St. Thomas Restaurants

Advertisement

Old Stone Farmhouse

the always inviting outside lounge

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  

Old Stone Farmhouse Review

Dine in the splendor of a beautifully restored plantation house. Come early and sidle up to the beautiful mahogany bar, where you can choose from an extensive wine list. Then, start with French onion soup, move on to osso buco with a lobster risotto; and finish with a house-made passion-fruit sorbet. Personalized attention makes dining here a delight.

    Contact Information

  • Address: Rte. 42, 1 mi (1½ km) west of entrance to Mahogany Run Golf Course, Estate Lovenlund, St. Thomas, 00802
  • Phone: 340/777–6277
  • Website:
  • Location: East End

    Restaurant Details

  • Reservations essential
  • Closed Mon.
Updated: 05-14-2014

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Pre Wedding Dinner

    The local cab driver highly recommended this restaurant to host a dinner on the night before my son's wedding. We were there during the off season (Oct. 11th)and reservations were still needed. What a surprise when the menu had 'Congradulations Brian and Jamie' printed across the top! We all selected the 4-course dinner, with much to choose from in each course. I can not begin to tell you how terrific the food, service and dinning experience was that night. The chef sent out a couple of his 'specials' just to try, in addidion to our 4-courses. This is the perfect restaurant for that special occasion or celebration. Kudos to the cab driver for his suggestions!

    by elainebruso, 10/15/07
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Nice, but overpriced and overrated

    The best things about The Old Stone Farmhouse are the building's beautiful stonework and the attentive, friendly service. It's a good place to go if you want to get out of town to an elegant venue without much of a view. For such a pretentious menu and expensive pricing, the food itself is merely average. Not bad, but it certainly won't take your breath away. For much better food and a great water view, for equally friendly service but a much more casual atmosphere, try Off the Hook.

    by gsk0704, 10/27/07
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    One of our favorites

    And the chef change within the last year has made this even better. Still the same great, elegant atmosphere, and attentive, knowledgeable service. Last time we went, there was an incredible tasting menu. Expensive, it's true, but perfect for a special dinner

    by Beacher27, 12/20/07
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Pretenious Food

    Very disappointed; the food spoils a great location. The Veal Tonato was a disaster: a tough breaded veal cutlet combined with tuna on a bed of some cold tasteless pasta. The tuna appetizer has 3 small pieces of sashimi with an undrinkable version of the chef's miso soup - it was fun to watch other diners who made the same choice make a disgusted look when trying the "soup"

    by dgodsill, 3/15/08
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Used To Be Nice / Not Anymore

    We've eaten here on every visit to St Thomas for 8+ years and will not go back until ownership changes. This year the menu is Fixe Prix and very, very overpriced. The place was empty and the service was perfunctory at best. A starter "compliments of the chef" broccoli soup was so salty as to not be edible. The rest of the meal was not flavorful, portions small, and worst of all, the 2nd round of Martinis were not even close to "brimming". We felt ripped off. $165 + tip for 2 people. We didn't finish our main dishes and neither the owner nor chef asked why. You'll do better at Duffy's, a parking lot burger bar in Red Hook. The one star above is only because there was nothing lower.

    by southsalemtraveler, 12/13/08
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Old Stone Farmhouse Review

    Under new management with a world class kitchen led by Charles Mereday. The cuisine is on par with top restaurants in New York, London, Paris and Tokyo. The newly renovated farmhouse has all the island elegance you would expect from a restaurant of this caliber and superb service. Extensive wine list and tasting menu.

    by Meg02, 12/6/09
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Old Stone Farmhouse Review

    Have been here several times and each time it was a different experience, so I'll average the ratings and give it all 3's. If you're looking for northside dining, and still want a superb view, great food and a much more favorable pricepoint, go to Northside Bistro

    by gracie207, 7/1/10
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Old Stone Farmhouse Review

    My wife and I had dinner reservations at 7pm, we arrived early by taxi and were seated early. We were misinformed on the dress standard, as there was a drunk couple with the man dressed in a t-shirt, shorts, and flip flops. We ordered our wine and were enjoying the quaint atmosphere, we selected our appetizers and entrees from the menu and were having a nice time. Then we started to notice that we were being ignored. The waitress would come and check on the table next to us and would not even look at our table. They were given bread twice while we sat with empty drinks. Now, I understand everyone has an off night and one waitress does not make a establishment, but the trend continued for the entire the night. Whenever we asked our waitress for something, we did not get it, with the exception of another glass of wine. Albeit, much later. We would have to ask another person to get what we needed.. It was at this point that they sat a wedding party right next to us, which is unacceptable to any establishment of this caliber. The room quickly transformed from a quiet dinning experience to a loud party that we simply had to endure. The music was inaudible, we had to raise our voices to converse despite sitting next to each other. At this moment our food arrived, it looked quite good and I was ready to eat. My food was average with my lamb tasting like dry roast, the potatoes and salad were excellent though. My wife ordered the steak and it was woefully underprepared, she ordered medium well and it was rare. (cold on the inside) We were determined to not let this place ruin our night so we ordered desert and it was great. I had the blueberry ice cream and my wife had the banana foster. At this point, our experience was less than perfect to say the least, but it was what followed next that really prompted me to write this review. We requested a cab and we waited at the entrance with a valet that appeared to be slightly intoxicated, we were waiting with a family of four that rode with us in the taxi from the Ritz. As we sat there, a taxi arrived and out came a party of 7. We spoke with the driver and requested that he take us back the the Ritz. It was his company that gave us the ride there and his cab was there with the room for the six of us. We were riding back to our taxi having a wonderful evening conversing with the family of four. The driver got a call and put it on speaker (as he was driving), we then witnessed a man who claimed to be the manager, but I suspect was the valet, chew out the driver for stealing us. He told him to never come back and he was no longer welcomed. His tone was rude and unacceptable for an establishment claiming to be of the class that the Old Stone Farmhouse does. Once we arrived back at the Ritz I picked up at the phone and called the manager to complain about how our driver was treated. I did not mention any part of our experience, I was simply upset about the way our night had ended. The manager then proceeded to rant to me about how they do not like the cab company, in essence subjecting me to the exact same rude behavior that I was treated to while riding with the driver. She asked where we were staying, when I mentioned the Ritz, her tone softened and she stated that there problem with the cab company is not something we should have to deal with. When I mentioned that I was not returning, she asked how long we planned on staying on the island. The nerve of this woman! At this point, she said if we were ever going to return that she would buy us a drink. No, thank you. We had been using this cab company the entire time we had been staying at this island, they have been nothing but professional and kind. This so called nice restaurant had been nothing but rude. I will never return to this place, as I mentioned before one visit does not make a restaurant. However, three separate employees on three different issues giving three different unpleasant experiences does not make for a staff that I ever wish to see again. This was by far the sourest note of our trip and the worst dinning experience of recent memory. There are many nice restaurants on St. Thomas, this one can, and should, be avoided.

    by kyleandmaile, 8/20/11

Add your own review

Advertisement

Travel Deals
Forums