Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Paris Restaurants

La Tour d'Argent

Updated 02/19/2014

Fodor's Review

La Tour d'Argent has had a rocky time in recent years with the death of owner Claude Terrail, but chef Laurent Delarbre has found his footing, and there's no denying the splendor of the setting overlooking the Seine. If you don't want to splash out on dinner, treat yourself to the three-course lunch menu for a reduced price of €75; this entitles you to succulent slices of one of the restaurant's numbered ducks (the great duck slaughter began in 1919 and is now well past

the millionth mallard, as your numbered certificate will attest). Don't be too daunted by the vast wine list—with the aid of the sommelier you can splurge a little (about €85) and perhaps taste a rare vintage Burgundy from the extraordinary cellars, which survived World War II.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

15–17 quai de la Tournelle, 5e, Paris, 75005, France

Map It

Phone:

/01–43–54–23–31

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Closed Sun., Mon., and Aug.
  • Reservations essential

Updated 02/19/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Paris

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Peter16

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 10, 2009

La Tour d'Argent Review

La Tour d'Argent is somewhat of a chameleon, on one hand the duck with peppercorns was wonderful, on the other hand, the service was a little overbearing, the location is to die for, overlooking the Seine and Notre-Dame but it reminds me of a Grand Dame a little down on her luck: she is trying to keep up appearance but you can tell all is not well. They do know how to make Duck, and if you don’t care for duck, you probably should not eat here.

They have been preparing duck since 1850’s and your duck comes with a numbered certificate, ours was number 1,076,084…I think the duck’s name was Bob. It is clear that they were once a great restaurant and they have the potential to do so again. They seem to be stuck in the 60’s and the world palette has changed since then: very heavy, but well prepared meal is a little out of touch with their main competitors in Paris, Guy Savoy, Alain Ducasse. A little innovative leadership, a little lightening up on the service and the menu and they could be great again. I am rooting for them.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 19, 2007

not any more

Last trip to Paris we went to three "great" restaurants: Guy Savoy, Taillevent, and La Tour. This one isn't great anymore. Food was ok but the service was awful. Pretty tough to ruin the view of Notre Dame at night, but our servers managed to do so. Maybe we were too American.

By Jeanne

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 24, 2005

Just Ducky

We chose the duck with peppercorn sauce & were not disappointed. Plenty of food in two courses for 60 Euros pp. But, the sommelier was haughty & not at all helpful. (Do they have different sommeliers on different evenings?) We finally chose a Poilly Fusse for 99 Euros...tasty, but almost the cost of the meal. Still the dinner with wine was a bargain for fine dining in Paris. Elegant decor & nice view so certainly worth one visit. Looked to me like

lots of business people on expense accounts.

Read More

By Celia

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 16, 2003

My Grandparents Anniversary Dinner

I took my grandparents for their 50th anniversary to Paris. This was where we celebrated feasting on duck and wine! The food was wonderful, the wine was excellent, and the company was the best a girl could get! The proprietor came by to ask us about our meal and we found everything to be perfect for such a memorable evening!

By Gary

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 7, 2003

Heaven on Summer's Eve

Great Atmosphere. The staff was attentive yet there was no rushing at all through out the meal. The wine I ordered was exquisite. Even though I dined alone, this will not be soon forgotten.

By Kay

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 10, 2003

Very expensive & disappointing!

Spent ages deciding on the right venue to celebrate husbands 4oth birthday. Thought I had choosen the best location & hopefully the best meal ever.Location was PERFECT, but the meal was very disappointing. Right from the beginning when I asked if a could book a table for lunch to celebrate my husbands 40th, the response I got was 'perhaps'! I was staggered, felt I was doing him a favour. I went on to ask for a window seat as recommended by other Fodor

threads, and I basically got nowhere, & had to ring my hotel for the concierge to do the honours.The venue was perfect, overlooking Notre Dame,on a beautiful spring sunny day. The restaurant itself I felt was very dated & traditional, and the duck theme was overdone throught the restaurant. The service was attentive but we felt rather rushed throughout the course of the meal despite trying to slow the pace down.As with every visit to 'posh' restaurants, we always ask for the menu so that we can keep it & hang in our dining room. My husband asked for the menu, and was promptly given one all neatly rolled, to my horror when I unrolled it, found that the menu we had been given was in actual fact a Winter/spring menu and was practically identical to the spring menu we had just choosen the set menu from. My impression then was very disappointing as a restaurant of that calibre should be using seasonal ingredients with a daily changes reflected in the menu. I would NOT recommend this restaurant, I would strongly advise looking elsewhere for your mega splurge. The house specialality 'duck' was very average, and the desserts nothing special, I have certainly had better in my local gourmet pub!

Read More

By E

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 4, 2002

The best!

The best of the best! If you can afford it, don't miss it. If you can' afford it, still don't miss it.

By happyal

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 26, 2002

in kingdom of duck

if you like duck or like to have dinner or lunch with great view of ND and paris,you are in the right place. food is great so is the service and atmospher .a bit on expenssive side on food and wine but somthing that needs to be done if visiting paris had lunch and dinner their and it was worth every penny of it.

By Frank

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 23, 2002

Great spot for lunch

My wife and I have eaten here twice for lunch. Both times were great, and the view is grand. Pray for a clear day! It did help that my wife speaks French. I think that gets one a bit more courtesy everywhere in France. The wine "bible" is a bit intimidating. On our first visit we selected something we recognized for about $80. The wine steward considered it and suggested another wine that was actually cheaper, and it was just great. The historical

photos and such are interesting to look at on the way out. We really can't afford this place at night, but a lunch is on our "must-do" list for our annual trip to Paris.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 17, 2002

Non-French Speakers need not apply.

Your experience at La Tour D'Argent may depend entirely on your ability to speak French. Unfortunately, neither my wife or I can speak more than a few words - a fact the staff chose to remind us of several times. Not in a joking way, but in a nasty, arrogant way. By contrast, we've dined several times at Taillevent and were always made to feel welcome and our enjoyment was obviously their main objective. Here's the difference. At Tour D'Argent when

I asked the Sommelier for his view about a $500 bottle of Burgandy that I had chosen, he suggested a $2,500 bottle of Romanee Contee. The most expensive Burgandy on their list. He obviously did it to embarass me and remind me that we were not welcome. At Taillevent, I asked the Sommelier about a similarly priced Bordeaux, he suggested that a bottle that was $100 cheaper because he felt it would be a better complement for our food. That is service. It was worth going once, at least for the view. The duck was very good. I'll never go back - even if I do finally learn French.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 27, 2001

You Get What You Pay For!

Excellent service. Excellent food. Excellent view. Beautiful decor. Well worth it!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 12, 2001

Most memorable meal ever!

Everything was perfect. My salad was the best I have ever had. The filet mignon was the best - ever. the service was attentive - and not stuffy! Try their gift shop across the street after your dinner. Probably overpriced - but worth it at least once in a lifetime.

By Lee

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 8, 2000

Even Crawfish Bisque

Pressed duck as good as that I had 28 years ago. Appetizer was rich crawfish bisque with a stuffed head. Somelier recommended a great Cote de Rhone.

By Rachel

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 23, 2000

Think twice before going here!

Expected this to be a "special night" seeing we had travelled a few thousand kilometres to dine here. Place is obviously for corporate credit card spenders. Prices are so over-the-top that it makes value for money a laugh. The room itself is now in need of a little refurbishment. Somewhere you would go if you were over 50. Entree superb but the duck (2nd serving) was a disgrace. I doubt this was an off night and suggest they get little feedback.

Most disappointed and from all reports should have dined at Lucas- Carton

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement