Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Brussels Restaurants

Aux Armes de Bruxelles

Updated 10/17/2013

Fodor's Review

A reliable choice among the many tourist traps of the Ilôt Sacré, this kid-friendly restaurant attracts a largely local clientele with its slightly tarnished middle-class elegance and Belgian classics: turbot waterzooi (stew), a variety of steaks, and mussels prepared every conceivable way. The place is cheerful and light, and service is bustling but friendly.

Restaurant Information

Address:

rue des Bouchers 13, Brussels, B1000, Belgium

Map It

Phone:

02-511–5550

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Closed for 4 wks around July

Updated 10/17/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Brussels

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By jholc

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 31, 2008

Not impressed

I ate dinner here a few years ago. I was told that it was the favorite of the locals. I found the servers to be very rude and the food was mediocre at best. I felt as though they were rushing me so that they could get more customers. I would not eat here again.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 3, 2007

One of the best restuarants, year after year

I was lucky enough to be introduced to this restuarant as a teenager, some 30 years ago, and at every opportunity whenever in Brussels I have always returned. It is by far one of th emost enjoyable places to eat - yes, the restuarant is busy, but that is typically Belgian, and it is what makes the country so enjoyable. The seafood is as good as you will find anywhere, the decor is original 30s, and I and the people who have been there with me over

the years have always really enjoyed it. If you like Belgium, you will love this restuarant.

Read More

By Jeff

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 30, 2005

Rude Service, Chaotic and Average Food

I was sorely disappointed with this restaurant. I agree with the previous person who commented about the rude service. The waiter was more than rude, he was hostile. I was expecting a great meal, but I did not get it here. The food was average and not hot. It was extremely crowded, which I expected for the Ilot Sacre. I would not eat here again or recommend this restaurant to anyone.

By Robert

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 1, 2004

Style and Panache

Great atmosphere - you could die for the asparagus soup (simply stunning). Very good value set menus - even the cheap set menu (4 courses 29euros) includes devine crepe Suzette. The service is professional and very attentive.

By Joanne

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 9, 2003

Not bad for restaurant row

Good, dependable food in a very touristy area. Packed with people every night.

By Rod

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 19, 2001

Mussels in Brussels

I went to Brussels twice a year on business for 13 years and very seldom missed a meal here. Their mussels are probably best in the world. Plenty of other very good European style dishes. If you're an authentic art deco fan, this is your place - don't miss the men's room. Service is New York style so you have to push the waiters - then it's very good.

By Edwin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 2, 2001

Great Place!

We had a very nice dinner over here. For European standards Brussels in general is rather expensive as far as dining is concerned. This place is absolutely wordt the money. I would say it is better then places like l'Ogenblik which is even more expensive. Some of the readers comment the noise but I think the liveliness is one of its attractions. If you dont like that you should not visit a place like this. If you want to a place where a lot of local

come as well this the place to be.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement