Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Paris Hotels

Pavillon de la Reine

Pros

  • Historic character
  • Quiet setting
  • Soothing spa treatments

Cons

  • Expensive for the area and the size of the rooms
  • The nearest métro is a few blocks away
  • No uniform theme in interior design

Updated 02/19/2014

Fodor's Review

Hidden off the regal Place des Vosges behind a stunning garden courtyard, this enchanting château has gigantic beams, chunky stone pillars, and a weathered fireplace that speaks to its 1612 origins. The hotel has large rooms and suites decorated in either contemporary or 18th-century style. Many look out on the entry court or an interior Japanese-inspired garden. Designer toiletries by Molton Brown, plush bathrobes, and modern bathrooms add to the luxurious feel. Stay

connected with wireless Internet.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

28 pl. des Vosges, 3e, Paris, 75003, France

Map It

Phone:

/01–40–29–19–19; 800-447–7462-in U.S.

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 31 rooms, 23 suites
  • Breakfast

Updated 02/19/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Paris

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By kate12

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 20, 2008

Exudes Charm and Comfor

We loved our stay in this hotel. We had a superior room on the ground floor with french doors overlooking the garden. The room was very small but comfortable. It was well designed with a wardrobe for clothes and two small arm chairs and table. The bathroom was small but efficient and spotless. The breakfast was in a room underground. It had very good food and coffee! The atmosphere was amazing, the staff were helpful and the location in the

Marais was enjoyable. Loved staying here. If you want a typical North American hotel this is not your spot. This is a onetime French home in the middle of ancient Paris.

Read More

By Kate

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 29, 2005

An Elegant Country Home in the City of Light.

My favorite hotel to stay in Paris without moving into the highest cost level. It's tastefully decorated as if you were in an elegant French country home. The location is ne plus ultra. If only I could leave my home every day by stepping out onto the Place des Vosges.

By Thomas

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 11, 2003

Location, Location, Location

Fabulous location, but the standard rooms are very small. Only good value if you get up-graded to a larger room (junior suite) and have full breakfast included (excellent)

By T

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 20, 2002

Can't Wait to Go Back

My mother and I stayed here in a standard room in April of 2001. We loved it. Rooms are small, but very charming. The service was gracious and the morning buffet breakfast delicious and well presented. The hotel is in a beautiful area of Paris with loads of shopping, galleries, and restaurants within short walking distance. The hotel is a few blocks from the Metro and therefore convenient for sight-seeing. However, there is plenty to see within

walking distance, e.g., we visited the Victor Hugo Museum, which is cater-corner from the hotel, and the Picasso Museum, which is just a few blocks away. It was worth every dime to be in a such a delightful hotel away from the high-traffic touristy spots.

Read More

By Craig

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 8, 2002

Earns All of its Four Stars

The location of Pavillon de la Reine off Place des Vosges is very nice. While not as central as St. Germain, this area is charming, romantic and less hectic. There are several good restaurants, cafes and bakeries within walking distance. A garden courtyard entrance provides a bit of greenery, and serves to buffer the hotel from street noise. We splurged (over 400 euros a night) and reserved a duplex room. The duplex rooms front the courtyard.

They offer a small living area on a lower level, and a bedroom with large marble bathroom on the upper floor. The bed, linens and towels are all first class. The room was well furnished, and appeared to be soundproof. The service provided by the English-speaking staff was great. While the room rates are a bit obscene, we will be back upon receiving a favorable exchange rate!

Read More

By Julie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 14, 2001

Better Service at Motel 6

A Pavillion on the Place de Vosges, the best park in Paris... My fiance and I pictured a quaint but luxurious hotel with an attentive staff. What a surprise! Our 500 USD+/night "suite" was cramped and needed renovations (e.g., peeling cedar in the bathroom, stained carpeting). Our first morning in the room we awoke to a knock on the door before 7 AM. Room service had delivered breakfast to us- a meal we had not ordered. Thinking of our possibly

hungry neighbors, we called the front desk to alert them to the mistake. The staff offered no apology and after 10 minutes simply took away the meals! Although we weren't spared even a croissant, an apology from the staff would have made the exhorbitant price of this sparse room a bit easier to swallow!

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement