Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Paris Restaurants

Hélène Darroze

Updated 02/19/2014

Fodor's Review

The most celebrated female chef in Paris is now cooking at the Connaught in London, but her St-Germain dining room is an exclusive setting for her sophisticated take on southwestern French food. Darroze's intriguingly modern touch comes through in such dishes as a sublime duck foie gras confit served with an exotic-fruit chutney or a blowout of roast wild duck stuffed with foie gras and truffles. At its best, the food lives up to the very high prices, but for a sampling

without the wallet shock, her €35 seven-course tapas lunch menu, including a glass of wine, is one of the best deals in town.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

4 rue d'Assas, 6e, Paris, 75006, France

Map It

Phone:

/01–42–22–00–11

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Closed Sun. and Mon.
  • Reservations essential

Updated 02/19/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Paris

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 27, 2010

Hélène Darroze Review

My wife and I and two friends had a Saturday lunch at Helene Darroze's restaurant in early October, and came away with mixed reactions. The first part of the meal was excellent -- delicious food and attentive service. But at the end of the meal, the staff seemed to lose all interest in us, even forgetting to bring an extra coffee I had ordered. This isn't what I expect in a Michelin-starred restaurant. As well, the room was over-heated, and the furnishings

starting to be a bit tatty, given the price. Not a bad experience, by any means, but not stellar either.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 26, 2008

incredible food

unbelievable service, not stuffy, but attentive and even a little fun at times. favorite course....the langoustine tartare in asparagus broth. the lamb, salmon, dessert(s)!

By Margot

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 22, 2004

Divine Dining in Chic Room

Our group of 8 (everyone but me was French)dined in this Relais & Chateau restaurant, and found the food fantastic, the room quite chic, and an attractive, well heeled crowd. Service could be less obtrusive, and our meal (6 courses) took too long. Overall, very elegant, modern, chic, and reflective of the young star chef.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 29, 2002

A Big Splurge, but Memorable

We dined at this restaurant on our last night in Paris (which was also the last evening of our honeymoon). The upstairs was very chic, but the place didn't begin to fill until 9 pm (the chic dinner hour). The service was excellent - great wine recommendations and everyone spoke perfect English. We opted for the Chef's dinner and bravely didn't read the menu. With the exception of one course (which tasted different but good until my husband asked

what it was) everything was excellent. A truly memorable meal for a memorable ocassion. However, we did feel it was overpriced for dinner, we paid for the experience. (about $330 for 2)

Read More

By Chad

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 27, 2001

Wonderful until the train wreck

Went to Paris over Thanksgiving and chose this as the place to have dinner Thursday night. The atmosphere was wonderful, spacious tables, pottery barn-esque decor, beautiful table settings... The waiters were very friendly and the wine steward helpful. We really enjoyed the meal, a couple of "preappetizers", appetizers, a delicious roast guinea hen (carved table side and served in two courses). The problem came after the cheese course. Our plates

were cleared and dessert silverware placed on the table. Then a 50 minute wait for dessert. The waitstaff seemed to melt away after the first ten minutes of this. When we asked after 30 minutes where dessert was, we were told it "was coming". All during this, desserts were being brought to other tables. Obviously, we'd chosen poorly, one of our desserts was not ready and the kitchen was trying to prepare it. This really detracted from what otherwise would have been a wonderful evening. A leisurely 3 hour dinner turned into a four hour march. The wait staff never offered an explanation as to what went wrong. They just pretended nothing had happened and cheerfully brought the armanac cart after dessert. For nearly $350 for the two of us, I expected a lot better. Despite the wonderful food, we will not be returning.

Read More

By Michael

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 22, 2001

Where is everybody?

We knew that 8 o'clock was early for upstairs, but there was no one there when we arrived. This gave the staff a little time to be kind to us (except for the sommelier who had some trouble understanding that I wanted a white burgundy under, not over, 600 FF). The food was subkime and by 9:30 the place was packed.

By steve

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 14, 2001

Amazing and creative tapas, slow service

A fantastic meal of various tapas, but unlike tapas you will eat anywhere - incredible foi gras, amazing sardines, and onion soup. Deserts were just as incredible - pound cake in strawberry syrup, a soup of tropical fruits and juice. And an amazing price - two of us ate in the salon, with two glasses of wine each, for $75. The service is taxed, with one person covering seven tables, a plan that will not work for guests. Prepare for this and go!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement