Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

London Restaurants

Restaurant Gordon Ramsay

  • 68 Royal Hospital Rd. Map It
  • French

Updated 03/06/2014

Fodor's Review

Modest Gordon Ramsay protégée and head chef Clare Smyth wins 3-stars and the highest Michelin award in London at this special-occasion show stopper near Chelsea Embankment. It's mighty hard to book a table at anything like short notice, so if you do bag a seat you'd be slightly mad not to splurge on the £120 seven-course tasting menu, where you'll experience divine dishes like lobster ravioli with chervil sauce, Bresse pigeon with date and polenta, and Cornish turbot

with girolles, followed perhaps by a dessert of Agen prune crème brûlée. There's an incoming battalion of amuse bouche at every meal, service is neat and tidy, and the wine list goes on forever.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

68 Royal Hospital Rd., London, SW3 4HP, England

Map It

Phone:

020-7352–4441

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Closed weekends
  • Reservations essential

Updated 03/06/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By George

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 21, 2006

As good as it gets.

Richly deserving of its reputation as one of the finest restaurants in the world.

By Jeanne

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 2, 2004

You will not be disappointed!

Everything we ordered was delicious & I can't say enough about the service. Very friendly, helpful & inobtrusive. Not crazy about some of the complimentary courses, but that was just me. Everyone else at our table enjoyed them.

By scott

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 8, 2004

Nice Wine List

and that is the best I can offer up. I found the 80 pound tasting menu to be inspired in concept, but lacking in execution. You would at least expect the fish course to be fresh. Service was well meaning, but quite honestly intrusive. It appears a restaurant resting on its laurels. Living in California the past few years has made me less slavish to dress codes, but you would think they would offer jackets to those that show up in ragged jeans and

old t-shirts.

Read More

By Anthony

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 14, 2003

Ramsay's original is still the greatest

This is definitely the best retaurant in London. It may be a sign of the times that you can ring up Gordon Ramsay in Chelsea and get a table the same day. We had dinner there this evening and were not disappointed. Gordon Ramsay now boasts two offshoots in London and another in one of the gulf states. This is te first Godon Ramsay restaurant and it sets the standard for the others to aim at. Now the executive Chef is Martin Askew and you could ask

whether Gordon Ramsay, a former Glasgow Rangers soccer player has possibly too many balls in the air. From the Fodor's rants and raves you might think that he has taken a step backwards in his cooking, but not this evening. The food was simply great. The restaurant is small and modern, tucked away in Chelsea (the set lunch is a bargain) the decor is glass panels, glass ornaments and discreet lighting. You will be met by the maitre D, Jean Claude who will talk you through the menu, the sommelier will choose you a great wine to suit your budget and you will be amused and delighted by the 'amuse geules' and other delights which arrive between your chosen courses. Tonight our unexpected courses included a cup of swede soup with shitake mushrooms, honey and truffle oil; and a granny smith apple compote with yoghurt , granita and a sugared mint leaf. Excellent! As for the lobster ravioli, the scallops, the pigeon and foie gras, the three duck plate, the turbot in red wine sauce, they were all beautifully presented and Gordon Ramsay really brings out the flavours. The dress code is not too formal but it is both relaxed and reasonably smart. They now have two sittings so it is slightly less relaxed than it used to be but the service is impeccable and the staff know their stuff. This is an experience you should remember with great pleasure.

Read More

By Barbara

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 15, 2003

Overrated and Pretentious

My husband and I had dinner here almost 3 years ago. We couldn't have been more disappoited, after all the good things we had heard about the restaurant. The food was mediocre, and the service was laughingly over-the-top pretentious. And don't forget that, for all of this, you pay top dollar. Do yourself a favor and don't go.

By Richard

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 2, 2002

Shirtsleeves and smoking spoil it

Somewhat off the beaten track deep in Chelsea, this storefront location does not make a good impression. The tables are fairly close together making for somewhat tight seating. Our late March, 2002 full bore tasting dinner started out with a consomme that was totally forgettable. The meal improved after that culminating in a venison and chocolate(!) main dish that was memorable. Desserts were good but we were so stuffed by then, it is hard to recall

them. This meal with a glass of wine and tips came to well over $300 for two. Knowing that this meal would be a highlight of our London stay, I wore my carefully preserved suit and my wife was also suitably dressed. What a waste of effort! The majority of the other patrons were in shirtsleeves and most of them smoked. The women seemed to be dressed suitably but their companions appeared to be playing out an anti-establishment macho trend that was not discouraged by the restaurant. There were ashtrays and matches at each table. So if you're looking for a special evening in London you might consider another venue.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 2, 2001

Yum Yum

Great experience for a delightful evening with superb food and excellent service.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement