Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Passport: Your weekly travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration

Paris Restaurants

Taillevent

  • 15 rue Lamennais Map It
  • Champs-Élysées

Updated 02/19/2014

Fodor's Review

Perhaps the most traditional—for many diners this is only high praise—of all Paris luxury restaurants, this grande dame basks in renewed freshness under brilliant chef Alain Solivérès, who draws inspiration from the Basque country, Bordeaux, and Languedoc for his daily menu. Traditional dishes such as scallops meunière (with butter and lemon) are matched with contemporary choices like a splendid spelt risotto with truffles and frogs' legs or panfried duck liver with caramelized fruits and vegetables. One of the 19th-century paneled salons has been turned into a winter garden, and contemporary paintings adorn the walls. The service is flawless, and the exemplary wine list is well priced. All in all, a meal here comes as close to the classic haute-cuisine experience as you can find in Paris. There's an €102 lunch menu and special wine "degustation" evenings, pairing food with exceptional wines from their legendary cave for €180.

Restaurant Information

Address:

15 rue Lamennais, 8e, Paris, 75008, France

Map It

Phone:

/01–44–95–15–01

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Closed weekends and Aug.
  • Reservations essential

Updated 02/19/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

  • Service

Jul 7, 2012

Taillevent Review

I visited there with my daughter on 6/21/12 at 2100 for a special father/daughter celebration while she was studying in Paris. The food was very good, atmosphere special, but my server was incredibly rude. Glad I went once; will never go again.

  • Décor

  • Food

  • Value

  • Service

Jun 15, 2009

Perfect

A most memorable dinner -- way beyond special occasion. Incredible epauture du pays de sault en risotto aux girolles. And les fromages nearly drove me to a Meg Ryan imitation

By brettb

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Jan 14, 2008

Unforgettable

Taillevent is simply spectacular. My wife and I enjoyed a 70 Euro lunch there, and could not have asked for more. My wife claims that the risotto with shrimp is the best food she has ever eaten, and my pheasant foie gras ravioli was not far behind. The sommelier was extremely helpful, choosing a glass of wine to match both of our plates. We had a wonderful 2 1/2 hours in Taillevent, and if we ever return to Paris, we will surely return. Very

sad news at the passing of M. Vrinat though. He truly created a wonderful establishment.

Read More

By Rottmom

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Nov 16, 2007

Dining Heaven

My friend and I celebrated our respective 60th birthdays at Taillevent. M.Vrinat made sure we had a celebration we will always happily remember. Food definitely up to the highest expectations, as was the service. The extra dessert and cognac were unexpected but much appreciated birthday surprises. Can't wait to go back!

By chevre

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Aug 1, 2007

The Best of Restaurant Experiences!

I had the opportunity to eat lunch at Taillevent in 2005 and it was great. Dinner however was one of the best restaurant experiences I have ever had. I went to celebrate my birthday. As has already been stated the wait staff was incredible. Flawless English and convivial, not stuffy, but not intrusive. The sommellier came to the table knowing our order to help with wine pairing. We know wine and had him suggest the bottle. It was perfect. The food

was classic French and amazing. Though we never told anyone it was my birthday, I believe an assistant waiter overheard us talking about it. A beautiful sugar sculpture came to the table to celebrate the day. M. Vrinant greeted all of his guests and at the end of the evening came by with a bottle of cognac and three glasses for a birthday toast. It was perfection! There are hipper places in Paris but I'm not in my 20's anyway. This for me was the perfect way to celebrate a birthday in Paris!

Read More
  • Food

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Feb 2, 2007

Stellar

Wonderful food with the most hospitable restaurant staff. Talivent is a "once in a lifetime" experience which I hope to experience on more occassions. It's not to be missed if you are in Paris and have the time (and money).

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement

Love To Travel?

Get FREE e-mail communications from Fodor's Travel, covering must-see travel destinations, expert trip planning advice, and travel inspiration to fuel your passion.

How we use your email

Thank You

Now sit back, relax, and check your inbox to start planning your next travel adventure.

Please tell us more about the type of travel you're interested in. Check all that apply.