Paris Restaurants

Advertisement

Guidebooks

Le Grand Colbert

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  

Le Grand Colbert Review

One of the few independently owned brasseries left in Paris, Le Grand Colbert, with its globe lamps and ceiling moldings, feels grand yet not overpolished. It attracts a wonderfully Parisian mix of elderly lone diners, business lunchers, tourists, and couples, all of whom come for the enormous seafood platters, duck foie gras with Sauternes jelly, and steak tartare, as well as a few southern-influenced dishes. Whet your appetite with one of the "unjustly forgotten" aperitifs, such as bitter Salers or sweet Lillet Blanc, then expect neither a great bargain nor a life-changing meal: the kitchen does simple fare best. Finish with profiteroles (choux pastry filled with ice cream and smothered in hot chocolate sauce). Popular with a post-theater crowd, Le Grand Colbert is also a pleasant destination between 3 and 6 pm for rich hot chocolate and cakes.

    Restaurant Details

  • Credit cards accepted.
Updated: 02-19-2014

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Le Grand Colbert Review

    My wife and I celebrated our anniversary here and had a great experience. Food was expensive but oh so tasty. Our dining neighbors -- from Montreal and Pakistan--joined in the celebration and we all had a great time. Service was on the mark and timely.
    Can't wait to return

    by jsydell, 8/1/11
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Le Grand Colbert Review

    My 25th Wedding Anniversary gave my wife and I the excuse to revisit Paris and this one of our favourite restraunts. The decor is fab, the atmosphere wonderfully parisienne and the service wonderfully. The seafood platters are to die for, but the very best item on the (laminated) Menu has to the Chateaubriand steak, which was quick simply the best steak we have ever had!!

    Loved it, loved it, loved it, can't wait to go back. x

    by BillPaterson, 3/30/10
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Le Grand Colbert Review

    Excellent food, not badly priced, gorgeous decor, a flurry with leafy palms, space per table, and gilded ceilings. Not a cheap meal, but well priced for what you get.

    by LuluPetunia, 1/22/10
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Le Grand Colbert Review

    We visited September 28, 2009. As in the movie, I expected to order the best roast chicken in Paris. The restaurant was rather seedy. Our seat cushion was torn, with the stuffing coming out. Service and food were awful. Chicken was not roasted with crisp skin but cut up in a dark gravy, even though he told me they had roast chicken. Husband's food was very average. Note: Nothing but Americans in the restaurant. The poster of the movie Something's Gotta Give in the window should have given us a clue of tourist trap. Restaurant chosen by movie clearly for the lovely gaslights in the restaurant.

    by hopefulparisvisit, 10/25/09
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Le Grand Experience

    This is where Paris locales go to celebrate a special night out. Our group of 5 had two Americans and 3 locals. We all enjoyed our food, the sharp service and the friendly atmosphere. This is not a place for pretentious tourists trying to impress themselves. This is the place to go to share an evening with friends. The menu options are plentiful and each of us had different starters and main dishes. They were all quite tasty and good sized. I rated the food a 4 of 5, only because it is not "haute cuisine". But the restaurant does not claim to be one of that genre. You won't find a more comfortable, enjoyable larger restaurant in Paris. Ignore the other reviews, the "daring" menu choices proved the best.

    by ashowstopper, 11/23/07
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Not what it used to be

    I've been going to Le Grand Colbert for years, and it has changed. Not only was the food terrible, but they also tried to pretend that tips were not included and were bullying the American diners for more money.

    by ruebac, 6/22/07
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    For that first night in Paris

    Le Grand Colbert is a wonderful restaurant for that first night in Paris or that not too expensive celebration. Located on rue Vivienne it is easy to find being "Just behind the Palais Royal". The atmosphere is in the tradition of the Belle Epoque with marvellous brass lamps,stained glass, ferns etc. The sort of place you hope to find in Paris. Now the food. Well the seafood platters are spectacular with a variety of oysters, shrimps, shellfish etc. They are all presented on a huge plate and are a fantastic sight and delicious. The menu also presents many other options as you would expect in a place like this including a superb creme brulee. You would have to be a food snob not to like this place and hey! if you are, Le Grand Vefour at about four times the price is only two minutes away. My reccomendation. Save your money!

    by DownUnder, 2/19/07

Add your own review

Advertisement

Travel Deals in Paris

View all travel deals
* Some taxes, fees additional

View more trip reports

View more travel discussions

· News & Features

View more blog stories