Paris Restaurants

Advertisement

Guidebooks

Les Bouquinistes

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  

Les Bouquinistes Review

Showcasing the talents of Guy Savoy protégé Stéphane Perraud, this is the star chef Savoy's most popular "baby bistro," frequented by art dealers from the nearby galleries and the occasional bouquiniste (bookseller) from the quais across the street. Expect to hear more English than French in the cheery, contemporary dining room with its closely packed tables looking out onto the Seine, but the sophisticated seasonal cuisine—such as snails and mussels with gnocchi, followed by British Hereford beef with squash-stuffed rigatoni and a caramel crème brûlée—is as authentic as you could hope for. The €31 menu du marché (back from the market) lunch menu seems less imaginative than the pricier à la carte options—though it does include three courses and a glass of wine. The wine list is extensive, with 180 wines and 12 champagnes.

    Restaurant Details

  • Credit cards accepted.
  • Closed Aug.
Updated: 02-19-2014

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Les Bouquinistes Review

    We ate here last year with friends from US, Rome and Paris, a party of ten, while traveling on pleasure. It was a perfect evening. The food was delicious, and the service and ambiance were so congenial.

    It gets harder to differentiate among good restaurants -- there are so many that offer creative food and well paired wine. But what I remember most about our meal and evening is what an easy, unhassled, happy time it was. Despite the restaurant's superb location, it felt like strolling around the corner to one of your favorite places to eat where you are known and appreciated.

    We would go back in a heartbeat and probably will when we are there next in June.

    by agibson, 3/20/11
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Les Bouquinistes Review

    I have been working in the fine dining for a number of years. I have a hard time when I go out to eat because I am so judgemental on every little detail. When we first arrived at Les Bouqinistes I admired the contemporary art that is done simplistcly and matches the vibe of the service staff who are young. We thought it was a very pleasant and bright room. We were extremely happy with the service and very excited when the food came to our table. Everything was done well from start to finish. Very happy with the experience.

    by poivre, 10/22/10
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Les Bouquinistes Review

    I had dinner here recently with some Paris based friends. We had no problems with the service, which was very nice, and the atmosphere was fine but nothing special considering the price range. The food was good but I had expected better. I went because of Guy Savoy's reputation and was very disappointed. It's ok but but bottom line: I wouldn't go there again unless someone else was paying.

    by islandgirl6, 1/27/10
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Les Bouquinistes Review

    We dined at Les Bouquinistes for lunch last month. It was fabulous - simple elegance and wonderful food and service. We chose the 3-course special along with sparkling water and wine. The presentation was spectacular for the seafood entrees. We will return again. By the way, we made reservations via internet before leaving for our trip.

    by svlockwood, 11/19/09
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Les Bouquinistes Review

    We had a wonderful dinner here on our first trip to Paris. Convenient location; around the corner from our hotel. Staff was professional and service was good. Our food was delicious:
    tomato gazpacho/mozzarella amuse bouche, sea bream and veal, peach w/ lavender and tiramisu of chocolate and
    strawberries. The maitre'd and waiter shaking my husband's hand as we left was a nice touch.

    by Uma, 11/4/09
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Superb

    I remain perplexed by the criticisims of service. Of course any restaurant can have their off days. And sometimes a dinner can have an off day.

    I adored the informal enviorment and modern decor combined with splended food and very professional yet informal service which made me feel relaxed.

    The menu is small but carefully thought out taking advantage of many special ingredients of the season.

    On my first visit we enoyed the a creative and delicious smoked salmon with a ginger citris sobert and a lobster for starters. For the main course My baby duckling filet was tender and full of flavour and my partner's the beef filet was prepared and presented with the care and attention one would expect from Guy Savoy.

    A real test of an informal restuarant is the wine list. A big cellar with hundreds of wines can have some mistakes and still but it is a much greater challange when a restaurant has a small assortment like Les Bouquinistes
    of less than 100 wines offering a great range and good value and some real treasures from smaller producers. Don't be shy to ask for guidance. There are many fine bottles for under 50 Euro as well as some showcase Burgundy, Rhone, and Bordeux for those with a more generous budget.

    To finish I succumed to the chocolate degustation: 5 bon bouches of chocolate interpretation by the chef. For any lover of Chocolate this was paridise!

    I look forward to returning to Les Bouquinistes this summer to try their fish and a bottle of difficult to find Domaine Tempier Bandol.

    by erbe38, 7/9/08
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Great food, Too bad you have to sit there to eat it

    The food was very good. That is the good part. Quite lovely.

    I barely can remember it, because the restaurant itself is hideous. A loud ringing electronic phone with an annoying ring...a staff that cannot get it together (wrong dishes served, dropped dishes, no communication between the 3-4 different people serving us meant being asked the same questions 4 times only to have none of them remember, plates removed from under our noses while others were still eating at our table...a total joke).

    i actually asked the waiter if we were on candid camera and was sure people would pop out from behind mirrors...alas...it was for real!

    this just does not work, their attempt at the dynamic tag-team style table service you find in new york eateries, looked like elephants in a china shop.

    food - very good. someone suggest them to do take-out...i don't think they can turn their service around...

    by vigfab, 4/18/08
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Excellent service, wonderful food

    We went here on Valentine's Day and had the set menu for dinner. Contrary to the other posting, we had the best service out of all the restaurants we visited in Paris. Food was absolutely incredible -- particularly enjoyed the scallops over risotto and the quartet of desserts which included passionfruit sorbet and a fruit "cappucino". We were not rushed to leave although they were clearly busy with the holiday. This would be the one restaurant I'd make a point to go back to when we return to Paris!

    by csickles, 2/18/07

Add your own review

Advertisement

Travel Deals in Paris

View all travel deals
* Some taxes, fees additional

View more trip reports

View more travel discussions

· News & Features

View more blog stories