Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Paris Restaurants

Chez René

Updated 02/19/2014

Fodor's Review

The owners have wisely preserved the bistro's traditional spirit while brightening the decor and adding chic touches such as valet parking and a heated terrace. The menu still consists mainly of Lyonnais classics, though now you'll find some of these grouped into color-theme menus such as "red" (beet salad, coq au vin, and Quincy wine) or "yellow" (Swiss chard gratin, pike-perch in beurre blanc sauce with steamed potatoes, and Mâcon wine). Old regulars keep coming back, including the former owners, who live upstairs.

Restaurant Information

Address:

14 bd. St-Germain, 5e, Paris, 75005, France

Map It

Phone:

/01–43–54–30–23

Website: n/a

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Closed Sun., Mon., Aug., and Christmas week

Updated 02/19/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Paris

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 2, 2010

Chez René Review

Really great restaurant and value. Best Cocovan and beef bourguignon in Paris. If it is summer ask for a table outside. The host Xavier speaks great english if you need help with the menu and is a very nice man.

By Jim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 27, 2006

Family is missed

The restuarant had a great table and great service before it became part of a restaurant group. Since then the service is perfunctory and the food just average. There are better restaurants in the neighborhood.

By Megan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 1, 2004

Great Food but felt uncomfortable due to cold waitstaff

My husband and I dined here July 2003 and we were the only people in the restaurant for the first hour of our meal. When a French couple came in, we felt they received much better service than us. That aside, we still talk about how great the boeuf bourguignon and coq au vin were, but we can't bring ourselves to go back because of the chilly service. By that I mean our waiter never once looked us in the face and rarely spoke.

By Randy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 16, 2003

So many places so much better.

Why, oh, why did we waste a meal on Chez Rene? There are so many places so much better for no more (or even for less) money. It's the only place during a recent week of eating in Paris (and one of the few in many weeks of eating there over the years) where we really felt unwanted -- guess they've seen too many tourists. Ignore the guidebooks -- go someplace else!

By Frank

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 7, 2001

A Non-Smoking Section!

This was the first Paris restaurant where we found a non-smoking section, which seemed to be the first choice of most patrons. Other than the Austrians next to us, we were the only non-French in the room. They did an excellent job on traditional French dishes, with a special nod to Burgundy (the coq au vin was remarkable).

By Wendy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 26, 2001

Bien!!

This was such a good find that we visited twice in a week! The family who owns the restaurant went out of their way to make us at home! Everything was fantastic! I will be back again!

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 4, 2001

Very Tasty

One of our better meals in Paris - the beouf bourginone (sp?) was particularly tasty and the waiters were very lively.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement