Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

London Hotels

The Connaught

  • The Connaught, Mayfair

    Courtesy of The Connaught

  • The Connaught, Mayfair

    Courtesy of The Connaught

Pros

  • Legendary hotel
  • Great for star-spotting

Cons

  • History comes at a price
  • Bathrooms are small

Updated 02/28/2014

Fodor's Review

A huge favorite of the "we wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else" monied set since its opening in 1917, the Connaught has many dazzlingly modern compliments to its famously historic delights. These include up-to-date rooms done in smooth taupes and creams and—the ultimate sign of devil-may-care swagger—a swanky bar with patinum-plated walls. Chef Hélène Darroze runs the titual, Michelin-starred restaurant; alternatively, the afternoon tea (around £35) is a great

splurge. Incidentally, as ever with blue bloods, the clue is in the name–this elegant hotel was named in honor of Queen Victoria's son, the Duke of Connaught.

Read More

Hotel Award Winner | 2012

Hotel Information

Address:

Carlos Pl., London, W1K 2AL, England

Map It

Phone:

020-7499–7070; 866-599–6991-in U.S.

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 87 rooms, 34 suites
  • Breakfast

Updated 02/28/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 23, 2014

I'm in Love with the Connaught!

What a wonderful place to stay in London! I arrived early morning in London and went to the Connaught to check my things. Of course room wasn't ready (it was 7:30 AM)so the lovely staff offered me both tea and an umbrella before setting off on my day of meetings. I returned in the evening to enjoy a cocktail at the beautiful bar which had been decorated for Christmas (along with the hotel). And I was absolutely delighted with my room which was

both gorgeous and comfortable. My only regret was that I had but one night here. However, I do plan to return with my family on our next trip to London. The location cannot be beat.

Read More

By Art

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 2, 2005

Home Away From Home

I am also a bit perplexed at some of the service-related comments made by other posters. I've stayed at a number of other London hotels, including the Savoy, and found the service at the Connaught to be superior. My wife and I had our second stay at the Connaught last summer and were joined a couple of days later by friends. Both couples found the rooms to be comfortable and the service to be excellent. This hotel is like a small club. Guests are

made to feel comfortable and the British ambience permeates the hotel. My only complaint is that the British don't seem to have caught on to the fact that smoking is passe and annoys non-smoking guests.

Read More

By scott

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 24, 2004

Spectacular London Lodging

Please see my review posted at Claridge's.

By Thomas

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 21, 2003

Home away from Home

I must admit to surprise at negative comments about the Connaught. We had not stayed there before, but the Victorian atmosphere put us in the mood for long, lovely strolls through Mayfair. The restaurant, service and food, were wonderful. Our room was cozy and proper. The staff were most helpful, including our young waiter at the bar, who remembered our drink preference on the second day of our visit, without prompting. We felt as though we were coming

home to a club, of which we were exclusive members. The concierge service wasn't the best we've dealt with, but otherwise, a great hotel. We'll be back.

Read More

By Evelyn

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 15, 2002

Not for the young crowd.

My boyfriend and I wanted to experience the refined atmosphere of the bar we've heard so much about. So after dinner we went to the Connaught for a drink. It was about 11pm and there were only a party of 4 in the bar. Before we even got to the door to the bar, a man who seemed to be either the supervisor or the manager looked us up and down and asked if he can help us. We told them we would like to have a drink in the bar and one of the other

men with him motioned us into the room. The manager whispered something to the other guy and left. You know when you are not wanted or something is not right. Sure enough, a couple of minutes later, the waiter in the room came over and told us that he would be more than happy to serve us in the lobby, but could not in the bar (he was very apologetic and you know he didn't want to tell us). Now, we've been to plenty of places in the world where a tie is necessary and if they had just been upfront about it in the first place, I would not have been so upset. We were not underdressed - my boyfriend had on a Zegna jacket and slacks, just not a tie; I had on a cashmere sweater set with dark capri and Jimmy Choo sandals. I'm not sure if it was snobbiness on their part (the look from the manager and the fact that he wouldn't talk to us directly would indicate that) or the fact that this was all because of the lack of a tie (other places I've been to would have offered a loaner) or that we look young (we're Asians and we could pass for college age even though we're both in our mid-30's). Whatever the reason, we probably won't go back again for a long time, if ever!

Read More

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 21, 2002

A Puzzle and a Sad Ending

Of the Savoy-Claridges-Connaught grouping I always wanted to stay at The Connaught. In 1979, I had an excellent lunch with a friend freshly arrived from Melbourne,and after many good meals in their fine restaurant,the desire took root for spending some nights there. Half a dozen visits to the other two (Claridges is just a bit better than Savoy) left me booking The Connaught for a weekend, but the small room, and the cranky service, and the unworldly

breakfast leave me stunned. I suppose small rooms happen (but not yet at The Savoy and Claridges). Friends joined me for Sunday breakfast, where the coffee was boiled (and plunger coffee a novelty for the staff), the food and service cool,and we were hurried away at 10.45 so the staff could set up for Sunday lunch. Given two hours notice to get my suitcase to be at the door, it wasn't there when the cab arrived at 1pm. When the bag eventually was found, the cabbie was grumpy, and the porter was even more surprised that I took the view that their failure to handle the simple task of getting my stuff to the front door did not constitute "service" My advice would be for travellers to rely on Claridges/Savoy and leave The Connaught to The Gentry.

Read More

By Frank

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 31, 2001

Wonderful!

Came up to all of my (rather high) expectations. I found the least expensive single very spacious, attractive and thoroughly comfortable. Service impeccable. I don’t understand all this talk about « stuffiness. » I found the staff impeccably warm and eager to help at every turn. Coming from Paris and interested in food, I feel qualified to say that the Michelin star for the Connault restaurant is amply merited. Further, staff

seemed particularly open to weekend and off-season (a necessity for my budget), when available, making the Connault a sometimes great value for money, as well.

Read More

By Michael

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 16, 2001

Ever wonder how a Duke feels in his own home?

Simply outstanding in every way. The service was gracious, prompt and courteous without being pushy. Every whim was catered for. Food, rooms, bars and facilities all excellent.

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 26, 2000

You Connaught Go Wrong Here!

If being treated like a pampered guest in a duke's country house is your idea of a pleasant hotel stay, then The Connaught is the place for you. Non-stuffy elegance and sincere, attentive service are the hallmarks of this wonderful establishment. Its awesome reputation is more than deserved, and with "specials" offered several times during the year, a stay here is not much dearer than in an ordinary London hotel. Top-drawer in every regard.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement