Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Paris Hotels

Hôtel de l'Abbaye

Pros

  • Tranquil setting
  • Upscale neighborhood
  • Good value packages

Cons

  • Rooms differ greatly in size and style
  • Some bathrooms are quite small, with handheld shower heads
  • Old-fashioned decor a bit somber

Updated 02/19/2014

Fodor's Review

An 18th-century convent, this compact hotel on a tranquil side street near St-Sulpice welcomes you with a cobblestone ante-courtyard. A breakfast room overlooks the spacious garden. Rooms have period furnishings and fabrics in stripes and floral designs. All have flat-screen TVs, and those upstairs have oak beams and sitting alcoves. Split-level suites have lovely private terraces.

Hotel Information

Address:

10 rue Cassette, 6e, Paris, 75006, France

Map It

Phone:

/01–45–44–38–11

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 26 rooms, 8 suites
  • Breakfast

Updated 02/19/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Paris

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 14, 2009

Hôtel de l'Abbaye Review

We've stayed at this delightful hotel many times and will continue to stay here whenever we are in Paris.

By Maureen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 2, 2005

Most delightful hotel

We have stayed in this hotel many times and continue to return. The decor is lovely, the location can't be beat and the staff is very attentive and helpful. Unless you want to pay much more, this hotel can't be beat.

By Andrew

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 11, 2004

Nice hotel, shame about the size of the rooms

The hospitality was certainly very warm. The hotel was one of the nicest we have stayed at in Paris, but I would like to point out a couple of things which did slightly marr our stay. a) The room was so hot it was sweltering and we would wake up in the middle of the night very hot. b) The bed was very small for a double (maybe 4foot 6 inches?) and the mattress was very soft and uncomfortable c) The room smelled very badly of cigarette smoke, which

continued to waft into the room throughout the stay. As my wife is pregnant this was particularly unpleasant. But on the good side, the rooms were perfectly decorated, very stylish and the bathrooms were new and very spotlessly clean. The breakfasts too were nice, with very fresh croissants we thought. I felt the hotel was expensive and didn't warrant the rave customer reviews received by other Fodor's readers. Ate 190Euros a night I'd want a bit more room for my money.

Read More

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 2, 2004

wonderful

Stayed during Xmas 2003 and had a completely wonderful visit. They worked with us closely before we came to make various restaurant and entertainment arrangements. This hotel has the best service one could ask for. Good location near Metro and easy walk to left bank hotspots near St. Michele, etc. Very friendly staff. Absolutely helped make our vacation a real success. We had 2nd floor rooms that faced the internal courtyard. With windows open, the

only sounds were the pleasant bubbling of the fountain, below and the birds. No street noise whatsoever. Will certainly stay there again.

Read More

By Michael

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 29, 2003

A Parisian Dream

By far and away our favorite hotel in Paris. We travel to Paris often and have tried numerous hotels but within hours of check-in we always switch to the Hotel de l'Abbaye. Simply put - a perfect Paris hotel. It may seem pricey, but for what you get it is a bargain by Parisian standards. I wish someone from Fodors would re-visit the hotel and realize that Hotel de l'Abbaye deserves to be a Fodor's Choice. Just look at the high user rating.

By Art

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 14, 2002

What a wonderful hotel

Couldn't have been happier with this choice of hotel. Rooms and baths are totally re-done. They're on the small side but certainly not tiny. The staff was extrememly friendly and most helpful; even had them give me informal French lessons. Breakfast is great and in a beautiful setting. Ask for the croissants and the fig (figue) jam. Heavenly! You can also order other items, such as grapefruit juice, hot chocolate, or cereal. Great place for Americans;

staff is conversant in English; free English newspapers; even 115 V outlets in the baths. Convenient location on a quiet narrow street near a dry cleaner, an Internet cafe, and 3 Metro stops. You can make reservations via email. I'll definitely stay at L'Abbaye again on my next trip to Paris.

Read More

By Mary

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 10, 2001

Oasis in the city of light

The hotel is one of the most relaxing places that we stayed in our four month trip to Europe. The rooms are lovely, the staff is helpful and friendly, and the bar and garden are a rare treat for a reasonably priced city hotel. We are already recommending the hotel to friends and looking forward to our next trip to Paris.

By Tonya

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 30, 2001

Charming indeed!

Great location! The staff is very friendly and the breakfast is wonderful. It was raining when we stayed there but the terrace is very charming.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement