Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

St. Thomas Hotels

The Green Iguana

  • 1002 Blackbeard's Hill Map It
  • Practical Base

Pros

  • Personalized service
  • Near the center of town
  • Laundry on premises

Cons

  • Need a car to get around
  • Town may be noisy at night depending on seasonal events

Updated 03/04/2014

Fodor's Review

Atop Blackbeard's Hill, this value-priced small hotel offers the perfect mix of gorgeous harbor views, proximity to shopping (five-minute walk), and secluded privacy provided by the surrounding showy trees and bushy hibiscus. Accommodations range from a roomy, top-floor junior suite with two queen beds to a balcony room with queen bed and full kitchen. All rooms have refrigerators, microwave ovens, and coffeemakers. There's also a picnic area with a gas barbecue grill.

The managing couple lives on the property and is very helpful in giving restaurant, sightseeing, or beach suggestions.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

1002 Blackbeard's Hill, Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas, 00802, U.S. Virgin Islands

Map It

Phone:

340-776–7654; 855-473–4733

Hotel Details:

  • 9 rooms
  • No meals

Updated 03/04/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in St. Thomas

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 20, 2012

Island Oasis

John and I would thank our Guests for finding us on Fodor's Travel Guides! some changes for your information: our Toll Free Number has changed to 855-IGUANA-1. We have 9 Rooms and the area is safer than many years ago. The address has changed to 1002 Blackbeard's Hill. We would love to discuss your Caribbean Adventure with you! Please call anytime!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 3, 2010

The Green Iguana Review

I had the pleasure of staying at this beautiful, tranquil hotel earlier in the year and it it still very memorable. Set in a glorious setting of natural wonder, my room captivated this too, decorated relaxingly & tranquil and tropically reminscent with the wicker features. On a practical note there was a fully fitted kitchen and the whole hotel is exceptionally clean.Suzie & Bill are wonderful, very organised and accomodating and not to mention cheery

which really adds to the stay. I particularly enjoyed waking up to the magnificent nature sounds and sitting on the balcony in the morning soaking up the warm air and spectacular views with a freshly made coffee.The Green Iguana is centrally located. It's a very pleasant walk to Main Street or a short drive away. I really enjoyed my stay here.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 23, 2010

The Green Iguana Review

I have had the good fortune of staying at the Green Iguana Hotel twice this year – once for pleasure and once for business. I loved my room so much on my first visit that I requested the same room for my second trip. The room was immaculate and decorated with white wicker furniture and bright tropical colored drapes and bed spread. The views from my balcony were spectacular. I could see the ocean and downtown Charlotte Amalie on one side, lush

green hills on the other and a wonderful view of the Governor’s mansion straight ahead. I’d start each day sitting on the balcony checking email and reviewing my schedule, and on several occasions after short morning showers, I saw the most incredible rainbow (something I rarely see in Chicago). The Green Iguana is small (9 rooms), quiet, reasonably priced, and has a very tranquil feeling. Since the hotel does not have a restaurant, I loved having a full-size refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker in the room; you can also purchase drinks and snacks on site. The hotel is conveniently located, just a few minutes from the main boulevard that runs along the waterfront, great restaurants, beautiful beaches, and tons of shopping. If you are adventurous enough to drive in St. Thomas (on the left side of the street), learning your way around the island isn’t too difficult, since St. Thomas is only 13 miles long and 4 miles wide. For less enterprising travelers, you can walk down the “99 steps” to town, or take a taxi or safari bus to visit the island’s main attractions. The hotel is also near the Cyril E. King airport and the seaplane and ferry ports. The couple that manages the property (Bill and Susie) are delightful – extremely friendly and accommodating, and they go out of their way to make sure your stay is comfortable and pleasant. They are one of the main reasons the Green Iguana is my absolute favorite place to stay in St. Thomas (and I’ve stayed in over a dozen hotels and resorts on the island).

Read More

By Ddominy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 13, 2010

The Green Iguana Review

My husband and I spend our 29th wedding anniversary at the Green Iguana and it was a wonderful trip. Susie & Bill went out of their way to help us with a jeep rental, tours, and just being helpful in every way possible. The apartment type rooms are very welcoming and you feel that you are staying in a villa and just a impersonal hotel. I would highly recommend the Green Iguana to everyone, especially those wanting a very personal memory.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 17, 2010

The Green Iguana Review

We stayed at the Green Iguana pre and post cruise and loved the place. It is centrally located next to Blackbeard's Castle (literally) with easy access to restaurants, bars, and shopping. If you are looking for five-star luxury then this is not the place for you, but if you are looking for a great value (with views) centrally located and an amazing resident management staff then you are home. Bill and Susie were the most warm and friendly hosts

full of helpful advice on where to go and what to see. The rooms were clean, comfortable and everything worked – I would say the rooms were a little dated and kitschy but everything was clean and functioned well. Clean, comfortable and value for your money over five-star luxury. We also had a large balcony with views of the harbor – it was wonderful and relaxing. While in St. Thomas you must eat at the Pie Whole in Frenchtown a $5 - $8 cab ride from the Green Iguana – great selection of beers and great food, try the Arugu-nut, Mmmmm. We will definitely be back to see Susie and Bill at Green Iguana! Adam and Corrine

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 17, 2010

The Green Iguana Review

Our family and another were due in St.Thomas for one night and were suddenly delayed 2 days by the snowstorm in Atlanta in February. There was only one room available and they managed to fit in beds for us all!!! The hotel has a beautiful view and we walked down the stairs to the ferry with our bags. Wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy this wonderful place!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 25, 2009

The Green Iguana Review

The location is extremely convenient - just a few minutes walk to downtown. The rooms are extremely clean and comfortable, with air conditioning - ours had a balcony overlooking the bay. Susy and Bill were great hosts who gave great advise about local sites and entertainment. We could not have asked for anything more of our experience, and will certainly go back again - and suggest the Green Iquana to our friends and business associates.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 20, 2009

Great place to stay in Charlotte Amalie!!

This is not a B&B, more of a small inn. Once you enter the property, it is like being in a private villa, with a lovely shady garden and shared grass grill. The on-site managers couldn't have been more friendly or helpful (a rarity in St. Thomas!! The rooms are clean and comfortable; the air-conditioning works well, and the price is a bargain. I would stay here anytime I am in St. Thomas. Note: Contrary to the description above, there is no

pool.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 19, 2009

Not a B&B but great Location and Price

Walk to town and ride back if you can't handle the steps. Great views from any of the rooms. Fully non-smoking so get a balcony room if you're an addict. No B&B but sandwiches, snacks and drinks are available in the office (not free but cheaper than a cab ride to a store!) Bill and Susie, the on-site managers, are friendly and helpful in offering restaurant and attraction suggestions. Secure Wi-Fi in all roomsif you must log on with your computer.

Great place to headquarter near the airport and all ferries to any British or US VI islands from Charlotte Amalie.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement