Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Paris Restaurants

L'Ardoise

Updated 02/19/2014

Fodor's Review

A minuscule storefront, decorated with enlargements of old sepia postcards of Paris, L'Ardoise is a model of the kind of contemporary bistros making waves in Paris. Chef Pierre Jay's first-rate three-course dinner menu for €36 tempts with such original dishes as mushroom and foie gras ravioli with smoked duck; farmer's pork with porcini mushrooms; and red mullet with creole sauce (you can also order à la carte, but it's less of a bargain). Just as enticing are the desserts,

such as a superb feuillantine au citron—caramelized pastry leaves filled with lemon cream and lemon slices—and a boozy baba au rhum. With friendly waiters and a small but well-chosen wine list, L'Ardoise would be perfect if it weren't so popular (meaning noisy and crowded).

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

28 rue du Mont Thabor, 1er, Paris, 75001, France

Map It

Phone:

/01–42–96–28–18

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No lunch Sun.
  • Reservations essential

Updated 02/19/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Whizzie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 24, 2012

L'Ardoise Review

It was good food, and there are selections for people who want something a little more adventurous and for people who want to eat something that isn't escargot or foie gras. We were seated down stairs, and at one point the waitress forgot we were there, and before that, she did not take the order of another party for about 15 minutes. It was not her fault at all, but if you like quick and elegant service, this place isn't for you. It has great food,

though! I highly recommend the beef in red sauce and the lemon tart.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 3, 2012

L'Ardoise Review

I went here of Fodor's recommendation. During dinner I found that over half the customers there were American and had also found it on Fodors! The place is very small and if you don't mind sitting right next to other customers, it's not the place for you. The tables are touching and they had to pull our our table for me to get to my seat. Luckily, this does not bother me. Both me and my co-worker agreed that the starter and dessert were better

than the main, but we were still happy with the over-all meal, espscially for the price (122 Euro, including a bottle of wine). I usually rate a place on whether or not I would return for work and/or with my wife. I would, in both cases. I recommend L'Ardoise to anyone that wants a good, affordable French dinner. One note I will add is that you need to call ahead and make a reservation. While we were there it filled up and we saw at least one walk-in turned away because they did not the room for them.

Read More

By MAP

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 25, 2008

A real treasure

We ate here at Pauline Frommer's rec. and it was superb. It was crowded, but we just walked in at around 1:30 PM. My chicken breast in brown sauce was perfect, and the thin, crispy sauteed potatoes in butter beyond description! I will absolutely return.

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 7, 2006

Not sure if this restaurant still exists

We were in Paris for a week in September 2006, and tried several times to eat at this restaurant. The first time, which was on a Monday night, we found the restaurant completely shuttered, and it didn't look "just shut for the night". However, we found a wonderful, wonderful restaurant just a few doors down called La Souffle, which we would highly recommend! Later in the week we called the number for L'Ardoise several times, and only got a recording

that we couldn't quite understand (my French isn't strong enough to understand a fast-talking recording in French). If you find that L'Ardoise is not around, try La Souffle, you will be thrilled with your find!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 28, 2006

Delicious

My husband and I loved this restaurant. We had an excellent monkfish and loved the Millefeuille dessert and sorbet. With a reasonable bottle of wine the meal was just over 100Euro. The staff of two was very accomodating and spoke excellent English. Only draw back was the bright lighting, should have been dimmed for better atmosphere

By Ike

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 16, 2006

ONE OF THE BEST EXAMPLES OF HOW FRENCH BISTRO FOOD SHOULD BE!

For those not familiar with French cuisine this would probably be the best place to try it in Paris! Although the tables are close to each other the ambiance is cosy rather than cramped. All the dishes are constructed from fresh ingredients and many are accopanied by light sauces.Our bill for 4 came to Euro199 including 2 bottles of good quality wines.To me this represents overall good value!

By Ellen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 30, 2006

Go for the Millefeuille, stay for the lobster

We had a delightful Sunday evening dinner here, complete with delicious escargo, lobster with black truffles, and fantastic desserts (do try the millefeuille- it's great). Our server could have been better, but, hey, it's Paris.

By Dennis

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 17, 2005

A Staff of Two Do It all for You

This has to be one of the best deals in Paris. Reasonably priced (just over 100 euros for 3 courses with wine for 2) Great food (langustino ravioli to die for and fresh marinated herring perfectly flavored) Incredible staff of tgwo young women who handle the whole dining room without breaking a sweat or their good humor. Go there!!!

By Thomas

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 8, 2004

Le Disappointment

Motivated by the 'Fodor's Choice' designation in our guidebook, we were eager to try the fare at L'Ardoise. Although the service was very good, the food was a huge disappointment -- an ordinary meal with no particularly impressive or distinguishing features. Look elsewhere; there are better meals to be had in Paris, in better settings.

By Bailey

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 1, 2003

I ALWAYS RETURN!!!

I always return for the marvelous cuts of steak....incredible, delicious surprises with side dishes. AND very welcoming service!

By Grace

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 22, 2002

Food w/a Major Attitude

We were treated very rudely here. We had reservations that our hotel confirmed for us. When we arrived we were told there were no reservations for us. When we insisted that our hotel had just confirmed that morning, they said "oh, your table is downstairs". That is where they put all the Americans. The service was awful and rude. When our cheese course was served cold, we commented on the fact and was told that that was the way cheese was served

in France!! Would never go back there again.

Read More

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 5, 2002

Fast food

Staff did not impress with indifferent service, which seemed designed to rush us through our meal. If I wanted fast food I would go for a Big Mac. The main course, turbot, was reasonable but the entree and deserts left much to be desired. Crowded and popular I can live with, but the customers were crammed in to the point where using my utensils required permission from the lady at the adjacent table. Lastly, the harsh lighting only accentuated

the shabby decor.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement