Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Paris Hotels

Hôtel Saint Jacques

  • 35 rue des Écoles Map It
  • $$
  • Local Flavor

Pros

  • Unique Parisian decor
  • Close to Latin Quarter sights
  • Free Wi-Fi

Cons

  • Busy street makes it noisy in summer
  • Thin walls between rooms
  • Decor need refurbishment

Updated 02/19/2014

Fodor's Review

Nearly every wall in this Latin Quarter hotel is bedecked with faux-marble and trompe-l'oeil murals. As in many older Paris hotels, each room is unique, but Second Empire furnishings and paintings dominate. A Montmartre cabaret atmosphere enlivens the breakfast room. Wi-Fi is available in the lounge bar. About half the rooms have tiny step-out balconies that give a glimpse of Notre-Dame and the Panthéon. Room No. 25 has a wraparound balcony, and No. 16 is popular for

its historic ceiling fresco and moldings.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

35 rue des Écoles, 5e, Paris, 75005, France

Map It

Phone:

/01–44–07–45–45

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 38 rooms

Updated 02/19/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Paris

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 27, 2012

Hotel St Jacques' Location is Perfection

We have recently returned from Paris, staying in the Latin Quarter at Hotel St Jacques. We liked it a lot. The location was especially good for us. Lots of little cafes, bars, and very good restaurants within a couple of blocks up the hill. While there, we looked in other nearby hotels, but none were cuter IMHO, and most were more expensive. Our room had a twin and a double bed, a small marble fireplace, a desk, a clothes armoire, a narrow balcony

with a pretty street view in all directions. Breakfast was offered for 14EU, but we went to nearby cafes, instead, and never checked out the hotel breakfast. Le Coupe-Chou and Le Petite Prince de Paris-- both wonderful restaurants-- are on the same street about two blocks up from the St Jacques. Blvd St Germain is two blocks or so down the hill. Several markets for fresh fruit, pastries, and coffee are within a block. The Sorbonne and Palais Luxembourg are an easy walk, as are Notre Dame and Hotel de Ville. I reserved the Hotel St Jacques on-line, well in advance, for 193 EU, including wi-fi and all taxes, with a free cancellation policy. Front desk personnel speak English, and were very friendly and helpful. They arranged a shuttle to CDG, for 18 EU apiece, which was a great deal, considering how long the drive was.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 15, 2007

Travelbound44

Excellent location. The staff was very helpful and made us feel very comfortable. Would stay here first when we go back to Paris.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 13, 2005

First trip to Paris...

Just got back from our first trip to Paris and we loved the Hotel St Jacques! We stayed 7 nights on the first floor and had no problems with street noise. The room was a very large double with a beautiful bathroom. Great location and a good price. After visiting southern France we returned for 2 more nights at St Jacques. We stayed on the top floor which meant a short walk-up from the 4th (elevator only to the 4th floor), but it was worth it.

Finally the balcony I'd wanted! The room was smaller, but I'm definitely booking earlier next time to guarantee a balcony - it made it feel like the classic French 'experience'.

Read More

By Linda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 21, 2004

A Wonderful Introduction to Paris

A friend and I enjoyed room #25 for five nights this September. A good hotel in a fun and centrally located neighbourhood, with friendly staff. Our only complaint was the noise at night from roving groups of students (?)partying on the street - bring year ear plugs and a sense of humour!

By Julie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 6, 2004

Skip the St. Jacques

I am shocked this hotel received a star from Fodor's. It was undeniably one of the worst hotel experiences in Paris (and beyond). Beware of Room No. 9 - on two of our four nights, the room shook violently from 8:30pm to after midnight. Seems Room No. 9 is above a restaurant that enjoys doing its laundry or running some large equipment late at night. When we complained to the hotel, they refused to move us to another room for our stay nor allow us

to check out early w/o penalty - all they agreed to do was let us sleep in another room (which we would promptly have to leave at noon when new guests arrived). Because the hallways are so narrow too, expect to hear plenty from your neighbors - conversations & "other" amorous sounds. Other negatives - one tiny bar of soap and small packet of shampoo left by the maid during our entire stay and a shower door that was falling off the track. To be balanced, the hotel was clean, the service was polite at best, though not accomodating, and our balcony was pretty. These, however, definitely did not outweigh the negatives. There are many better hotels and even hostels that give you more for your dollar in Paris... do not be lulled by these reviews as I was.

Read More

By Jim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 30, 2003

No Cary - but still Worthwhile

Great place to stay and explore the Latin Quarter and the two Isles. Exquisite ceiling molding, and the door lock mechanism was quite intriguing. We watched the movie before going (Charade) - the hotel looks much better now. Several wonderful restaurants were "found" on nearby sidestreets. For a 2* price, quite a bargain. Looked every bit as nice as the 3* hotels in the same block.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement