Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Paris Restaurants

Lapérouse

Updated 02/19/2014

Fodor's Review

Émile Zola, George Sand, and Victor Hugo were regulars here, and the restaurant's mirrors still bear diamond scratches from the days when mistresses would double-check their jewels' value. It's hard not to fall in love with this storied 17th-century Seine-side town house with a warren of woodwork-graced salons. Christophe Guilbert's cuisine seeks a balance between traditional and modern, often drawing on Mediterranean inspirations. For a truly intimate meal, reserve one

of the legendary private salons where anything can happen (and probably has). You can also sample the restaurant's magic at lunch, when a bargain prix-fixe menu is served for €45 in both the main dining room and the private salons.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

51 quai des Grands Augustins, 6e, Paris, 75006, France

Map It

Phone:

/01–43–26–68–04

Website: www.laperouse.fr

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Closed Sun. and Aug. No lunch Sat.
  • Reservations essential

Updated 02/19/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Paris

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By dimi97

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 13, 2014

Laperouse - shocking and awful service!

1. Our relatives from USA made a special gift delivery to Laperouse with wedding greetings and a huge bouquet of 60 white roses. Now we have the proves that it was delivered to the restaurant 20 minutes before our coming. Unfortunately we had not this information that evening and didn’t ask for the delivery that was not handed over to the newlyweds at all. 2. The privatization of the bar was not offered in due time according to my booking below;

instead our wedding party had to share the bar with another jolly and noisy crowd while the restaurant made an extra gain. 3. “White gloves service” we asked for was indeed a little bit confusing: after we replaced from the bar to “La Boussole” room the waiters put the wine at the corner table, filled our first glasses and then closed the doors of the room leaving us with the clear table. During 1 hour we enjoyed bread and wine, serving us ourselves. With white gloves tact nobody disturbed us with any service. To initiate waiters’ further activity I had to go looking for them in the corridors of the restaurant… After we enjoyed appetizers this situation was reproduced another time. As a result all the diner we had to serve the wine ourselves. 4. And yet the bill we got included in a miraculous way both the bar privatization and the white gloves service. Dmitry

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 4, 2013

Wonderful

One of the best restaurant in Paris ! Beautiful place in a wonderful city A delicious gourmet cuisine And a staff very nice and professional I deeply recommend this restaurant Thank you for this magic moment

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 4, 2013

Wonderful

I recently took my wife to Laperouse while we were in Paris. We also ate a several Michelin-star (1s and 2s) restaurants during our vacation in Paris and the dinner at Laperouse was certainly as enjoyable, if not more, than the others. Our server, and the entire waitstaff, was very attentive during our meal. The service is definitely formal and the restaurant was very quiet which allowed my wife and I to converse with one another without having

to raise our voices. As an added bonus, our table was by the window and overlooked the Seine which is beautifully lit at night. Food and wine: The menu did not have an abundant list of choices, but rather consisted of a curated list of some very delicious plates. My wife had the steak and I had the chicken. Both were excellent. I'm not that familiar with French wines so I asked the sommelier for suggestions and he suggested a moderately priced French pinot noir which I thoroughly enjoyed. The wine list was extensive and there were certainly other, more expensive, items if that's your fancy (e.g., Chateau Petrus). I would recommend Laperouse to anyone who wants a truly Parisian fine-dining experience with a beautiful view, excellent service and delicious food. The restaurant also has a rich history.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 19, 2011

Lapérouse Review

My wife and I were celebrating her birthday. We were first shown to a table facing the kitchen door, with caned seats tearing at the back. When we asked to be moved to another location in the then practically empty dining room, the waiter actually argued with us and refused. While the maitre d' interceded and came to the rescue, an unfortunate tone had been set. The waiter who served us was obviously inexperienced and not up to the job. His many clumsy

mistakes appeared at one point to mock fine Parisian dining. The sommelier tried his best and demnstrated some knowledge of the overpriced wine list, but his efforts were disrupted by one incompetent waiter or another. The food was average to good but completely uninspired (we each had tasteless crab from Brittany wrapped heavily in sliced white radish for an entree and rack of lamb in a wine sauce for the main course) and definitely not worth the exorbitant prices. We have eaten at many fine restaurants in France and don't mind paying high prices when the food and service are of a level warranting the cost. Laperouse may have been a great restaurant in its day, but that day is long gone. Rather than spend the money to fix the tattered furniture, upholstery, and decor, the prorietaires should put this struggling Paris institution out of its misery and make its historic building a museum.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 18, 2007

Romantic restaurant

Reserved one of the private rooms for dinner and it was very romantic atmosphere. The waiter closes the door inbetween courses and you ring a buzzer when you need his service. Food was excellent - I had the monkfish cassoulet for main course and the mint souffle for dessert was like eating heavenly clouds. It definitely felt like old-school "Paris" like something out of the movie Gigi.

By Charlie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 2, 2003

For a Special Occasion opt for the Real Thing

After quite a lot of research, we chose Laperouse for our "last night in Paris" meal, which turned out to be a mistake. The place is somewhat threadbare and we were seated next to a drunken English couple - why do good Parisian restaurants insist on seating people directly beside the only other people in the restaurant? Our "special" experience started when we ordered a bottle of Champagne Rose from someone we thought was the sommelier but was not

(he neglected to inform us but gave an opinion on Champagne Roses offered). When the actual sommelier brought the Champagne, he poured it into regular wine glasses and it went instantly flat. When we pointed this out, the drunken Brits joined in the occasion as we were lectured by the sommelier about the delicate mousse with Champagne Rose. He instantly offered another bottle (although there is absolutely nothing wrong with this one!) but was about to pour it into regular wine glasses. Only after some insistence from us did he agree to provide flutes (which they seemed to be using for Champagne by the glass - go figure?). Needless to say, despite our best efforts, there was no salvaging a great experience at this point as the very affectionate middle-aged Brits got louder and sloppier. To be fair, the food (a reasonably priced menu)was fine, if unexciting, and the individual wines chosen by the sommelier were good but the overall experience was a bit of a disaster. Earlier, we had dined at a few "starred" restaurants and I would recommend that you stick with one of them (our choice would be Les Ambassadeurs) for a special occasion.

Read More

By Deborah

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 6, 2002

Best meal in Paris

Exquisite food, attentive service... scallops the best I've ever had. It was a splurge for me, but worth every euro.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement