Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Passport: Your weekly travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration

St. Thomas Restaurants

Gladys' Cafe

  • 28A Dronningens Gade Map It
  • Charlotte Amalie
  • Caribbean
  • Fodor's Choice
  • Gladys' Cafe, Charlotte Amalie

    Gladys Cafe

  • Gladys' Cafe, Charlotte Amalie

    Your Media Diva

  • Gladys' Cafe, Charlotte Amalie

    Your Media Diva

  • Gladys' Cafe, Charlotte Amalie

    Your Media Diva

  • Gladys' Cafe, Charlotte Amalie

    Gladys Cafe

Updated 02/09/2015

Fodor's Review

Even if the local specialties—conch in butter sauce, jerk pork, pan-fried yellowtail snapper—didn't make this a recommended café, it would be worth coming for Gladys's smile. Her cozy alleyway restaurant is rich in atmosphere with its mahogany bar and native stone walls, making dining a double delight. While you're here, pick up a $5 or $10 bottle of her special hot sauce. There are mustard-, oil and vinegar–, and tomato-based versions; the tomato-based sauce is the hottest.

Restaurant Information

Address:

Waterfront, 28A Dronningens Gade, west side of Royal Dane Mall, Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas, 00802, U.S. Virgin Islands

Map It

Phone:

340-774–6604

Restaurant Details:

  • No dinner
  • Only Amex credit cards accepted

Updated 02/09/2015

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in St. Thomas

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Food

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Jan 5, 2012

Gladys' Cafe Review

Great place. Friendly, good food, pleasant atmosphere. The owner is particularly nice.

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Sep 22, 2011

Gladys' Cafe Review

We heard the rave reviews before we arrived and were not disappointed! Since the restaurant is located in downtown St. Thomas we spent the day shopping in the jewelery district and then had lunch at Gladys' Cafe. The fresh guacamole is out of this world!!! We had to order a second dish for the table. The guacamole was served with these delicious fried plantain chips. Lots of Caribbean options on the menu. I got the crab and avocado salad and

my husband got a caribbean soup. Someone in our group got the grouper sandwhich and it looked AMAZING. No one was brae enough to order the curried goat, but after reading the reviews I may have to try it when we return this November. The service is prompt and friendly and we all left full and in good spirits. Be sure to purchase a bottle of Gladys' homemade hotsauce before you leave!

Read More
  • Food

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Jul 1, 2010

Gladys' Cafe Review

If you want air conditioning and local food, go to Gladys. If you want atmosphere and great food, go to Cafe Amici. I go to both

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Jan 4, 2010

Gladys' Cafe Review

Is a bit tucked away, but worth the find. Stopped by for lunch, and when Gladys started to sing along with the R&B music, her family chimed in. Nice bar too.

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Oct 2, 2008

Great Food, But our visit was Tainted :-(

Wife, I, and 1.5 yr old visited for lunch on an uncrowded Thursday. Ordered creole style pan-seared grouper and curry chicken. Somehow, it took our waitress an hour to find out our order got lost. This is a bigger problem with an impatient baby and tainted our visit. When we finally got the food, it was excellent. The surroundings were great, prices were fine. After almost 2 hours in there for lunch, though, we had enough. Seems like a great

place, hopefully your order won't get lost.

Read More
  • Food

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Dec 20, 2007

Can't believe no one has reviewed this yet

Gladys' must be a secret to the tourists, but you'll find locals here all the time. There seem to be breakfast regulars who go back just to hear the wait staff sing along to the Sinatra in the background. For lunch, choose a local dish, not something you'd order in the states

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement

Love To Travel?

Get FREE e-mail communications from Fodor's Travel, covering must-see travel destinations, expert trip planning advice, and travel inspiration to fuel your passion.

How we use your email

Thank You

Now sit back, relax, and check your inbox to start planning your next travel adventure.

Please tell us more about the type of travel you're interested in. Check all that apply.