Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Paris Restaurants

Les Bouquinistes

  • 53 quai des Grands-Augustins Map It

Updated 02/19/2014

Fodor's Review

Showcasing the talents of Guy Savoy protégé Stéphane Perraud, this is the star chef Savoy's most popular "baby bistro," frequented by art dealers from the nearby galleries and the occasional bouquiniste (bookseller) from the quais across the street. Expect to hear more English than French in the cheery, contemporary dining room with its closely packed tables looking out onto the Seine, but the sophisticated seasonal cuisine—such as snails and mussels with gnocchi,

followed by British Hereford beef with squash-stuffed rigatoni and a caramel crème brûlée—is as authentic as you could hope for. The €31 menu du marché (back from the market) lunch menu seems less imaginative than the pricier à la carte options—though it does include three courses and a glass of wine. The wine list is extensive, with 180 wines and 12 champagnes.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

53 quai des Grands-Augustins, 6e, Paris, 75006, France

Map It

Phone:

/01–43–25–45–94

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Closed Aug.

Updated 02/19/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Paris

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By agibson

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 20, 2011

Les Bouquinistes Review

We ate here last year with friends from US, Rome and Paris, a party of ten, while traveling on pleasure. It was a perfect evening. The food was delicious, and the service and ambiance were so congenial. It gets harder to differentiate among good restaurants -- there are so many that offer creative food and well paired wine. But what I remember most about our meal and evening is what an easy, unhassled, happy time it was. Despite the restaurant's

superb location, it felt like strolling around the corner to one of your favorite places to eat where you are known and appreciated. We would go back in a heartbeat and probably will when we are there next in June.

Read More

By poivre

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 22, 2010

Les Bouquinistes Review

I have been working in the fine dining for a number of years. I have a hard time when I go out to eat because I am so judgemental on every little detail. When we first arrived at Les Bouqinistes I admired the contemporary art that is done simplistcly and matches the vibe of the service staff who are young. We thought it was a very pleasant and bright room. We were extremely happy with the service and very excited when the food came to our table. Everything

was done well from start to finish. Very happy with the experience.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 27, 2010

Les Bouquinistes Review

I had dinner here recently with some Paris based friends. We had no problems with the service, which was very nice, and the atmosphere was fine but nothing special considering the price range. The food was good but I had expected better. I went because of Guy Savoy's reputation and was very disappointed. It's ok but but bottom line: I wouldn't go there again unless someone else was paying.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 19, 2009

Les Bouquinistes Review

We dined at Les Bouquinistes for lunch last month. It was fabulous - simple elegance and wonderful food and service. We chose the 3-course special along with sparkling water and wine. The presentation was spectacular for the seafood entrees. We will return again. By the way, we made reservations via internet before leaving for our trip.

By Uma

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 4, 2009

Les Bouquinistes Review

We had a wonderful dinner here on our first trip to Paris. Convenient location; around the corner from our hotel. Staff was professional and service was good. Our food was delicious: tomato gazpacho/mozzarella amuse bouche, sea bream and veal, peach w/ lavender and tiramisu of chocolate and strawberries. The maitre'd and waiter shaking my husband's hand as we left was a nice touch.

By erbe38

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 9, 2008

Superb

I remain perplexed by the criticisims of service. Of course any restaurant can have their off days. And sometimes a dinner can have an off day. I adored the informal enviorment and modern decor combined with splended food and very professional yet informal service which made me feel relaxed. The menu is small but carefully thought out taking advantage of many special ingredients of the season. On my first visit we enoyed the a creative

and delicious smoked salmon with a ginger citris sobert and a lobster for starters. For the main course My baby duckling filet was tender and full of flavour and my partner's the beef filet was prepared and presented with the care and attention one would expect from Guy Savoy. A real test of an informal restuarant is the wine list. A big cellar with hundreds of wines can have some mistakes and still but it is a much greater challange when a restaurant has a small assortment like Les Bouquinistes of less than 100 wines offering a great range and good value and some real treasures from smaller producers. Don't be shy to ask for guidance. There are many fine bottles for under 50 Euro as well as some showcase Burgundy, Rhone, and Bordeux for those with a more generous budget. To finish I succumed to the chocolate degustation: 5 bon bouches of chocolate interpretation by the chef. For any lover of Chocolate this was paridise! I look forward to returning to Les Bouquinistes this summer to try their fish and a bottle of difficult to find Domaine Tempier Bandol.

Read More

By vigfab

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 18, 2008

Great food, Too bad you have to sit there to eat it

The food was very good. That is the good part. Quite lovely. I barely can remember it, because the restaurant itself is hideous. A loud ringing electronic phone with an annoying ring...a staff that cannot get it together (wrong dishes served, dropped dishes, no communication between the 3-4 different people serving us meant being asked the same questions 4 times only to have none of them remember, plates removed from under our noses while others

were still eating at our table...a total joke). i actually asked the waiter if we were on candid camera and was sure people would pop out from behind mirrors...alas...it was for real! this just does not work, their attempt at the dynamic tag-team style table service you find in new york eateries, looked like elephants in a china shop. food - very good. someone suggest them to do take-out...i don't think they can turn their service around...

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 18, 2007

Excellent service, wonderful food

We went here on Valentine's Day and had the set menu for dinner. Contrary to the other posting, we had the best service out of all the restaurants we visited in Paris. Food was absolutely incredible -- particularly enjoyed the scallops over risotto and the quartet of desserts which included passionfruit sorbet and a fruit "cappucino". We were not rushed to leave although they were clearly busy with the holiday. This would be the one restaurant

I'd make a point to go back to when we return to Paris!

Read More

By Charles

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 14, 2006

Life's too short for bad service at bad restuarants

Don't bother with the Bouquinistes. There are many better restaurants in Paris.

By Sherri

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 2, 2002

"Book " at les Bookinistes a must in Paris

I love this restaurant! I had the most delicious meal: roasted lamb with stuffed olives in fig sauce; the service was good; attentive without being over the top... nice modern decor. I consider this restaurant to be one of the best values in Paris (a notoriously expensive city for dining). While not "Traditional French Fare" it is also one of the things I prefer about this restaurant.After 5 days of heavy cream sauce the menu is a welcome relief.

I have refered Les Bookinistes to many friends and they have all said it's one of the best dining experiences in Paris and would definately return; as do I every time I'm in Paris. viva la France Sherri Santa Barbara, Ca. p.s. the flourless chocloate cake is worth a reservstion alone.

Read More

By Neil

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 7, 2002

Good, not great

My overall impression of this place was that it wasn't too different from dining at a fairly nice restaurant here in the US. The staff were happy and friendly, the food was good (though the appetizer was far more interesting than my main course), and the atmosphere was bright and modern. Everything was very nice, but not what I wuold call special.

By Diane

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 25, 2002

About that table...

29/4/02 We called in the morning, just to see if we might get an 8:30 reservation for our last night in Paris, and yes! Success! We had a lovely stroll along the Seine, watched the rollerskaters perform, and headed back to the restaurant to find ourselves seated at a small table next to the bar. Well, it had been a last minute thought, and I've sat at worse tables...however we really liked the menu choices that night so we settled in. It turned

out to be quite fantastic. The food was wonderful, the wine was incredible, and it turned out to be a very good table. Three courses, wine, coffee, and very personable service that night...Overall excellent experience and a great way to say au revoir a Paris.

Read More

By Sally

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 16, 2002

Good food, too many Americans!

I've eaten here twice and the food and wine are excellent. But everyone that's written to rate this place is right about the seating of Americans; we were surrounded by them and completely lost the feeling that you were in Paris (and the tables are way too close together). I'd still go back for the food and good service.

By Robin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 9, 2001

Bookinistes? Sandanistes!

Our hotel concierge reserved our table for our first night in Paris only to be told that they did not have a reservation for "Rodriguez." They may put the American's in a "special" area, but they don't let the Latin's in! Our concierge later said "I hate when they do that!!!" The maitre'd went on to recommend another place and we recommended to them that they "close."

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 21, 2001

Poor service ruined the evening

The warnings here from other reviewers about seating were accurate. My wife and I had 7:30 reservations and they sat us at the front window, away from the main dining room. I wouldn't have minded, it was initially nice to sit close to the windows with a view. But... Problems: 1) This seating area near the bar. There is a phone there that was ringing every 5 minutes... very loud. And the host answering the phone... voice was very loud. Both the constant

loud ringing and the phone conversations were very disturbing. Totally unacceptable for fine dining. 2) No air conditioning in this section.. it was so hot here it was beyond belief. Like a sauna. Also totally unacceptable for fine dining. I asked the host to turn the air conditioning cooler for that area. He replied that the air conditioning for that area was broken, and a known issue. When it is 90 degrees outside, and they know the A/C is broken in an area, they should either a) get it fixed immediately or b) don't seat people in that area. Seating us here when it was a known issue, again, this was totally unacceptable for fine dining. I asked to move tables. To their credit, they immediately moved us, even though by this time the seating in the regular area had filled up. However, by this point, my wife and I were drenched in sweat from sitting in the "sauna" and were rather unhappy. Further inattentive service made the rest of the short-lived dinner a failure. Even though the food was good, we were in bad moods and did not enjoy the food due to the poor service at multiple points in the evening. With so many better places to dine (like Jamin) where the food and the service were perfection, I say: don't waste your time with the poor service here.

Read More

By Jen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 24, 2001

Beautiful restaurant and food!

Make this a stop on your next trip to Paris. One of the best meals out of any of our trips to Paris. Do agree with comment concerning the table assignments; would have rather mixed and mingled with Parisians than have been seated with other visitors. Even with that, service was good.

By Chet

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 30, 2001

One Of Top Two Dinners Of My LIFE!

They held our reservation even though we were late on a Friday night. The food was beyond description - an appetizer of leek confit and smoked tuna was so good I wanted to order it again as the main course. But I had a lean slice of leg of lamb w/roast garlic, green olive puree - fabulous.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 1, 2000

Not a "trendy" Californian

As a "meat and potatoes" kind of gal, I've always been a little "cuisine-challenged", but I love Paris and I love to eat! Our hotel, (down the street from Bookinistes), recommended this restaurant to us and our first experience was quite good. I had a lamb stew kind of dish served in a casserole - it was really good. Service was very good also, but the thing that bothered me was the "atmosphere". In addition to not liking "experimental" cuisine,

I really don't "cotton" to a trendy "Melrose" look of a restaurant. As a matter of fact, it's almost always a "red flag" for me. If you like trendy L.A. type cuisine and decor, this restaurant is for you. On our second visit, the food was disappointing. I blame myself however -I couldn't recall the name of the lamb stew dish I had and got some weird, unrecognizable dish instead. Oh, well... cest la vie!

Read More

By Jim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 13, 2000

Free Champagne!!

Liked it so much, went back for a second night. Arrived and welcomed like an old friend. Table was not quite ready, so we were invited to sit at the bar for a glass or two of Champagne. After dinner, could not decide on a specific desert, so they brought a sample of each one on the menu. Fabulous service, and by the way, the pre dinner Champagne was "on the house", and only charged for one desert. What a great spot!!!!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement