Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Paris Hotels

Hôtel Caron de Beaumarchais

  • 12 rue Vieille-du-Temple Map It
  • $$
  • Local Flavor

Pros

  • Cozy Parisian decor of yesteryear
  • Breakfast in bed served until noon
  • Excellent location within easy walking distance of major monuments

Cons

  • Small rooms with few amenities
  • Busy street of bars and cafés can be noisy
  • May feel old-fashioned for younger crowd

Updated 02/19/2014

Fodor's Review

For that traditional French feeling, book a room at this intimate, affordable, romantic hotel—the theme is the work of former next-door neighbor Pierre-Augustin Caron de Beaumarchais, a supplier of military aid to American revolutionaries and the playwright who penned The Marriage of Figaro and The Barber of Seville. The pretty lobby reflects the taste of 18th-century French nobility—down to the floral wallpaper and 1792 pianoforte. Richly decorated with

provincial fabrics and antique period furnishings, the rooms have original beams and hand-painted bathroom tiles, updated with flat-screen TVs and free Wi-Fi access. Request the larger rooms in the front if you prefer more space to quiet; the smaller rooms overlook a courtyard, while tiny top floor units compensate with a good view across Rive Droite. Catering to modern times, the historic locale is handicapped-accessible and pet-friendly.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

12 rue Vieille-du-Temple, 4e, Paris, 75004, France

Map It

Phone:

/01–42–72–34–12

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 19 rooms
  • Breakfast

Updated 02/19/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Paris

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Paul

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 9, 2006

Caron de Beaumarchais enchants...

My wife and I stayed at the Caron de Beaumarchais for our 20 year wedding anniversary last week. We could not have been more pleased. The Beaumarchais is a lovely, quaint hotel with beautifully appointed rooms, excellent, courteous and always attentive staff and a GREAT location. We had a frontside room with a balcony that was beautiful. I keep hearing about small Parisian hotel rooms and frankly don't get it. Yes, the room was small compared

to our room at the Bellagio (Las Vegas) but I'd take the Beaumarchais room in a heartbeat over the impersonal, sterile, cookie-cutter American hotel experience. The courtyard rooms don't have a window to the street, (the window opens to a very small courtyard) but the one I peeked my head into looked just fine as well. We can't say enough good things about this lovely hotel and its wonderful staff.

Read More

By Emily

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 17, 2006

Cozy and Charming Hotel

My husband and I spent the week of Christmas 2005 at Hotel Caron De Beaumarchais. We chose it because it was a Fodor's Choice in my older edition of Fodor's Paris and because of the positive reviews that we read on this site as well as on tripadvisor.com. We reserved a front room, and were extremely pleased. Since we have stayed in Paris as well as other foreign countries before, we were prepared for a small room. The room that we spent

the week in was better than we had expected. (But do not get me wrong; it was not huge.) The location was perfect. We were able to walk to the Louvre and Notre Dame. My only criticism was the towels and bathrobes need to replaced; they were a bit worn. The hotel was charming. Every evening when we returned the fireplace was going. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful in the mornings, so much so that we only ordered one breakfast for the two of us with two coffees. (One breakfast consisted of fresh orange juice, coffee or tea, a plain croissant, a chocolate croissant, a baguette, jams, cheese, yogurt, and pate.) Also, the hotel staff were all very helpful. Some staff members were more fluent in English than others, but we were able to communicate just fine. Since the hotel is so small, only 19 rooms, we felt that we received a lot of personal attention. There was one particular employee, Fabian, that we connected with, and she called and made our dinner reservations each night, recommended shopping, recommended restaurants, and most of all she made us feel comfortable and welcome in a foreign country. We can not say enough about the Hotel Caron De Beaumarchais. Enjoy!

Read More

By Donna

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 5, 2005

Oh my ...

Most of the other comments are right on the money ... charming, helpful staff and great location. Rooms facing the street are quiet. Breakfast is fine. The room? Small, very small. We are not big people and we travel lightly. I shudder to think of larger folk with lots of luggage in these rooms. Yes, hotel rooms in Europe are often smaller, and this is a very old building, but we are not likely to return because there are bigger and better

choices in Paris for the money.

Read More

By Ellen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 13, 2004

Perfect location and affordable

The room was small but newly renovated and very clean. The location is excellent. The basement breakfast was very good. It is an amazing bargain for that location.

By PH

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 16, 2004

Charming

The staff was very accomodating and recommended wonderful nearby restaurants. Great location and a very good value when compared to other options in pricey Paris. The room was comfortable, with a full bath, a/c and charming antiques.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 26, 2004

Great location for a great price.

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in July of 2001. We found it here on the Fodor's website and we werevery happy with our choice. The room was small (as they usually are in Europe) but extremely clean and comfortable. The staff was as friendly as you can get in Paris and the breakfast (I think you pay additional for) was yummy-- Served in the basement of the hotel it is rather simple- delicious jams with crusty bread and coffee. You cannot

beat the location of this hotel. It's basically a block away from the Seine. EVERYTHING is in walking distance. The pizza place across the street had the most delicious chocolate mousse. Would stay at this hotel again in a heartbeat!

Read More

By Michel

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 13, 2003

Caron's Convenient

The neighborhood is wonderfully eclectic. You will see an old synagogue and shops of Judaica as well as gay bars and colorful cafes. The hotel is average. Small, nicely appointed but nothing to merit a Fodor's pick. I'm puzzled how the Caron continues to get a pick but the Hotel Buci, which I stayed in about a year ago, is not on that list. For the money, the ambience and quality, the Caron cannot hold a candle to the Hotel Buci. But it's convenient

enough and nice enough. Keep an eye on your bed--it will get made but not changed. The maid was fine about taking my tip every day, but less than consciencious.

Read More

By Craig

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 8, 2003

SSHHH---hate for word to get out!

Afraid I won't be able to get back in if everyone knows about this jewel in the Marais. The room was very well appointed, halls and public areas were fresh and also well done. Best price/value in Paris I have seen, given the location, quality of the operation and price. Just remember--this is Paris. Things are old. Things are small. Things are different. This place comes the closest to chain hotel standards in a boutique I have seen.

By Mike

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 2, 2002

Absolutely delightful

This hotel is wonderful. Set in the Marais ( which means it is gay-friendly ) , it is the epitomy of the romantic Parisian hotel. The rooms are small but delightful, with antique prints, and little extras - bathrobes, flowers - and the staff are exceptionally helpful. Its just what we were looking for, and we will definitely stay there again

By Dave

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 30, 2002

Fun Paris Vacation

We stayed at the Caron de Beaumarchais twice on the front and backend of our France vacation. Although our room was small and not luxurious...it was very comfortable. Friends stayed in a much pricier hotel which did not have the character and just barely matched the size of our room. Staff was friendly and helpful. Location was good, enjoyed being in the Marais. We'd definitely stay there again.

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 9, 2002

Slightly Over Rated

The best things about this hotel are the fabulous breakfasts (see previous post) and excellent location. It's not exceptionally quiet because it's very near a busy main street. Rooms and bathrooms are quite small but certainly adequate and clean, however not nearly as "charming" as some of the other posts here would lead you to believe. Staff was very helpful.

By Joseph

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 30, 2002

Wonderful Hotel; Great Location

I wont lie; the hotel is small. Which is just what I was looking for when I stayed two weeks ago. Even the balconies don't allow for much more than one person at any time (although they have a table and two chairs on the balcony as well; go figure). Staff was very friendly and helpful. I would give the breakfast a try for one morning; 8 euros/person gets you two giant greasy croissants (messy but delicious) baguettes, chocolate puff, yogurt, jams,

coffee & juice. You'll feel a bit logy afterward if you eat the whole thing. The location is superb; walk to Notre Dame or just wander around the Marais. Metro is a few blocks away. Cafes, boulongeries, and patisseries abound. As I said, rooms are small, but I really didn't feel like sleeping in too much. Will definetely return if I find my way back to Paris.

Read More

By Brian

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 13, 2002

Reserve a balcony room...

Myself and my girlfriend visited this hotel last May for 3 nights. This was our first trip to Paris and found this hotel just perfect. Our room was small...but if you book early and reserve a room with a balcony on the top floor, it pays off. Authentically decorated with a nice bathroom. Small balcony overlooking Notre Dame (stunning at night) and a fairly busy sidestreet. We found plenty of restaurants and bars within walking distance. Paris'

metro is amazing! The staff was fairly helpful considering we don't speak a speck of French. All in all, a great time and a great place.

Read More

By Chrissy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 8, 2001

Cute; good value

The lobby is pretty and rooms are very tastefully decorated. Certainly very small. After reading about the robes, flowers and soaps, I was disappointed to find out the robes were pretty worn out, the flowers just a tiny spray on the nightstand and the soaps just fairly standard - nothing special. The man who must be the owner is very nice, but the woman we saw the most was very cool. She barely looked up when speaking to us and checking in involved

being handed a room key and a half smile. The location isn't in the heart of Paris, though close to Notre Dame and the Louvre. The Metro is about a 10 minute walk. We paid less than $130 US a night which I think is a good value. We didn't have a bad stay, but I would look elsewhere next time.

Read More

By Tanya

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 26, 2001

Clean Room:)

Our room here was nice and clean although it was small - not a problem if you only have 2 people. I would love it if they put shower curtains in the tubs, but it was the nicest bathroom we had while traveling through Europe. You can probably get a cheaper room in Paris, but if you are unsure this is a safe bet. There is a grocery store next to the hotel which is nice, and a bakery 1 block down which sells excellent bread. It is a quick walk to the

Metro and you can get to everything quickly from there. The AC worked great by the way in case you go during the summer. (we were there in late August)

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 12, 2001

C'est fantastique!

Great hotel! This is a most charming hotel and convenient location. The rooms are small (ours with a balcony), but the detailed touches make this hotel special! Trust le madame at the front desk for PERFECT dinner reccomendations. We plan to return soon!

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 6, 2001

Lives up to its reputation

I booked this hotel after doing a lot of research, and it lived up to everything that was said about it. The rooms are small as they are in pretty much every hotel in central Paris. But the ambience is fantastic. The decorations are wonderful. The service is excellent. Just loved the scented Roger & Gallet soaps and bathrobes they provided. Finally, the marais location cannot be beat. Would return in a heartbeat.

By Stu

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 5, 2001

Oui, oui

Our recent stay was just great. The hotel is the best value. A-1 location in the heart of the "Bohemian" Marais with lots of charm. While the rooms are awfully small, the other amenities make up for it - robes, fresh flowers, linens. Immaculate modern bathroom (albeit sans shower curtain). Very helpful staff.

By Barbara

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 16, 2001

Caron de Enchante!

What a delightful respite. We booked this hotel after reading one of the "raves" and it lived up to every mark. Great location, lovely ambience, tres helpful staff with wonderful recommendations for neighborhood French dining. Book early -- the word is spreading.

By Tonya

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 30, 2001

C'est tres beau!

I stayed here when I got engaged in Dec. 97 and on my honeymoon in Sept. 99. This hotel is very enchanting; it has a great location close to great restaurants and shops. The rooms are on the small side but are well decorated; try to get one that has a balcony overlooking the street. The breakfast tray that they bring to your room is wonderful! I love this hotel! But book it early, as it is popular.

By Laura

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 31, 2000

a memorable hotel

We stayed here in May 2000. We found the service to be extremely helpful, the atmosphere charming, and the location not to be beat!

By Bob

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 12, 2000

Great Find in Paris!!!

My wife and I stayed at Le CARON DE BEAUMARCHAIS for 8 nights in June 1999 for our honeymoom. The Hotel has 19 rooms that book up fast - so book early. It is in a great location and neighbourhood. During our stay there my wife came down with a case of strep-throat and the staff at the Hotel arranged for a Doctor to come to our room and even sent up some tea to help with the healing process. They also helped with reservations around town for dinner

cruises and shows. I have sent many friends to this Hotel since our stay there and HIGHLY recommend it for anyone looking for a great place to stay while in Paris. You won't be disappointed. When booking ask for a room facing the street with a balcony (2nd and 5th floors).

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement