Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Passport: Your weekly travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration

Paris Restaurants

Le Grand Colbert

  • 2 rue Vivienne Map It
  • Around the Louvre

Updated 02/19/2014

Fodor's Review

One of the few independently owned brasseries left in Paris, Le Grand Colbert, with its globe lamps and ceiling moldings, feels grand yet not overpolished. It attracts a wonderfully Parisian mix of elderly lone diners, business lunchers, tourists, and couples, all of whom come for the enormous seafood platters, duck foie gras with Sauternes jelly, and steak tartare, as well as a few southern-influenced dishes. Whet your appetite with one of the "unjustly forgotten" aperitifs, such as bitter Salers or sweet Lillet Blanc, then expect neither a great bargain nor a life-changing meal: the kitchen does simple fare best. Finish with profiteroles (choux pastry filled with ice cream and smothered in hot chocolate sauce). Popular with a post-theater crowd, Le Grand Colbert is also a pleasant destination between 3 and 6 pm for rich hot chocolate and cakes.

Restaurant Information

Address:

2 rue Vivienne, 2e, Paris, 75002, France

Map It

Phone:

/01–42–86–87–88

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted

Updated 02/19/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Paris

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By jsydell

  • Décor

  • Food

  • Value

  • Service

Aug 1, 2011

Le Grand Colbert Review

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary here and had a great experience. Food was expensive but oh so tasty. Our dining neighbors -- from Montreal and Pakistan--joined in the celebration and we all had a great time. Service was on the mark and timely. Can't wait to return

  • Value

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Food

Mar 30, 2010

Le Grand Colbert Review

My 25th Wedding Anniversary gave my wife and I the excuse to revisit Paris and this one of our favourite restraunts. The decor is fab, the atmosphere wonderfully parisienne and the service wonderfully. The seafood platters are to die for, but the very best item on the (laminated) Menu has to the Chateaubriand steak, which was quick simply the best steak we have ever had!! Loved it, loved it, loved it, can't wait to go back. x

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Jan 22, 2010

Le Grand Colbert Review

Excellent food, not badly priced, gorgeous decor, a flurry with leafy palms, space per table, and gilded ceilings. Not a cheap meal, but well priced for what you get.

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Oct 25, 2009

Le Grand Colbert Review

We visited September 28, 2009. As in the movie, I expected to order the best roast chicken in Paris. The restaurant was rather seedy. Our seat cushion was torn, with the stuffing coming out. Service and food were awful. Chicken was not roasted with crisp skin but cut up in a dark gravy, even though he told me they had roast chicken. Husband's food was very average. Note: Nothing but Americans in the restaurant. The poster of the movie Something's

Gotta Give in the window should have given us a clue of tourist trap. Restaurant chosen by movie clearly for the lovely gaslights in the restaurant.

Read More
  • Food

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Nov 23, 2007

Le Grand Experience

This is where Paris locales go to celebrate a special night out. Our group of 5 had two Americans and 3 locals. We all enjoyed our food, the sharp service and the friendly atmosphere. This is not a place for pretentious tourists trying to impress themselves. This is the place to go to share an evening with friends. The menu options are plentiful and each of us had different starters and main dishes. They were all quite tasty and good sized. I rated

the food a 4 of 5, only because it is not "haute cuisine". But the restaurant does not claim to be one of that genre. You won't find a more comfortable, enjoyable larger restaurant in Paris. Ignore the other reviews, the "daring" menu choices proved the best.

Read More

By ruebac

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Jun 22, 2007

Not what it used to be

I've been going to Le Grand Colbert for years, and it has changed. Not only was the food terrible, but they also tried to pretend that tips were not included and were bullying the American diners for more money.

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Feb 19, 2007

For that first night in Paris

Le Grand Colbert is a wonderful restaurant for that first night in Paris or that not too expensive celebration. Located on rue Vivienne it is easy to find being "Just behind the Palais Royal". The atmosphere is in the tradition of the Belle Epoque with marvellous brass lamps,stained glass, ferns etc. The sort of place you hope to find in Paris. Now the food. Well the seafood platters are spectacular with a variety of oysters, shrimps, shellfish

etc. They are all presented on a huge plate and are a fantastic sight and delicious. The menu also presents many other options as you would expect in a place like this including a superb creme brulee. You would have to be a food snob not to like this place and hey! if you are, Le Grand Vefour at about four times the price is only two minutes away. My reccomendation. Save your money!

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement

Love To Travel?

Get FREE e-mail communications from Fodor's Travel, covering must-see travel destinations, expert trip planning advice, and travel inspiration to fuel your passion.

How we use your email

Thank You

Now sit back, relax, and check your inbox to start planning your next travel adventure.

Please tell us more about the type of travel you're interested in. Check all that apply.