Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

St. Thomas Restaurants

Virgilio's

Updated 03/04/2014

Fodor's Review

For the island's best northern Italian cuisine, don't miss this intimate, elegant hideaway that's on a quiet side street. Eclectic art covers the two-story brick walls, and the sound of opera sets the stage for a memorable meal. Come here for more than 40 homemade pastas topped with superb sauces—capellini with fresh tomatoes and garlic or peasant-style spaghetti in a rich tomato sauce with mushrooms and prosciutto. House specialties include osso buco and tiramisu, which

are expertly crafted by chef Ernesto Garrigos, who has prepared these two dishes on the Discovery Channel's Great Chefs of the World series.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

5150 Dronnigens Gade, Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas, 00802, U.S. Virgin Islands

Map It

Phone:

340-776–4920

Restaurant Details:

  • Closed Sun.
  • Reservations essential

Updated 03/04/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in St. Thomas

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 1, 2010

Virgilio's Review

Previous reviewer preferred Romano's, but we like Virgilios best. Great choice for a main-meal lunch. Decor may give you a seizure, but food is superb, staff is excellent and the air conditioning can be very much appreciated

By bb09

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 4, 2008

First time at Virgilio's

This restaurant got a great review so we thought we would try it - atmosphere and service were fabulous - food was a little above average - liked Romano's so much more

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 18, 2008

The best Italian in the USVI

Attentive and knowledgeable servers; interestingly eclectic decor; incredible fresh food; fits any budget, with prices anywhere from a $15 pasta entree to a $45 veal. The previous reviewer referenced lunch, but it was only open for dinner when we went. We'll be back.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 25, 2006

Good food, centrally located place

We have been here repeatedly mostly during cruises and for lunch. The restaurant has no windows and so it is a bit on the darkish side for lunch. Food is very good, (portions a bit oversized) the service excellent, good italian wine selection. Just a few steps from main street so it is easy to get there.

By Peggie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 15, 2005

A wonderful experience

This place is wonderful!Great food great service and tastefully decorated.We really enjoyed the Italian food.

By Kathy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 26, 2003

A nice change of pace, plus....

We are from New York, so we're pretty picky about Italian food, but this was great, and came highly recommended. Also not on this list, but worth a shot, is Banana Tree Grill and Room With a View, both at Bluebeard's Castle in Charlotte Amalie. My husband and I just spent two weeks in the islands, and would also recommend Tavern on the Beach up the hill at the Marriott Frenchman's Reef. Pricey but definitely Five Diamond, and I cook for a living,

so I feel like I can judge pretty well! Buon Appetito!

Read More

By Mary

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 29, 2002

What a great find...

Off the beaten path, but worth looking for. Good Italian food, excellent service, charming interior.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 21, 2002

Virgilios a MUST!

If you're going to St. Thomas...you CAN'T leave without trying Virgilios. Once you find it (I recommend a taxi, even if you rented a car), don't let the location throw you. It's front door is in an alley....and if you're like most people, it will look somewhat intimidating (especially if it's dark). Once you get in, it is small, but quaint....very Italian. The food is excellent and the wait staff is very attentive.

By Trent

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 8, 2001

Terrific Service; Best Italian Food on St. Thomas

Virgilio's is an outstanding restaurant on St. Thomas, with all the favorite Italian classics, terrific service and a wonderful atmosphere. The pastas are very good, as are the veal dishes. Although Romano's seems to be the "hot" Italian restaurant on the island, we'd give Virgilio's the edge because of the service, atmosphere, and more varied menu.

By Kim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 31, 2001

Best seafood pasta dishes we've ever enjoyed

What an incredible experience. The artwork makes for lively conversation. The wait staff ... especially Dave are the best anywhere. Wonderful wine selections. Romantic. We like the original room the very best.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement