Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Paris Restaurants

Thoumieux

Updated 02/19/2014

Fodor's Review

Former Crillon chef Jean-François Piège and Thierry Costes of the fashionable brasserie clan that created Café Marly and Le Georges are behind the revival of this old-world bistro. The space has thankfully preserved much of its vintage character with globe lights and etched mirrors. Despite its location in the sedate 7e arrondissement, this has quickly become the place to be seen, with food that's a good notch above brasserie fare. A juicy Angus beef hamburger comes

with a superfluous shower of Parmesan and ultra skinny fries, while the more sophisticated slow-cooked salmon is accompanied by vegetables from star market gardener Joël Thiébault. For dessert, try the piping-hot churros with chocolate sauce. The new restaurant gastronomique upstairs is ever so chic and a good bit pricier, yet proffers an experience commensurate with the top bistros in town (a €139 set menu at lunch and dinner and a €99 three-course menu at lunch that includes two glasses of wine, closed in August). Reservations are taken exactly six days ahead.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

79 rue St-Dominique, 7e, Paris, 75007, France

Map It

Phone:

/01–47–05–49–75

Website: www.thoumieux.fr

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Reservations essential

Updated 02/19/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By alf1052

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 7, 2009

history

Been going to this very French (thaT'S GOOD AND BAD) place for over 20 years. The cassoulet and confit are the best qwe have had anyhwhere. Do not drink the house wine.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 5, 2007

3rd time's charm

This restaurant was only a stone's throw from our hotel. It was handy so we ate there our first night in Paris. OOO-la-la (or whatever) I ordered an artichoke for an appetizer and it was enough for four of us (including my 9 yr. old grandson who had never had one before). Another night we went back because we wanted something close and had later plans. Marvelous again. After the kids left, my wife and I returned for a third time and I had one of the

best meals I have ever had! After I communicated (kind of) with them about our joy with this place, they gave me a small wine glass with their name on it. We are returning to Paris in September and you can bet your sweet bippee that this is our first choice for dinner! Wait a minute...if any of you are planning to go there the last week in September...the food is lousy, the service stinks, their attitude is terrible. Don't go there while we are in town.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 17, 2007

KellySusan

A good but not great "old Paris" restaurant. A bit worn around the edges (not like some "grand dame"- just worn). The food was certainly good, but just uninspired. My salad order- the frisee with chevre chaud- turned out to be pate. Which I really enjoyed, but it was just incorrect. The kitchen seems to be going through the motions with its seasonings and flavorings. The breads were only so-so and a bit dried out. A LARGE group of tourists was

upstairs and may have stressed the kitchen staff somewhat. The wait staff was proficient, but needed to warm-up a bit. In an area known for good food, you could probably do better, cheaper.

Read More

By TTB

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 31, 2007

Best meal of my life

Not much more to say. We picked this for our 20th anniversary and I cannot image a better choice. Everything was 5 stars.

By Barbara

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 24, 2001

Always a great night

I've eaten here many times because Thomieux is open on holidays and I haven never been disappointed. Great meat, great potatoes, great profiteroles. It's not fancy but it is always a lot of fun with the charming waiters and excellent, if plain, food.

By Richard

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 25, 2000

A Real Find

My party of four adults and three kids had a really marvellous time here and everything was great...especially the "authentic" atmosphere. No snobbery here, just a real French experience and we were treated royally!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement