Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Paris Hotels

Hôtel Britannique

Pros

  • On calm side street
  • Less than a block from the métro/RER station
  • Excellent service from friendly staff

Cons

  • Small rooms
  • Soundproofing could be better

Updated 02/19/2014

Fodor's Review

Open since 1861 and a stone's throw from the Louvre, the romantic Britannique blends courteous English service with old-fashioned French elegance near the banks of the Seine. Take the winding staircase to well-maintained rooms done in a mix of attractive reproductions and antiques. Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs lend an air of modernity. Upgrade to the junior suite—the price is reasonable for Paris standards and offers more generous space and luxurious details like Annick

Goutal bath amenities and bathrobes. A copious breakfast buffet includes fresh pastries and juices.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

20 av. Victoria, 1er, Paris, 75001, France

Map It

Phone:

/01–42–33–74–59

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 39 rooms, 1 suite
  • Breakfast

Updated 02/19/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 1, 2013

Clean, quiet hotel at a great location

The Britannique is a small boutique hotel located in the 1er arrondissement just a few minutes from Notre Dame and the Louvre. The staff is friendly and English-speaking, and the hotel is clean and charming. The Chatalet Metro station is only 1 block away, and it is very close to many restaurant options. We stayed for 8 nights and would return.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 24, 2009

So Charming!

I just spent five nights at the Britannique and I did not want to leave. The service was fantastic, and the location is unbeatable. The hotel itself is VERY charming. My room was not THAT small, although of course most European hotel rooms are cozy. The bathroom was very very nice and roomy. I love this hotel and will stay here again. The staff is really great -- many Canadians working here, so there truly is no language barrier.

By Kivaldo

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 1, 2008

Magnifique!

This hotel is fantastic for many reasons. Firstly, the location is very central. It is situated one row back from the beautiful river Seine in a tranquil avenue and is approximately five minutes walk from Le Louvre and Notre Dame. There are plenty of shops, bars and restaurants in close proximity, but in reality nothing is very far away. If you wanted to venture further out, there is a metro stop on the corner of the street. The staff in this hotel

are brilliant. They are all polite and friendly and really will go the extra mile to help you. Of the four staff we dealt with at reception during our stay, all of them spoke English which was a massive help. The service in this hotel is excellent. The hotel itself is very well looked after. The rooms and bathrooms are stylishly decorated and very clean. There is air-con, a safe, a mini-bar, the option of breakfast, flat screen televisions and many other services available. I would not think twice about using this hotel again if I visited Paris and would happily recommend it to my friends and family.

Read More

By Kate

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 17, 2005

best kept secret in Paris

I stayed there for a week in August 2005.. the rooms and bathrooms are immaculately clean. I had all the hot water I wanted.. not easy in Paris, and the a/c worked.. how about that? Staff will go out of their way to accommodate you. Small intimate charming Hotel... looking forward to staying there again next year same time.. and the best kept secret for this area, in the center of everything, is the price !

By Jeanne

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 5, 2005

Best kept secret in Paris

This hotel is not only immaculate,but staffed by warm,gracious,and totally informed personnel. Convenient to all modes of transportation. Two blocks from the Louvre.Reasonably priced.Breakfast not included in room rate but abolutely delicious and adequate.

By Marie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 14, 2004

Great Hotel!

We were in Paris and stayed at the Hotel Britannique from March 30-April 9. The hotel is in a perfect location -- in the middle of everything (a block from the Chatelet, a block from the Seine, a few blocks from the Louvre), yet so quiet and so lovely. Just a block from the Metro's Chatelet stop, it made it easy to get absolutely anywhere by foot or by public transport. We booked a large room, which was of decent size. I think as Americans we are

spoiled by big everything. The room was lovely, the bathroom was especially clean and modern and the hotel staff was incredibly helpful and patient with us non-French speakers. I also loved the Annick Goutal toiletries in the bathroom and took some soaps home with me. I would most certainly stay at the Hotel Britannique again.

Read More

By Andrew

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 21, 2003

Excellent location with a warm welcome

A group (14) of us stayed here in September 2003, and found it to be outstanding. The rooms are a good size by Parisian standards, and are nicely decorated, I think the bathrooms have recently been refurbished. The location could not be better, walking distance from almost everything, and a metro/RER station entrance across the road. The best thing about it though is the staff. They are friendly & helpful, and genuinely nice. It was a pleasure to

stay here, we had a great time, and they really looked after us!

Read More

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 13, 2003

You're only as close as the nearest Metro.

This hotel was rated very highly by Fordor's and I have had great success in the past relying on the ratings. I contacted the hotel by telephone and followed up with email reserving a "triple room" for around 200 Euros a night. When I arrived, they put my family in a single room with a double bed and a portable cot - the one bathroom had no shower door, so the water spewed on the floor - the bath towels were stacked on top of the toilet. I told the

front desk at check-in, that the room was unacceptable. They replied that "American's always complain that a triple room is not 3 beds to sleep in, but 3 rooms." The hotel did compromise and give us another single room. The internet connection is a sham. The 12 Euro breakfast is a joke - if you want an egg, you have to search the hotel for a maid to cook it. Please take this place off your preferred list.

Read More

By Richard

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 14, 2002

The best location!

This is a very small but cute hotel. It has a comfortable and beautifully decortated British style lounge and a staff that is excellent. The rooms are small but ample. They have sparkling modern bathrooms supplied with Crabtree and Evelyn toiletries and good towels. The location is absolutely in the center of the city and convenient to everything!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 6, 2002

Location is everything

The hotel is walking distance to the Louvre, Notre Dame and other major sights. Staff is friendly. Rooms are clean and quiet (though small by American standards). At 170 euro a night, it's a decent value (although this is twice as much as the Hotel Grand Leveque and it's not twice as good).

By Deb

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 6, 2002

Charm, conveniece, and comfort

I stayed at the Britanique in 2002, and it made my trip! Just steps from the Seine, metro, and buses. Elegant, historic, full of atmosphere. Clean, cozy rooms, nicely appointed, on the small side. Beds had nice linens and comfortable mattresses. The street is not too noisy depite the location. All staff speak English and are helpful with restaurant reservations and other services. I became sick and asked the front desk to help me find an English

speaking doctor, they had immediately arranged for one to come to my room -- in under 20 minutes! They serve a nict breakfast buffet, that includes boiled eggs, cheese & fruit along with fresh brioches, croissants etc. I plan to stay there again on my next trip.

Read More

By Patti

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 13, 2002

If your husband doesn't leave you a message, Karim at the front desk will

My daughter and I thought the hotel staff was magnifique. Very helpful and always with a smile. The rooms are small as to be expected in Paris, but not totally sound-proof. Location was central and ideal for touristy types like ourselves. The Crepery just 20 steps away is good and priced just right, avoid the Le Timmer and restaurants with red awnings in that area unless you like French onion soup that resembles badly made onion fondue. Walking distance

to the Samaritaine and good shopping, but a haul to the Avenue Montaigne. Stop by the F. Cleret confiserie just around the corner for their big chocolate balls, if you like chocolate-yummy. Overall, the price was right and the experience a memorable one. Kisses to Karim.

Read More

By Sandy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 1, 2001

Great location

My husband and I stayed here for a one day visit. It was a great location to do a 1-day whirlwind tour! The room was small, but clean and well decorated. We arrived before the check-in time and they had a spot to hold our luggage, so we could venture out.

By Mary

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 20, 2001

Dollhouse with view

Location is fabulous, and staff very competent and helpful. Room was barely big enough to sidle around the bed--but the bathroom was huge, and it had a balcony (one of two in hotel). Lift is tiny too. Still, an awfully small room for the price.

By Robbie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 10, 2000

Loved this hotel1

I am definitely looking forward to another trip to Paris and will book this hotel. Liked the hotel itself (rooms a bit small, but very comfortable) and the neighborhood.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement