Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Paris Hotels

Hôtel des Grandes Écoles

Pros

  • Close to Latin Quarter nightlife spots
  • Lovely courtyard
  • Good value

Cons

  • Uphill walk from the métro
  • Some noisy rooms
  • Few amenities

Updated 02/19/2014

Fodor's Review

Distributed among a trio of three-story buildings, Madame Le Floch's rooms have a distinct grandmotherly vibe because of their flowery wallpaper and lace bedspreads, but they're downright spacious for this part of Paris. Enter through two massive wooden doors, then proceed to the legendary courtyard and garden, which becomes a second living room in warm weather and is a perfect breakfast spot. Rooms in the "garden" wing are the coolest in summer. Modern touches include

Wi-Fi access, room service, and personal safes.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

75 rue du Cardinal Lemoine, 5e, Paris, 75005, France

Map It

Phone:

/01–43–26–79–23

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 51 rooms
  • Breakfast

Updated 02/19/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Paris

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By tom

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 9, 2005

No regret lodging- Contrascarp

Good location in contrascarp. Most accommodatingfriendly staff. Not plush,but not expected In good weather, which we had, the tables and chairs on the off-street patio are a big plus.Good food and drink nearby.We'll surely go again.Enjoyed by french, Yanks and Brits. tml

By Dennis

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 5, 2004

Le jardin est fantastique

The private garden is great and provides a quiet sanctuary for eating wine and cheese after a day of sightseeing in Paris. The room was quiet. The rooms are on the small side. Try to avoid a room on the third floor because they tend to be smaller and ask for one facing the garden. We found the staff helpful and spoke better English than our French. Don't bother with the optional breakfast for 8 euros. There is a boulangerie two blocks away (across

the street from the Cardinale limoine metro stop) with a cafe across the street where you can eat your pain au chocolat with expresso or coffee for less than 8 euros. Our only complaint was that we were given dirty towels and the bathroom was not clean--this is reflected in the service score we gave them. We would stay there again.

Read More

By Allison

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 30, 2004

Grand Grandes Ecoles

We stayed in a quad for four nights and were enchanted by the friendly service, beautiful gardens and spotless room. Next time in Paris, we'll stay here again.

By Kathy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 19, 2002

Lovely garden

I loved the beauty and charm of this hotel. There were a few drawbacks to be aware of however. The hill up to the room from the metro was difficult for my mother. NOT a problem for a middleaged adult, but a consideration for an elderly traveler with jet lag. I suspect that is the ONLY hill in all of Paris beside the one at Sacre Coure(sp) Second, the breakfast, altho charming, was not a deal and for 2 glasses of juice we were charged 6 Euros. I

thought it was pricey on top of the 7 Euros per person for coffee and croissant. Our room was $110.00 per night. There isn't a TV for catching up on the news (and there was a lot of news going on while we were there). I missed not having a small fridge in the room for cheese. My mother was ill from travel the staff did provide me with a pot of tea for her. The room was lovely and the beds reasonably comfortable. All was immaculate and charming.

Read More

By Denise

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 22, 2002

Latin Quarter Charm at a Bargain Price

We throughly enjoyed our stay at this extremely charming hotel. The proprietors were extremely friendly and helpful. The garden is just lovely, and we often had a difficult time tearing ourselves away from the scrumptious breakfast served there. The only drawback was the lack of AC, but the open windows at night made a slight Paris heatwave no problem. The location can't be beat with lots of good restaurants, Notre Dame, the Pantheon and the Luxembourg

Gardens nearby. I highly recommend it.

Read More

By Howard

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 24, 2002

We almost felt like we were staying in someone's home!

The hotel lived up to--perhaps even surpassed our expectations. It truly was an oasis in the middle of Paris! Had a fine room, with a bathtub and a "real" shower with a sliding door (a rarity to us in our past European experiences). The staff was wonderfully accommodating, helpful, friendly and courteous. We loved it!

By Judy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 30, 2001

What a charming little place!

I, too, spent Thanksgiving week at this wonderful hotel. My room was larger than I expected, lovely and feminine, with pink printed wallpaper, crocheted bedspread, pink bathroom--as a woman traveling alone, it was perfect for me. Staff was helpful with taxi arrangements, the location is so convenient and very, very quiet. I will stay here again.

By Randy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 31, 2001

Almost perfect in Paris

We've spent a week at Grandes Ecoles every October for the past three years. We'd be staying there again this year but we called too late to get the booking we wanted. So this year we're going to Venice instead. Why spoil Paris by thaking a chance on another hotel? The Grandes Ecloes garden, in the autumn, when the leaves have begun to change, is so beautiful and peaceful I hardly want to leave in the morning; and I look forward to returning

early in the afternoon for coffee. The rooms in the garden building (we've never stayed in the main building) are pretty and quiet; the beds are excellent. The neighborhood is a little out of the main tourist area, but not so far as to be inconvenient. I know there are more luxurious hotels in Paris, but I can't imagine that there's a more comfortable one.

Read More

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 4, 2001

Great Location and Value

Just returned from a week at the Grandes Ecoles and we couldn't have been happier. Our room was larger than we feared (given some other comments) and we even had a large patio (8x12!). The location is only about a 100 yards from the metro and 50 yards the other way is a central square which is quite lively after dinner - a great place for drinks or dinner. The court-yard is a peaceful place to have a drink or read a book. Don't worry there is

no restaurant - you don't want to be eating at the same place everyday anyhow! One word of warning, don't use the Frommers 2001 guide to get you there as they have it mislabelled on their map!

Read More

By Alan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 15, 2001

This is a keeper!

We absolutely adored this hotel. There were four of us in one large, immaculate room. The hotel is very well-maintained and is in a wonderful location. The owner is lovely but does not speak much English. However, Marie, her manager, does. Book far in advance. I believe her rooms are booked solid until July. I would return there whenever I go to Paris. Also, the neighborhood is extremely convenient with wonderful little restaurants of all types,

boulangeries, patisseries, fromageries, etc. The metro is one block away. All in all - parfait!

Read More

By Michael

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 6, 2000

Everything you want Paris to be

Enter the gate and into the garden to this wonderful little hotel. The rooms face the garden which help keep the noise down. The hotel is in the Latin Quarter so it's in walking distance by everything. Well this is Paris so you start to walk and continue to walk as everything everywhere is beautiful. The rooms were tiny, but very clean. The bathrooms were nice, though I could have used a shower curtain. How do they shower without the curtain?

I loved this place. Down the street is a wonderful little square with wonderful little cafes and wonerful wonerful drinks.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement