked two months prior, booked through July. The staff is terrific. The location doesn't get much better. You are minutes from the Latin Quarter, Pont Neuf bridge,Santmaratines, the Louvre, Luxembourg Gardens, Notre Dame and the Metro, etc., ect.. As you walk out the front door of the Hotel turn left and go down about 1/2 block to patisserie (I don't remember the name. It is on the right hand side of the street.)with the most amazing Pain de Chocholat you will ever taste. They use true crescents, not the insitutional one's you see in some other places in Paris. Don't miss the Hotel D'Aubusson.

Read More

By Claudia

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 30, 2002

All in all A Winner

Room was a decent size for Paris, but overall a bit disappointing for the 250 euro price tag - a far cry from charming and the bed caved a bit in the middle. We had a standard but it was one of 3 slightly larger rooms. I must say that the bathroom was quite wonderful and everything was super clean! Hotel is homey, not much of a lobby - small and plain but a nice bar and courtyard and a very pretty living room type area in the back. Service was

very good. Guys at the desk were helpful and Michael was the BEST. Overall value a high 3. I would have liked a better looking room. Maybe the more expensive rooms have all the charm... ?

Read More

By Barbara

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 5, 2002

Great Room and Service, but Avoid the Food

Great location and the service is wonderful. The room was very comfortable and well-maintained. Both the breakfast and the room service food were mediocre and very expensive.

By Sue

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 24, 2002

An Oasis

Our room was spartan but had all the amenities. We stayed on the non-smoking floor in a standard double overlooking the street. Nothing fancy, but it had bathrobes, lots of great towels, a large tub with a handheld sprayer that you could mount high for a standup shower, and a mini-bar. The hair dryer was just a hose blowing hot air. There is an Internet service in the lobby but the keyboard is French and I found it hard to use. The staff was

amazing and very friendly. We spent an evening in the bar listening to the jazz pianist, which was very cool. We ordered breakfast delivered to our room one day and found it to be very expensive. I really liked the hotel, but I would try another on my next trip. For the money, I thought the room was a little on the dull side.

Read More

By Ken

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 3, 2002

Location, location, location plus service.

No matter where you want to go in Paris or what you want to see the Hotel D'Aubusson is the place to start from that makes getting there easiest. The right bank of the Seine and the Samaritaine department store (the most reasonably priced in Paris) with its free rooftop view of all Paris, is literally a two minute walk from the hotel. In the other direction there are dozens of restaurants of all types and shops within four square blocks. The concierge

and the entire staff are "anxious", not just willing, to help you enjoy your stay at the hotel and anywhere else you might want to go in Paris. Guests who stay more than a couple of days get unexpected extras - we got champagne and two washcloths with our initials embroidered in them as souvenirs. Some get wines, chocolates, fruit baskets, etc. This hotel gives you a head start on having a great time in Paris. We'll definitely be back - many times, I hope.

Read More

By Jeff

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 1, 2002

Will Absolutely Stay There Next Time

Very warm and elegant hotel about a 5 minute walk to the Pont Neuf. Rooms are larger than average and very quiet. Lot's of great shops and restaurants all around the neighborhood. Fantastic bar where you can have drinks on a large couch in front of a roaring fireplace. Make sure to meet with Flavien, who has run the bar for 10 years. He gave us many great restaurant suggestions in the area. Centrally located around many attractions that most

of the time we walked instead of taking the Metro. We really enjoyed most everything about the hotel during our week stay and look forward to returning soon.

Read More

By Caren

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 28, 2001

The Icing on the Cake

My husband stayed here in April and enjoyed it so much that it was our first choice when we sought to book a room for a visit together. However, it was booked solid back in the summer when we attempted to reserve a room during the first week in October (fashion week) and we had to book a room elsewhere. After the unfortunate events that occurred on September 11, however, the hotel had a number of cancellations that enabled us to switch our original

reservations and stay here. Everything about this pretty little oasis on the busy streets of the 6th Arrondissment was first rate. The location could not have been better. Our room was sizeable, yet charming (in that unmistakeable European manner) and had a queen size bed. The towel warmers in the bathroom were a special ammenity. And the English-speaking staff was very friendly and accomodating. I could go on... Our trip to Paris was perfect in many ways, and staying at this lovely little hotel was certainly the "icing on the cake". Highly recommended!

Read More

By Doug

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 7, 2001

First Class Service - 2nd to none

Stayed at the D'Aubusson in early April 2001. We were in room #505 which is a loft for three people which worked out well with my seven year old son. The room was spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated but not what you might expect in some of the other rooms. Rather "vanilla" in terms of in-room (they call them apartments) decor but so very nice notwithstanding. Towel warmers, robes, china, and they even have wash clothes! In spite of the

French custom of not using shower curtains the Aubusson did at least have a partial glass enclosure which did minimize the splash from the shower. Street noise was minimal. The front housekeeping and front desk staff (Guy and H'arnold) were all super! You could ask them to walk the two blocks to the Seine to photograph it for you and I'd bet you a Franc they would do it with pleasure. You will enjoy this hotel even at about USD350/night but do go for a regular room instead of the lofts if you have only one or two people. Enjoy!

Read More

By Edye

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 2, 2001

great left bank location, rooms vary widely

The d'Aubusson is located in a wonderful area, strolling around here makes one feel like it's home. The hotel is very modern, meaning beds, sheets, towels, furniture, bathrooms feel pleasantly new and in excellent condition. Room size varies widely so ask to see a few before settling in - not doing so was our mistake!

By Maria

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 14, 2001

Beware of De Luxe rooms...

When I booked a De Luxe room, which costs 50% more than a standard, I was expecting a large, luxurious room, and was very disappointed! I found out the room was about the same size of the Standard I had before, with just a few added amenities.

By elaine

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 10, 2001

The only better hotels are double the price

May 2000: We just spent six nights at the d'Aubusson and cannot recommend it highly enough. The staff was fantastic, our standard room was large enough for the two of us and completely soundproofed from the street and the location is fabulous. (Elaine's note: hotel recommended by Gourmet magazine May 99. Fireplaces, tapestries, beamed ceilings, modernized bathrooms, courtyard.33 rue Dauphine, 6th. Tel 43 29 43 43, fax 43 29 12 62 see comments

from my own stay following) Just a few blocks from the left bank end of Pont Neuf. Beautifully decorated, as if it had been redone last week. 5-8 minute walk to either St Michel or Odeon metro stop. 15-20 minute walk to Notre Dame. Provides hair dryers, and amenities like shampoo. Staff very friendly and accommodating. They also offer for sale the carte musee (museum pass) with no additional mark-up on the prices. Rooms facing rue Dauphine do get some street noise from traffic or horns, but not terrible. "Superior twin room" was 1550 FF Dec 2000. Hotel neighborhood charming, many shops and boutiques with fine goods. Also, nearby rue Buci has many places to buy provisions for a picnic: stores selling fruits, cheeses, breads, wine, even roasted chickens. You'll need your own paper plates, utensils, napkins, and cork screw. As nice as the hotel is, I still personally prefer staying on the right bank in the 1st but that is a personal preference..

Read More

By Lee

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 1, 2000

Third Time The Charm

THANK YOU Fodorites - you were so right! Having had to change plans in Egypt and head north instead of east, we quickly searched the hotel reviews from Cairo. After spending 7 nights at this charming, friendly, cosy little hotel, we can hardly wait for the fourth visit to Paris. The friendly "bonjours" that greeted us each day when we returned made us feel right at home - not to mention the terry robes, fruit baskets, sweets on the pillow waiting

after evening service, and the birthday bottle of champagne. Our 'superior room' was very spacious (the bath enormous) and the location couldn't have been better with all the wonderful restaurants and shops of the St. Germaine right on the cobblestone doorstep. Staff all English speaking and the most helpful we've ever encountered in Paris. Worth every penny!

Read More

By Michael

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 8, 2000

Best of the Left Bank

After years of looking for the perfect Left Bank hotel, we've found it. On the main street, so rooms in the back are quieter. Breakfast only so-so, but that's a minor quibble. We go back next month.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement