Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Vienna Hotels

Altstadt

Pros

  • Good value
  • Huge rooms
  • Excellent staff
  • Amazing private art collection
  • Breakfast and afternoon tea included in room rate
  • All non-smoking

Cons

  • Some stairs to climb to small reception area
  • Outside the city center

Updated 08/26/2014

Fodor's Review

When contemporary-arts patron Otto E. Wiesenthal hired premier Italian architect Matteo Thun to revamp this lodging, the results were exquisitely-decorated, sensuous chambers oozing atmosphere from the Vienna era of Freud and Klimt. All the guest rooms are large and differ in their color palette, from light, bright classic rooms to Thun's rich, dark designs, but all have up-to-the-minute comforts. The display of modern art throughout adds character and style. The cozy

red lounge and bar has a fireplace and piano.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Kirchengasse 41, Vienna, A-1070, Austria

Map It

Phone:

01-526–33–990

Website: www.altstadt.at

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 42 rooms
  • Breakfast

Updated 08/26/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Vienna

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 9, 2012

Altstadt Review

Very handy location for visiting the museums and some of the major art galleries and an easy walk to the central old town (20 mins or so). Staff very friendly, spoke excellent English and were on the money regarding Christmas market recommendations. My flight arrived late in the evening, and although the hotel had no restaurant where one could have dinner, the staff rustled up a toasted sandwich (which was priced very reasonably) and delivered it

to my room. Rooms are a good size (and nicely decorated), the hotel has twin bed room options, however, the bathroom in our room was extremely small. We particularly loved the lounge area (one of 3 rooms which one could have breakfast in) which had a lit fire which was great in December, all the original art, and that the hotel offered afternoon tea (for free) between 4-6pm. Would recommend that the hotel books your taxi to and from the airport as the company it uses is cheaper than flagging a taxi at the airport. If you are booking a flight through BA, you can get an extremely good room rate which includes breakfast (which was excellent).

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 23, 2009

Altstadt Review

Yes, the hotel's architecture is splendid. It's got a boutique feel. And the area is good. But: the hotel staff rank in friendliness somewhere below a Soviet border guard and in vindictiveness not far above a class action lawyer. It would deserve a 4 rating overall without the staff.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 28, 2007

The Icing on The Cake

Just returned from a wonderful stay at Altstadt. Everything everyone else has written is correct, wonderful room, we were upgraded to a suite - yea! the breakfast was a delightful buffet, where you were able to pick which cozy room you wanted to dine. They also have tea and coffee from 3-7pm, which is included in the price. Last but not least, the free computer/internet service was a hit, I was able to stay in touch with family w/o leaving my hotel.

I plan on going back to Vienna during Waltz season and this will be the only place I will stay!

Read More

By Jacqui

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 6, 2005

nice hotel...drab street

I stayed at the Aldstat in Ocotober 2004. Don't be put off by the entrance....which is on a rather drab street. The hotel is very nice with excellent service. The breakfasts were great...and there was free internet service..a real plus when traveling and keeping in touch with everyone back in the States./

By Charles

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 15, 2003

A great value and location

The Alstadt is not a hotel for those seeking hip and happening. Try das Triest for that (great hotel by the way). However, the Alstadt is a great hotel and a great location. Located about a 5 minute walk from the Museum Quarter and the Imperial Palace, the location can hardly be outdone. My room was enormous at a very reasonable European price. The main reason for that is the Alstadt is never going to be the "hot spot" to stay. It is always

predictable and easy. The staff is very responsive and suggested great dinner spots. In addition, they helped me locate some shopping areas for Christmas gifts. The room was large enough for a small family. (It was really a large apartment.) Yet, the rate was the cheapest in all of my fall European excursions (4 of them). The hotel is close to two different U3 stops, and the new City Airport Train is very easy for getting to and from the airport.

Read More

By Steph

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 8, 2003

Warm in Altstadt

I was at Altstadt for about a week. Overall our stay was very pleasant. The room was very nicely done and the staff was very friendly and warm. I agree with a few other reviewers that the enterance is very disappointing. However, I do not know how this can be changed by the hotel staff. The breakfast buffet was delicious and the service was perfect. Since Alstadt does not have Air conditioned rooms, on hot days it became very warm inside the room.

The small table fan provided by the hotel staff was inadequate to cool the room. Larger fans in the rooms might resolve this problem. During my next trip to Vienna I will definitely consider this hotel again, but will rethink about staying here if the weather is expected to be warm.

Read More

By Eric

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 30, 2003

Recommended

Stayed in the suite which is like a very large apartment with a rooftop terrace. High quality surroundings and a perfect breakfast. Nice neighbourhood with arty shops. Not easy to get a room so book ahead.

By Corrado

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 25, 2002

A real treasure!

If you look for standard and anonymous suite, huge lobby, crowded and noisy breakfast room stay right away from Altstadt. This charming pension-hotel is located in a quiet an tipical neighbourhood, just minutes away from the museums, with a lot of good restaurants and shops. Our "White suite" was superb, large, decorated with a strong personality. The staff and the owner were wery friendly and helpful. Great breakfast in a lovely enviroment.

A great deal!

Read More

By Seth

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 5, 2002

Best Breakfast Buffet

Just returned from six days at the Alstadt and it was a great hotel. Clean, good service and an excellent breakfast buffet. Found the location to be very convenient too. Was surprised at the number of really good restuarants in the neighborhood and the front desk was very helpful in providing advice. All-in-all a real gem of a place.

By Robert

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 3, 2000

Not to be missed

This hotel is, indeed, a gem. If you are tired of the cookie-cutter, predictable sameness of mainline hotels with their garish lobbies, you just need to put yourself into this hotel. Small, clean, private, great atmosphere, pleasant service and near great restaurants and museums. Treat yourself!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement