Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Brussels Hotels

Welcome Hotel

  • rue du Peuplier 5 Map It
  • $$
  • Design
  • Fodor's Choice

Pros

  • Fantastic décor
  • Lovely staff

Cons

  • Rooms fill up quickly
  • Some of them lack a/c

Updated 10/17/2013

Fodor's Review

Among the many charms of the smallest hotel in Brussels are the incredibly friendly young owners, Michel and Sophie Smeesters. The rooms, divided into economy, business, and first class, are as comfortable as those in far more expensive establishments. Each is strikingly decorated to evoke a certain place; the Bali and China rooms are particularly lovely, with their masks and dragon motifs. The owners are constantly working on new upgrades and improvements, making this

place more welcoming all the time. The Belgium room is intended for families, and deluxe rooms have whirlpool baths. Airport transfers are also offered.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

rue du Peuplier 5, Brussels, B1000, Belgium

Map It

Phone:

02-219–9546

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 14 rooms, 3 suites
  • Breakfast

Updated 10/17/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Brussels

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 11, 2010

Welcome Hotel Review

Stayed at 2 different rooms the first week in Oct. Indonesia and India. India was an upgrade. It was a little bigger. Great location. Fun decor.

By Kevin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 23, 2006

WE LOVED IT!

Our first encounter was Michel standing in the street to wave our taxi driver in. They had kept the hotel open past closing time for us. The service from the staff was just as excellent. It's fun to stay here -- a different, just a bit funky experience. The location is perfect. We walked everywhere -- to all the sights, the shopping, restaurants. My son & I arrived after 3 weeks in Italy, stayed 2 nights and felt refreshed for our flight home. I recommend

using the hotel's airport shuttle. Brussels is a lovely city.

Read More

By Eric

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 14, 2006

A Must Stay For The European Experience

The creative traveler will love this hotel. The Welcome Hotel is an "experience" and not simply a place to sleep. The facility is clean, delightful, unique and the breakfasts are amazing.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 20, 2006

Great Place to Stay

My husband and I stayed in the Egypt room, which is huge and has a great view of the square in front. We had a wonderful time and would stay here again. Very convenient location and wonderful people.

By Carole

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 24, 2006

My favorite B&B in Brussels

What a wonderful place to stay. It's a B&B, clean, quaint, quirky--not the 4 Seasons. The staff was gracious and charming and helped us find the bicycle museum in Oudenaarde! We split our stay and did 3 nites in Marrakesh and 3 nites in Tahiti. A full breakfast was a pleasant surprise since we were only expecting coffee and croissant. The location right in front of the Metro stop is a bonus, as is its wonderful location in the Fish Market area.

If they had a glass of wine available in the dining area around 6PM, that would be heaven!

Read More

By Sabrina

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 3, 2006

"Welcome" is the operative word....

My son and I have always enjoyed our stays at the Welcome Hotel, but this Christmas was incredible with a great view of the Christmas Market from our window, and of course, our Silk Road "suite" - which was absolutely gorgeous - and to top it off a jacuzzi tub big enough to swim in, and a European Spa Shower for those nights when your muscles and feet were aching from the miles and miles of marching and climbing through the streets of Brussels...all

well worth it! They added more items to their breakfast which was a very nice change, as well as the coffee was "delish!" I love their coffee!!! As always I look forward to my next stay!

Read More

By Dick

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 10, 2005

Still a great place, but the review is outdated

Thanks to Rick Steves, I learned of the Hotel Welcome five or six years ago. I've been there about that many times since then. All of the raves are true. But, the restaurant has closed and been converted into the Hotel's reception and breakfast areas. The entrance is now where the restaurant entrance was, so the street address has changed (see their site). I wouldn't take highly energetic kids there; the rooms are charming, but a bit cozy.

The service is extrememly helpful. The location is great. I highly recommend it.

Read More

By Gary

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 27, 2005

Hotel Welcome & Music Museum at at the TOP

Michel and the entire staff made our stay extremely enjoyable. All their suggestions on what to see and where to eat were "right on". The rooms (we had to do two for our two nights) were quite sufficient, charmingly furnished and an excellent bargain. With this said, and the very convenient location, we wouldn't think of staying anywhere else in Brussels, and I've told many others already.

By Lin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 17, 2005

High End Hippie Hotel

Brussels is not Paris and charm is not all that easy to find. The Welcome has plenty, plus an excellent location near great shops, restaurants and transportation, and a helpful multi-lingual staff. My only gripe was that there was insufficient bureau/armoire space in our room (i.e. none.)

By elinor

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 11, 2005

couldn't be better

very comfortable room, very friendly and informative

By James

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 22, 2005

As Good As Its Excellent Reviews

After having read some great things about this hotel, I found that it definitely lived up to my expectations. If you're visiting Brussels on your own or with a companion, you can't do better than this.

By Diane

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 13, 2005

Welcome at the Welcome!

We truly enjoyed our stay a the Welcome Hotel in Brussels. From the time we booked the stay until the time we checked out, the staff was helpful and friendly. When our trip itinerary changed due to snow closing the airport in one of the other cities we were visiting, I called Vanessa at the Welcome Hotel from the airport in London. When she wasn't sure that she would be able to provide a room, she assured us that she would find us accommodations for

the night even if they couldn't do it. They were able to get us a room. The room was lovely...we enjoyed the special decor of the Thailand room. Everyone we saw at the front desk was exceptionally friendly and helpful, giving us ideas on what to see, giving us walking directions and even booking restaurant reservations for us. We would highly recommend the Welcome Hotel for your next visit to Brussels.

Read More

By jan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 7, 2005

They made us feel welcome

The hotel staff were delightful, the location was charming, the room was very interesting and comfortable , the bathroom quite beautiful, and the breakfast was great

By Tina

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 14, 2005

A truely unique Welcome

The Welcome Hotel has everything - very original and beautiful rooms, each with a different theme (India, China, Bali etc.); very friendly staff and a great location near all the main sights and restaurants. After many years of enduring dull, corporate hotels in Brussels, it was wonderful to find a place that is truely unique where one can feel a little bit like home.

By Shari

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 3, 2005

Feeling Welcome in Brussels

We stayed at the Welcome Hotel in December, a welcome change indeed from the vanilla hotel we'd been earlier. Our room, Tibet, was nicely furnished and decorated, if a bit rough around the edges. We enjoyed the terrace (although it would be outstanding during the summer) and the heated towel racks. Hair dryer and tv were provided, although more English-speaking news channels would be nice. The staff are very willing to assist and the owners are

as well. The location was excellent, just across St. Catherine Square from the main Metro line and walking distance to both the Grand Place and St. Gery district. We would definitely stay there again!

Read More

By Edith

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 16, 2004

Very friendly staff!

Super nice hotel, with nice rooms and friendly and helpful staff!

By Jeff

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 1, 2004

Friendly, Funky

My rooms -- I stayed twice recently -- were the funkiest I've ever had at a hotel -- in a good sense. I stayed in "Cuba" first, with a mural of old Havana on the wall and a fat cigar painted on the radiator. The opposite of an impersonal box. Second time, in "Thailand", was even better -- on top of a great room, I had a view, through roof-top windows, of the surrounding area of the city. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful.

I thought I was just in Brussels as a way-station between other destinations, but with their help, I discovered and enjoyed the city in an unanticipated way. The location was super for exploring the historical parts of the city. Plus, Vanessa may have helped me unravel the mystery of the origin of my family name, for which I'm very grateful. Great experience. I'd definitely go back.

Read More

By Bernard

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 19, 2004

BRUSSELS' WELCOME HOTEL IS A LITTLE PEARL IN THE HEART OF BRUSSELS

Looking for an exciting adventure in central Brussels on your next trip to this lovely city? If you can book a room at the Smallest Hotel in Brussels, then you will not be disappointed. All the hotel rooms are different from one another. Each room has its own international theme décor. Thus, you may be in China, Japan, Cuba, Provence, or some other interesting environment. All of the rooms have been designed and furnished in a motif depicting

a theme that provides a mood for your visit. These are not cookie cut-out rooms. The owners and staff are more than helpful with your Brussels logistics and perform four-star service for their clients. Our stay was fabulous! Headed to Brussels? Definitely try to add the WELCOME HOTEL to your travel experience!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 6, 2004

Super Service/Super Rooms

Vanessa and Michael are just wonderful host and hostess. My husband and I stayed six nights at the hotel. We enjoyed the service very much. They provided us with not only excellent lodging, postal services, airport transportation, local tourist information and even laundry services. The hotel is located just a walk away from the Grande Square and right along the Fish Market square. The local Metro line is across the street. I highly recommend

this place to all future travelers.

Read More

By Darryl

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 5, 2004

You will really fall in love again

Were not sure if we first fell in love with the hotel and its charming location, or the people that work there or own it. Having a wonderful breakfast of warm fresh buttery croissants and hot coffee, then conversations with Vanessa Crocco  the assistant manager, about the plans of the day, is simply a wonderful way to start any morning! We Americans are spoiled with the size of American hotel rooms. Put that aside now as youre in Europe. Allow

the charm of these individualized rooms to alter your visual senses. Take a moment to see whats been done here, how wonderful it all is. Welcome yourself to Europe then prepare to be spoiled with the convenient physical location of this fine hotel complementing all you may wish to see in Brussels. Then allow your self to be spoiled by the staff as you once more return to the things in life that really matter in these personal touches. We loved the Hotel Welcome, and were sure you will also. We have seen a couple of negative comments and now realize these are just those ugly Americans you hear about. Such a wonderful place!

Read More

By Cynthia

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 21, 2004

Welcome is just what you get at Brussels Welcome Hotel

Although the rooms were not quite what they were cracked up to be, the service was so wonderful and personal that it more than made up for the rooms. Room was a little small (though I consider that the norm in a large European city) and though clearly decorated with loving care, they seemed a little worn. Bathroom was nice, spacious and clean, however. Both the owner and the weekend manager were so personable and did not seem at all put-out by

trying to meet our every request, including providing us an early breakfast since we had to leave to catch a flight before their breakfast opened! Lovely experience; I recommend this hotel highly. Great value for the price!

Read More

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 4, 2003

Friendly Folks in a Fishy Neighborhood

A hotel with surprises - mostly in room decor by "countries" but actually by garage sales - "Kenya", "Indochina" and other exotic places in a three story small hotel in the fish market area. Area is funky but safe, full of fish markets and fish restaurants. Staff are available and helpful, off the beaten path - which is good. Attitude fits its name.

By Owen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 23, 2003

Very "Welcome"

We stayed here in late Oct 2003, both at the start of our holiday for 2 nights (Bali room), then the night before out return flight (Congo). Clean, cozy and friendly would be the quick review. We also loved the neighborhood and would stay there again. Even the cab driver taking us to the airport said "Brussels needs more small hotels like Welcome".

By Wendy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 20, 2002

What a Bargain!

I was a little nervous that the price would reflect the quality. It was so worth it. Although the room was a little small and decorated in a weird safari theme, it was perfectly adequate. Michel, the owner, should be working for the Department of Tourism for Brussels. I have never felt more at home and "Welcomed". We paid for the shuttle service to the airport and Michel drove us himself. He also carried our bags inside the airport and made

sure we knew which way to go. I loved his dog, First, and used her as my surrogate dog while I was on vacation! For the price, the Welcome could not be beat.

Read More

By Jill

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 18, 2001

A Hidden Treasure

What a find! We were lucky enough to get a room on very short notice after someone cancelled and what a break for us. Great location, excellent accomodations, terrific value, and Michel and Sophie to boot!

By Bob

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 1, 2001

Welcome is the Right Name

Found this hotel via Fodors.com; Michael & Sophie Smeesters and their staff very friendly. Charming hotel, each room decorated differently. Very convenient location. Internet-access, plus all the normal services. Now expanded from 6 to 10 rooms. Try it, you'll really like it.

By Luana

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 23, 2000

Cozy and Comfortable

We stayed in one of the larger rooms, which was very comfortable. It was a nice place to unwind after a day of exploring. Good location only 5-10 minute walk to the Grand Place and the metro station is right outside the door.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement