Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Paris Restaurants

Chez Georges

Updated 02/19/2014

Fodor's Review

If you were to ask Parisian bankers, aristocrats, or antiques dealers to name their favorite bistro for a three-hour weekday lunch, many would choose Georges. The traditional fare, described in authentically indecipherable handwriting, is very good—chicken-liver terrine, curly endive salad with bacon and a poached egg, steak with béarnaise—and the atmosphere is better, compensating for the steep prices. In the dining room, a white-clothed stretch of tables lines the

mirrored walls, and attentive waiters sweep efficiently up and down. Order one of the wines indicated in colored ink on the menu and you can drink as much or as little of it as you want (and be charged accordingly); there's also another wine list with grander bottles.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

1 rue du Mail, 2e, Paris, 75002, France

Map It

Phone:

/01–42–60–07–11

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Closed weekends, Aug., 1 wk at Christmas

Updated 02/19/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 2, 2010

Chez Georges Review

This story actually starts out fine. Anybody that has been to Paris knows that a good portion of the restaurants are closed on Mondays. Getting a table for 8 on a Monday night at Chez George and having it ready when we got there was something to get really excited about. Well it all went south from there. My dinner partners on this particular night were a mix of half French and half Americans who all live and work in this amazing city. They are

the kind of people who eat out very often and know all sorts of restaurants in Paris. I myself have been to Chez George on many occasions. I have a friend who has a house across the street and have been with her several times for lunch and dinner. On one occasion I went to a dinner given by the editor of Vogue who took over the restaurant for a special night. Every time I had a wonderful meal but that has been some time now. My first course was a “Salade Frisee aux Lardons/euf Mollet. When it arrived I was already surprised by the presentation (the lack of bacon and a rather tiered looking egg) but my biggest surprise was yet to come. As I was picking at the few pieces of lardon that I could scavenge. I came across of all things a rather large metal SCREW. I am not the kind of person to make a scene or ask for something for free but I thought I would bring it to the attention of our waiter. Our waiter at first had an expression of shock but that was all we would get from Chez George that expression and a below average meal. My neighbor who is a self proclaimed “foodie” ordered the “Rognon de Veau” which if one was looking for something to chew on for a few hours to kill some time, I would suggest this. At the other end of the table someone who I know goes out every night of her life had which on the menu was called “Entrecote” but should have been “Fat with a tiny sliver of Meat”. When she was finished it looked like a suicide bomber had exploded on her plate…. A rather fat one!! The rest of the table had pretty unremarkable comments as well and the one thing we all agreed is that we would never go back. I could go on and on but my advice is if you are looking for a good bistro in Paris don’t go the Chez George. Try Bistro de Paris, Le Voltaire, Chez Rene and if you want a really good entrecote go to the Entrecote. I guess things would have help if there had been some sort of acknowledgement that a screw in a salad deserves more than a look but alas this is a free world and I don’t have to go back. Wrldoyster@aol.com

Read More

By AllenD

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 25, 2007

A lucky find!

What a delightful find this restaurant was for us! With its affable owner, cozy atmosphere (replete with chanteuse and pianist), excellent food and attentive wait staff, we returned twice during our stay, and were never disappointed. An exceptional restaurant.

By Karl

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 3, 2005

Superb

We dined on snails and steak, accompanied by a bottle of great red wine - excellent food, nice service and attractive prices. Higly recommended,

By Ray

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 16, 2004

What a true bistro experience!

We dined here on our final night in Paris on our recent trip. What a great time. Although it was a healthy trek by foot from our hotel in the 8th arr., it was well worth the journey. This is what I expect from a true Parisian bistro. The tables were crammed so close together that you are basically dining communally with everyone else in the place. The wait staff was wonderfully, flying through the place with abandon and charmingly unpolished. This

was refreshing after dining in pricier, supposedly nicer places with stiff, emotionless wait staff. The food was fantastic and came in large portions. The menu is written faintly by hand on a piece of paper. Everything about this place oozed Parisian charm. We loved it.

Read More

By Daniel

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 19, 2004

Great Place

Food is great. Leave room for dessert. Steack Bernaise is better than the duck.

By sy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 16, 2001

parisian hideaway

excellent meal..veal chops were surperb.never had to use a knife.service was warm and attentive.best bistro meal in paris in five years. can't wait to go back..as we sy in ny,a home run......

By Dave

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 14, 2001

A Must

Certainly one of the better bistros; very French feel, superb food. Escargot are sublime!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 18, 2000

Faded elegance

The waitstaff does not speak any english, but that's part of the charm! (they make up for it by being extremely hospitable) The food is excellent!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement