St. Thomas Hotels

Advertisement

Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas

At a Glance

    Pros

  • gorgeous views
  • great water-sports facilities
  • beautiful beach
  • airport shuttle

    Cons

  • service can sometimes be spotty for such an upscale (and pricey) hotel
  • food and drink can lack flair and are expensive ($19 hamburger, $12 piña colada)
  • half-hour or more drive to town and airport

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  

Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas Review

Everything sparkles at the island's most luxurious resort, from the in-room furnishings and amenities to the infinity pool, white-sand beach, and turquoise sea beyond. Spacious guest rooms, with high-speed Internet access, private balconies, and marble bathrooms with deep soaking tubs, are in buildings fanning out from the main building. Six somewhat institutional-looking buildings, with two- and three-bedroom condos, sit on their own adjacent beach. The spa, salon, and fitness center serve adults, both body and soul; the Ritz Kids program packs in a full day of activities for kids, including collecting seashells and feeding iguanas. A 54-foot catamaran is available for a day or sunset sail.

2010 Fodor's 100 Hotel Award Winner

One of the island's most luxurious resorts is also one of the most family-friendly. This upscale hotel suits guests of all ages; youngsters stay busy with treasure hunts, crafts, and games at the supervised Ritz-Kids program, while adults can take a cruise on the hotel's catamaran, explore the blue waters by kayak or paddle boat, or just enjoy the view at the breathtaking infinity pool.

    Contact Information

  • Address: 6900 Estate Great Bay, off Rte. 317 Estate Great Bay, St. Thomas 00802
  • Phone: 340/775–3333; 800/241–3333
  • Website:
  • Location: East End

    Hotel Details

  • 255 rooms, 20 suites, 2 villas, 81 condos.
  • Rate includes no meals.
Updated: 03-04-2014

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas Review

    We came and stayed at the Ritz, but in the vacation club (timeshare) section.

    Beautiful location, with crystal blue/green water, warm white sand.

    Very quiet in September - only top floors were full of the 5 story buildings).
    However, the hotel was much crowded as there was a sales convention staying there, and they are doing renovations on on of the buildings.

    The little details were missed and were what was disappointing. For example - the towels in the room were thin and scratchy. You could tell they were "well used", and that no laundry softener had been used.

    Another example of the missed details: the restaurants. Coconut Cove, the simple hamburger shack on the beach, had just ordinary, cheap, frozen french fries. For $25/plate, I expected something fresher, or at least something somewhat unique (sweet potato fries, or something besides those from the freezer section at the grocery).

    Service was also spotty. Sat down at the lounge chairs by the pool, but had to get up 5 minutes later to get my own towels or to set up the umbrella.

    The bed, linens, and multitude of pillow choices, however, where perfect.

    But, looking above and beyond the details, the place was beautiful. Rented a sail boat in the cove from the attached rental shop, and had a blast sailing along the coast peering into the beautiful mansions along the cliffs.

    All in all, not bad, but not really worth the cost compared to other Ritz's. Did not feel as "Special" as I wanted or expected from this level and brand name, and was ready to return home after 3 days.

    by wjmwjm, 10/17/10
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas Review

    Just returned from a 5 night stay on the Club level. 6/17-6/22/2010. I was a little worried about the hotel choice after reading some of the reviews. I was there with my wife and 17 year old twins We all had an awesome time, club level is definitely the way to go. The food, beverages and staff were top notch. The property is beautiful and very well maintained and landscaping is beautiful. We enjoyed the water sports (no additional charge except lessons if needed) My son did take a windsurfing class and had a great experience with the instructor. my wife and I took a water color class, great instructor. Sailed the Lady Lindsey to St. John for dinner. Definitely take one of the sailing excursions. Beach was beautiful, great snorkeling right at the hotel. Only complaint, we had a day and half of rain and they could use a better gutter system on the club level building. The rain coming off the upper level was very noisy during the night. Overall a fantastic vacation, will definitely be back.
    T. Hughes

    by timothyehughes, 7/1/10
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas Review

    I have been to MANY Ritz Carlton's. this one is the pits. It does not come close to comparing to any other. If you are expecting "Ritz" standards......dont go here. It was average, at best. I would NEVER return. there is nothing specific, just the entire resort is just "ok."

    by Ria428, 2/18/10
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Worst Ritz Property/Worst Attitude

    I've worked in the hotel industry for years and have very reasonable expectations. Our experience here was very poor. During our stay, we went without hot water, then without hot and cold water (they purposefully shut it off without warning -- so much for brushing my teeth), then electricity. If I wanted to go camping, I wouldn't have gone to the Ritz. No apology from managment, no response when we asked for accommodation. The staff is clearly unmotivated -- they do only what is necessary and repeatedly screwed up food/drink orders and were incapable of delivering a fax. Food in the minibar was actually stale. Very disappointing. I will not return.

    by SBB, 12/11/08
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Ritzy!

    Very nice resort, greeted with free cocktail. Rooms were exquisite with jacuzzis, flat-screen TVs and beautiful balconies with view of caribbean. A bit over-priced, especially the restaurants, but the food was decent. I would recommend renting a car to go outside resort for most meals if you're strapped on $$$. Red Hook is close by, great restaurants there, as well as close to ferry to St. John's. If you have extra cash, great place to stay and be pampered! Long beach with water sports and can get dinner trips on the resort's own private boat. Spa was nice, but also a bit expensive.

    by Corinn45, 8/8/08
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    A Ritz-Carlton in Name Only

    Jut returned from 5-nite stay during the post-Easter week. Ocean front Club level suite with our 2 kids, age 9. Have stayed at many Ritz Carlton properties and the service here is mediocre at best. Hotel is located on Great Bay, shallow, narrow beach with plentiful water sports. And, wear your comfortable shoes because property is a very hilly venue, many steps not for the faint of heart or those with mobility difficulties--and the elevators in the Fresia building were not working for two (2) days! Most restaurants harried, rooms phones did not work and guests complained of no hot water, and STRAY CATS in all the outdoor restaurants, which is fine if you think feral cats are charming--but at a Ritz? At full freight Ritz Carlton prices, service should be top-rate, but it wasn't. During our stay, we wondered if the family of presidential candidate Barack Obama --who was there at the same time we were--had the same kind of so-so service. Hallways had dark corners and lights that were out in places, but at least we felt safe due to the presence of low-key U.S. Secret Service detail.
    And, by 7:30 am every morning every single pool and beach chair was "claimed." Something has to be done to police this practice of chairs claimed, but unoccupied for hours.
    On a plus note, Prada spa was lovely, immaculate. And several concierge staff (Meghan) were cheerful and helpful. Of all the dining venues, Bleuwater is best-But, at $1,690 a nite we will take our vacation dollars elsewhere during high season, perhaps back to Bermuda which is pristine and beautiful by comparison. St. Thomas really is down on its heels with abandoned vehicles littering the roads and litter everywhere and lots of scrubby foliage. I can't imagine St. Thomas will become the Caribbean White House--it's a mess.

    by mbt, 3/30/08
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Wonderful Time At The Beach

    We attended a friends wedding and really loved the beach. However our room was a little beat up (marks on the wall and headboard not connected to bed) and the cleaning service had issues replenishing basic items, such as wine glasses. Other than those issues we had a wonderful time and we thought the food was better at the hotel than any place we ate off the Ritz.

    by cake4fun, 6/26/07
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Very relaxing

    The hotel is still under construction as of 12/16/06. As a result there is some noise and dust as well as room snafus (all minor). Having said that, we felt that the service was on par with other Ritz's. The beach was beautiful and the boat cruises amazingly enjoyable. The food was very good though priced as if gilded in fine metals. Overall it was a relaxing trip, though I would very much like to see the resort in about 6-12 months when the renovation are complete.

    by djtrigg, 12/24/06

Add your own review

Advertisement

  • 8 TUFF MILES

    Imagine this: an 8 mile "race" that on March 22, drew 1300+ runners from "everywhere" to St John. Read more

  • St John - The East End - Aqua Bistro

    The trip from Cruz Bay to Coral Bay may only be 8 miles but it will take over 30 minutes of up, down, over, around, hairpin turns, on the left side of the road so you may need dramamine, but it is worth Read more

View more trip reports

  • St Thomas/Puerto Rico

    My kids are 5yrs old and 6yrs old.. in your opinion which resorts or villas are best for St. Thomas or Puerto Rico? We were looking at Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort in St. Thomas Read more

View more travel discussions

· News & Features

View more blog stories