Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Paris Restaurants

Café Marly

Updated 02/19/2014

Fodor's Review

Run by the Costes brothers, this café overlooking the main courtyard of the Louvre and I.M. Pei's glass pyramid is one of the more stylish places in Paris to meet for a drink or a coffee, whether in the stunning jewel-toned dining rooms with their molded ceilings or on the Louvre's long, sheltered terrace. Regular café service shuts down during meal hours, when fashion-conscious folks dig into Asian-inspired salads and pseudo-Italian pasta dishes.

Restaurant Information

Address:

Cour Napoléon du Louvre, enter from Louvre courtyard, 93 rue de Rivoli, 1er, Paris, 75001, France

Map It

Phone:

/01–49–26–06–60

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted

Updated 02/19/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Geralyn

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 3, 2003

Staff is a bit cold but the food is HOT!

We just got back from Paris and had dinner here. The food was excellent, one of the best meals I had in Paris. The staff tolerable and service good. I definitely recommend this restaurant.

By Asia

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 1, 2001

Cafe Marly hardly for Everyone

I have visited Cafe Marly on several occasions and got different reception on different occasions. The first time I went the service and food was great but the other customers there were snooty. The second time I went the service was horrible, the food was great and as you know the view and location is magnificent. Another time I was there everyone was kind of cold - staff and fellow customers. You would think with a restaurant like Cafe Marly

with the excellent location great decor that it would be a gfreat place to go always. The last time I was in Paris I didn't visit because I wasn't sure of what to expect.

Read More

By Maureen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 29, 2001

This should be called Cafe Snarly!

The view is beautiful. Most French are reserved but very polite and gracious. The staff at Cafe Marly are the exception. They are beyond rude and border on being openly hostile. It is not worth eduring the waiter's unsavory attitude no matter how wonderful the atmosphere. There are many other wonderful restuarants to choose from. Pass this one by!

By g

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 17, 2001

With a view like this, who needs food?

Ordered a simple potage. Particularly enjoyed the view of the gallery to the left and the statues overlooking the courtyard to the left. Although very busy, I was not rushed at all. Pleasant Louvre break.

By Irene

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 28, 2001

Napoleon would have loved the cheeseburger!

Just a great place for a drink and simple but pricey meal with the most Parisian of views...the Pei pyramid and Louvre all around you. During the day, the crowds are noisey and exciting...but late at night, the atmosphere is almost surreal. Yes, the waiters are all model perfect with attitude to match but I would take that over "Hi, my name is..." anyday. You are after all in Paris. Just give them attitude back. The French appreciate people with

strong opinions like themselves. Do not however put your tired feet on the ottomans...they are for extra seating which you will quickly and rudely find out. The French are very formal and putting your feet up even with clean shoes is a no-no. Also, the fabric covered chairs are beginning to show the effect of millions of visitors every year. Nevertheless, a must experience if only to be able to say that you survived Cafe Marly.

Read More

By Cindy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 11, 2001

Table with a view

We throughly enjoyed the experience. Our waitperson was very polite and pleasant with us, but the table next to us experienced a very rude "Speak French" from the same waitperson. We found that if you make an attempt at the French language, it is much appreciated. The best Caesar salad of the trip.

By A

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 21, 2000

Get An Eyeful of Beauty at the Louvre's Cafe

What can I say about Cafe Marly? Well, first of all, ladies, the waiters are eye candy. Let's face it, one goes to Cafe Marly for the view -- it just depends on the person as to what is viewed. Another bonus: the kitchen is open relatively late (for paris), so you can get a light late night meal.

By elaine

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 20, 2000

see the Pyramid over lunch

Tucked into one of the arcades surrounding the Pyramid entrance to the Louvre is the slightly-overpriced but memorable Cafe Marly. By all means, weather permitting, dine on the terrace; inside is noisy, and although pretty, just another place to eat. The menu is mostly light food, on the pricey side, but you will always remember the sight of the glass pyramid in front of you, and you could never mistake this setting for anywhere but Paris.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement