Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Paris Hotels

Les Jardins du Luxembourg

Pros

  • On a quiet street close to major attractions and transportation
  • Hot buffet breakfast
  • Relaxing sauna

Cons

  • Extra charge for Wi-Fi
  • Some very small rooms
  • Air-conditioning not very strong

Updated 02/19/2014

Fodor's Review

Blessed with a personable staff and a warm ambience, this hotel on a calm cul-de-sac puts you just a block away from the Jardin du Luxembourg. The welcoming hardwood-floor lobby with a fireplace leads to smallish rooms furnished with wrought-iron beds topped with Provençal fabrics. Ask for a room with a balcony if you want a view, or request a larger ground-floor unit with a private entrance if you crave some privacy. A hot buffet breakfast is served in the cheerful dining

room. It's an easy commute to either the airport or the Eurostar via the RER train that stops at the end of the street.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

5 impasse Royer-Collard, 5e, Paris, 75005, France

Map It

Phone:

/01–40–46–08–88

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 26 rooms
  • Breakfast

Updated 02/19/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Paris

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Sean

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 16, 2003

Helpful as can be

This little romantic hotel is fantastic. It is in the middle of the a wonderfully busy area, with great restaurants and cafes everywhere. What makes this hotel all the more special, however, is its staff. They are friendly, knowledgable, and eager to help with even the smallest thing.

By Adam

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 3, 2002

Doesn't Get Any Better Than This

The hotel was fabulous! It was quiet as can be, which really makes a difference on the small and crowded streets of Paris. The room was sparkling clean, as wa sthe bathroom. We were in room no. 25 with the slightest view of the Eiffel Tower. The staff was kind and helpful, especially Samira, who was just lovely. For the price it can't be beat. We walked across the city all day and came home to a simple, clean room at night. My boyfriend and

I got engaged, but this bliss did not color my opinion of things. The hotel is one block from the RER train from the airport which was utterly convienient for 7euros. The hotel is also one block from the Luxembourg Gardens, another plus. The only draw back, and definately not a reason to choose another hotel, is that the closest Metro for in-town travel was several blocks away. One last thing, the people in Paris were fabulous, kind, warm, open, helpful, we were delighted by one person after the next- Have a great time and stay in this hotel, it's a keeper.

Read More

By Paula

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 27, 2002

Great Hotel - Dead End Street

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 7 nights in October. At Terese's suggestion (review below), we stayed in Room #1. The room is huge and the bathroom is great. A soak in the tub was great after a long day of walking. I used the "annoying hand-held shower thing" to wash my hair. The greatest thing was a steel rack in the bathroom that could be heated to warm your towel or dry it. The minibar was too expensive so we took the contents out

and used the refrigerator for our own wine, cheese and fruit. Room #1 has its own entrance that you can lock when you leave. There is a great bakery on the corner and a small grocery store across the street where you can buy wine, beer, food, etc. We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel, but for 9 euros/day it's supposed to be good. The hotel is on a dead-end alley/street. It's quiet at night. Samira and Cyrille at reception are great. Samira made reservations for us at Alcazar, which turned out to be fabulous. The only drawback of the room (which you would probably get anywhere in France) is the thin walls. You can hear conversations in the next room and the elevator was behind our bathroom, which made some noise. I would stay at this hotel again without a second thought. The other rooms in the hotel are smaller, but Room #25 has a dormer that looks out to the Eiffel Tower. The hotel is walking distance to everything, 10-15 min. walk to the Seine and less to everything in between. The metro is less than a block away and easy to use. I also recommend the Batobus water taxi. For 10 euros/day (cheaper for shorter trips), you can ride the Batobus up and down the Seine all day long, getting on or off at any of the 8 stops of your choosing. We had a wonderful time and are looking forward to going back.

Read More

By Debbie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 26, 2002

Great hotel!

This was a wonderful hotel and I recommend it. We had a balcony with a lovely view of the Parisian street, and lots of fresh air. Rooms and bathrooms were spotlessly clean, staff was helpful, price was right. Lots of restaurants nearby; Luxembourg Gardens are beautiful and Paris is great! I wish I could return tomorrow, and I'd stay at this hotel again.

By Allison

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 16, 2002

Memorable.

My boyfriend and I stayed here over New Year's. It was wonderful, small, comfortable, and well located. Our view was of the little impasse and the bustle of life. A harpist would practice every morning and we could hear her from our window. Our beds were two twins pushed together with just about the most comfortable bedding I've ever experienced. The room was small but smartly appointed and the bathroom was spotless. The staff - especially the

bald gentleman, was really cool and friendly. The lady was always making reservations for us for dinner - which was great because all the places I wanted to go from the guidebook were packed with tourists. She helped us find excellent restaurants that a little less tourist-laden. Breakfast was funner in the cafes but the hotel's breakfast was really great with lots of food and a charming server. The location was nice and close to St. Germain - I used to like to stay in the Latin Quarter but now it's all about the 6th. Life seems more intense in Paris to me and I'd return tomorrow if I could.

Read More

By Terri

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 31, 2001

~Small, but we didn't care~

Last summer we stayed here. We arrived late from the train ride from Amsterdam and we were tired. No hassels at the front desk, a few little langauge (understanding) problems, but was ok. We found many things to do in this area. Great restaurants. A wonderful little sandwich place right down the street from us. We went there several times and got sandwiches and caramel eclairs and went over to our favorite spot to eat at the near by gardens.

We sat there for hours by a fountain and pool admiring the statues. This was "our" favorite romantic place to get away from all the hussel and bussel of the city. Wonderful old churches all around to explore. Great grocery and wine stores. We bought juices, fruit, and cakes every day for our breakfast in our room in the mornings. The room was very small, I heard they had others that were bigger than ours, but I guess we made our reservations too late. All we had was a window to open. It was pretty quiet. The Pantheon was wonderful and very interesting. They were doing some restorations on Notre Dame while we were there, but it was still amazing! Chinatown was a fun place to go too. We spent three days in the Louvre and still didn't see all of it! Au Bon Accueil was wonderful restaurant to dine at. Book your reservation as soon as you get to Paris!

Read More

By Maya

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 12, 2001

Great Hotel at a Good Location

I think my husband and I must have stayed at a different hotel from the one where those with service complaints stayed. We arrived late and had no trouble. The staff was helpful and nice, without beng over friendly. They helped us find an obscure museum and offered to get a taxi to the airport when we left. (It came right on time.) Yes, the room is small, but efficiently laid out. The balcony was great. We took the Metro - yes it is a little walk-

and used the convenient buses when we got tired. The hotel is in a lively area, but on a quiet street. We heard birds in the morning as well as the cleaners. Our three nights there were very pleasant. We will likely stay here again when we visit Paris.

Read More

By Bill

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 9, 2001

Soaking Up That Left Bank Ambiance

I really enjoyed my stay (3 nights) at the hotel last spring. Yes, the room was small but totally quaint, and I liked being off a main street. The location was prime as the Luxembourg Gardens were steps away -- this is one of my favorite parts of Paris. I've stayed in other hotels before with neither the charm nor comfort and I'd definitely stay here again. I didn't interact with the staff too much, although I returned back rather late one night

(4am) and had no problem getting in. If you're looking for a "deal" this may not be it, but if you're willing to spend a little more for a funkier atmosphere, this is the hotel for you.

Read More

By Robin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 3, 2001

My Stay Was Completely Average

I didn't find anything extremely one way or another during my week-long stay. After a long day of walking around I was just glad to have a place to rest my aching bones. The rooms are warm and the bedding comfortable. The most input we got from the staff was a Bonjour which was about all we needed to hear. They could benefit from a shower curtain. We also got a box of Richert Chocolates for the New Year in our room.

By Phil

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 27, 2000

Fodors, you can have this one! As for me, I prefer to stay where the hotel staff respect their guests and have some interest in serving them. You won't find that here.

Very small but nice rooms. OK location with GREAT convenience to both bus and trains/subway. Unfriendly, unhelpful staff (maybe with exception of housekeeping ladies). Felt unwelcome and stressed by tense, unfriendly atmosphere. Guests all act like they are walking on broken glass. I balk at paying for this kind of abuse! Thanks for nothing Fodor's!

By Luana

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 23, 2000

More Pros than Cons

My husband and I spent 4 enjoyable nights at the hotel. Most of the staff was pleasant during our visit. They helped us with directions, restaurant recommendations, and arranged a taxi cab to the airport. Most of our problems occurred when trying to set up the reservation. Some of the staff was not very helpful on the phone others were wonderful (but this could happen anywhere). The room was quaint and romantic. I loved the balcony overlooking

the street. There is a bakery, grocery and butcher's shop right down the street with all the picnic supplies you could want. I would stay there again.

Read More

By TC

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 13, 2000

Romantic even though the staff needs charm school.

Although the room was tiny we had plenty of space, a great, deep soaking tub, a beautiful iron bed with down comforter and pillows and our own little balcony complete with topiary. Very romantic. The staff is English speaking, but as stated here previously not the most helpful. In fact the girl at the front desk was really the only rude person we encountered on our entire trip. She felt the need to make fun when we asked where to get crepes for

breakfast. I guess crepes aren't considered a breakfast dish in France. Her response was unnecesary. Other staff members were nice. All in all I would stay here again.

Read More

By Louis

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 24, 2000

Excellent location and very quiet

We stayed there last spring. Allthough the rooms are small, they are well furnished and the bathroom had excellent fixtures. The location is great. Very close to RER station, Jardins du Luxembourg, good and cheap restaurants on Rue Mouffetard. Best of all, it is located on a cul-de-sac and thus very quiet.

By Caitlin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 30, 2000

Quiet charm, excellently situated

The rooms and common areas are charming and quite "French" in style; rooms with private street entrances are larger; bathrooms are large, pretty, and have good fixtures, staff is helpful and english-speaking; location is great, but also on a very quiet side-street. I'd definitely stay again.

By steve

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 18, 2000

Hotel des Jardins du Luxembourg is a good value

Although the rooms are small, they are very tastefully appointed. The service is friendly and helpful. The surroundings make you feel as if you're in a more expensive hotel.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement