Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Paris Hotels

Hôtel de la Bretonnerie

  • 22 rue Ste-Croix-de-la-Bretonnerie Map It
  • $$$
  • Local Flavor

Pros

  • Typical Parisian character
  • Moderate prices
  • Free Wi-Fi access

Cons

  • Quality and size of the rooms vary greatly
  • No air-conditioning
  • Rooms facing street can be noisy

Updated 02/19/2014

Fodor's Review

In a 17th-century hôtel particulier (town house) on a side street in the Marais, this small hotel with exposed wooden beams and traditional styling sits a few minutes from the Centre Pompidou and the numerous bars and cafés of Rue Vieille du Temple. Choose either chambres classiques or chambres de charme; the latter are more spacious (and pricier), with more elaborate furnishings like Louis XIII–style four-poster canopy beds and marble bathtubs.

Book a junior suite for the most space—the duplexes with separate sleeping and dining areas resemble little apartments. Ask for rooms facing interior courtyard for a quieter sleep. Overall, the establishment is impeccably kept by a welcoming staff. A classic French breakfast is served in the vaulted cellar.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

22 rue Ste-Croix-de-la-Bretonnerie, 4e, Paris, 75004, France

Map It

Phone:

/01–48–87–77–63

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 22 rooms, 7 suites
  • Breakfast

Updated 02/19/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Paris

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By opaldog

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 5, 2009

Hôtel de la Bretonnerie Review

We stayed here on our first visit to Paris over 10 years ago. We loved it!! Great location; nicely decorated albeit small room. We fell in love with Paris and the marais. We have been back to Paris 8 times since, partly due to the experience we had here.

By Rick

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 18, 2004

Le Grand Place in Le Marais

I stayed there last week and loved it. I rented a junior suite (the upstairs/downstairs type mentioned in an earlier review). The room was very spacious, bright and airy, the hallways were large, and the staff was friendly. I had stayed a few nights earlier at the Hotel Axial Beaubourg about two blocks away, where the rooms were tiny, the hallways were tinier and the staff terse. For just 25 euros more per night, the Bretonnerie suite was a nice

change. My only gripe, as the earlier review also pointed out, is the lack of 'soft seating' on the first floor of the suite for watching the television. But who comes to Paris to watch television?

Read More

By Gary

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 30, 2003

Great value in a Paris hotel

We stayed a week and loved every minute. There are 3 grades of rooms and even the lowest is quite roomy. All rooms have great bathrooms...spacious. We chose the middle grade. Very convenient to all of Paris. Minutes to sights and restaurnats and bars. Located in the Marais.

By Kristen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 15, 2003

oooh la la, gay paris!!

My husband and I had a fabulous time here. Nice room, albeit small in a very fun and convenient neighborhood. My only complaint was that my room was a bit noisy right on the street. Who wants to go to France and stay in an Americanized hotel (as the previous rater suggests)?? Vive la France!

By Andrew

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 27, 2002

Quaint hotel, but don't waste the extra money on a suite

I stayed at this hotel for a week, and at the time of booking the only thing they had left was a junior suite (Room #2). The room was very clean, however, it lacked "soft seating". It was actually an upstairs/downstairs layout with the bathroom and tv down and the bed up. They provided a table with 3 chairs instead of a small sofa so it made lounging a bit tough. The location of the hotel is wonderful. Close to the Metro, quiant cafe's and the like.

By Ali

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 21, 2002

What a find!

Stayed here for a week in the cheapest room, and it was fantastic. The room had a lovely canopy bed, and a window overlooking the street. The bathroom was modern and spacious. The room was small, but not unmanageable or in the slightest uncomfortable. The neighborhood is one of the happening places of paris, with a very nice ambiance, lots of restaurants, bakeries, shops within a few minutes walk. We also stayed in a junior suite that sleeps up to

4, that although lovely, did not have the cozy charm of the smaller room. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. We loved it, and the desk staff was most helpful and nice.

Read More

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 14, 2001

An American In Paris

Upon my first arrival to the beautiful city of Paris, this hotel was definitely a culture shock! If you are over 6', forget comfort. I couldn't get out of the loft bed without having to duck the ceiling beams. I also had to shower with my head in a crouched position. The rooms are like old and musty dens. The woman at the front desk was far from friendly and I couldn't wait to check out and get into an "Americanized" hotel. The Marais is a wonderful

Parisian area but you might want to stay in a more familiar American hotel and just visit this particular part of Paris to avoid the "shock".

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement