Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

St. Croix Hotels

The Buccaneer

  • Rte. 82 Map It
  • Luxurious Retreat

Pros

  • Beachfront location
  • Numerous activities
  • Nice golf course

Cons

  • Pricey rates
  • Insular environment
  • Need car to get around

Updated 03/04/2014

Fodor's Review

Aimed at travelers who want everything at their fingertips, this resort has sandy beaches, swimming pools, and extensive sports facilities. A palm-tree-lined main drive leads to the large, pink main building atop a hill; the rest of the resort sits on the grounds of a 300-acre former sugar plantation, where shops, restaurants, and guest quarters are scattered about the manicured lawns. Spacious rooms are tropical in style, with tile floors, four-poster beds, massive wardrobes

of pale wood, marble baths, and local art. Beachside Doubloon rooms are the largest and are steps from the sand, but you can be perfectly comfortable no matter where you stay.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Rte. 82, Box 25200, Shoys, St. Croix, 00824, U.S. Virgin Islands

Map It

Phone:

340-712–2100; 800-255–3881

Hotel Details:

  • 138 rooms, 1 villa
  • Breakfast

Updated 03/04/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in St. Croix

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 9, 2008

Just Keeps Getting Better!

We have spent a week at the Buccaneer for the past nine years. It has become a very special place for our family of four as it provides great service, beautiful views, easy relaxation, access to great restaurants, and a personal touch that chain resorts just can't offer. We stay each year in a Family Cottage which is a great value for your money in the Caribbean. Two rooms with one bath plus an extra sink with killer views of the sea and a lovely

patio with lounge chairs and a table and chairs. The bathrooms need updating but that is slated for Summer '08. The Buccaneer attracts a broad-based clientele with the number of families increasing each year. The free kids club is a draw but we find that most families just enjoy spending time together at the pool and the beach, on the tennis court or the golf course, or just hanging around. There are nice additions like a weekly ice cream social, kids relay races, kayaks, bocce, basketball, croquet, crab races and wine tastings that are all free. Breakfast is included in the price of a room and the view alone is worth the price of admission. From the terrace where the buffet is served, you have almost a 180 degree view of the Caribbean with sometime views of St. Thomas, St. John and Virgin Gorda in the distance. The buffet includes both hot and cold items and you may also order off the menu. Many people find that breakfast keeps them full until dinnertime. For those who don't, there's the convenient and tasty Mermaid restaurant for a sit-down lunch or the Grotto Grill for take out at the pool. If you are looking for the Ritz or the Four Seasons, the Buccaneer is not for you. The staff is incredibly friendly and looking to attend to your needs; however, they are not the stuffy, fawning types. Someone once said that the Buccaneer is more like a low key country club and I think that fits (except that this country club accepts ALL members). We always enjoy the people we meet there as they are down to earth and looking to relax and enjoy their vacation. I challenge anyone to find similar accommodations and amenities at the same high season prices. For our family, there just isn't another option. And the Buccaneer values its returning guests with discounts, special concierge services and the warmest welcome in the Caribbean. We are particularly fond of St. Croix's restaurants and find that we usually leave the resort (using their own fleet of taxis with veteran drivers whom we've come to know) for dinner at one of the many excellent restaurants on the island.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 23, 2005

snorkeling paradise

We had a cottage on the beach 6/05, could hear our next door neighbors one night but the hotel responded immediatly when we complained. Supurb snorkeling on the beach below us. Breakfast buffet was amazing, we thought we would get tired of it after 12 days, but there was plenty to choose from. Very relaxing honeymoon.

By Peter

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 17, 2003

A Comfortable but Tired Looking Resort

My wife and I spent 5 nights in mid-September at the Buccaneer in St. Croix. Overall, it's a nice place -- expansive property, great views to Christiansted, nice beach, oceanfront rooms pretty and comfortable. However, for a resort that consistently is rated at the top, we were a bit disappointed with the overall atmosphere. The resort was rather retro feeling, but not exactly in a good way. We got the feeling that the place had seen its day, and

that it was not keeping up with its competitors. It's ho-hum, needing updating and a face-lift, particularly on the grounds, which are not lushly landscaped at all. The island of St. Croix was interesting, but not very pretty. If you're looking for some r and r in a decent place, this resort is fine, but if you want something spectacular and memorable, this is not the place.

Read More

By Doug

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 1, 2003

Nothing like breakfast on the veranda!

Anything you could want can be found at the Buccaneer. We stayed in the Ficus suite which overlooked a pool and the Carribean. Nicely appointed and very comfortable. Lots to do for kids. Golf course and tennis on site. Excellent staff. The best part of the day was breakfast and happy hour at the restaurant and bar on the veranda. Incredible sunsets.

By Joanna

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 7, 2003

Peaceful Oasis

The Buccaneer provided just what we needed -- a quiet and relaxing vacation, with wonderful service, great tennis, and no crowds anywhere. It doesn't have water parks or casinos, which suited us perfectly. The food is great, and we enjoyed looking at the ocean from our large oceanfront room.

By Patrick

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 31, 2002

Fantasic Time

We just returned last week from our 8th Honeymoon. Everyone at the resort was exceptional. Elizabeth (GM) was quite charming. The atmosphere was outstanding. The food was excellent. The pricing was in line with what we expected. Our room in the main building had a lovely view. We will definitely go back. I would rather stay in the quiet of St. Croix than on St. Thomas. If you are looking for an excellent place to stay, GO TO THE BUCCANEER!

By Debbie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 8, 2002

Vive la Buccaneer!

We just returned from the Buccaneer hotel, spending the week after Christmas there. What a wonderful place! I cannot understand some of the negative comments that have been posted here about it - everyone I met felt the same way as my husband and me, it was just terrific. I recommend a room in the Great House (main building), second floor with oceanview. The view is too gorgeous for words. The Terrace Restaurant is where they serve a sumptuous,

gourmet breakfast buffet complimentary each morning - and is one of the loveliest rooms you'll ever see. The beach was calm, warm and complete with many chaise lounges. The golf course was challenging and pretty; many folks enjoyed tennis and there are two large pools. All the housekeeping and front desk personnel we dealt with were very friendly and accomodating - no touch of the attitude we experienced in Guadeloupe. The Buccaneer is only a five minute drive from downtown Christiansted, where we enjoyed meals at the Paradise Cafe, Tutto Bene Cafe, and Luncheria Mexicana. Take our word for it - we switched to the Buccaneer after four miserable days at the Chenay Bay resort cottages, only a few miles away - and are immensely glad we did!

Read More

By Carol

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 20, 2001

This Mom's Favorite Vacation

We have been to the Buccaneer twice in the past three years and will return in February '02. It isn't perfect but it comes close to meeting the needs of this family with two children (ages 5 and 7). The family cottages are more plain the other accommodations but a great--two rooms with one bath and two sinks. And the view of the Carribean is not to be believed. The beach is great for kids and adults and it never seems crowded (even during school

February vacation week). The Terrace Room restaurant has gotten too pricey but the Brass Parrot is great. We love going into town for different dinners every night. Our only disappointment is that many of the staff are not that warm which seems to be the St. Croix way. There are exceptions, like Jose the kids' camp director, and they make it fun.

Read More

By k

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 2, 2001

Great Rooms Bad service

Don't worry the restaurant services stinks for paying guest also. So does the front desk service and the maid service. At north of $300 per night in off season you expect a least fair service. Not at this hotel. Ocean front rooms were great once, but in serious need of repair. Bugs are out of control too. Breakfeast buffet was ok, slightly better than Holiday Inn Des Moines, but not any sort of lavish spread you expect at $20 pp. Property is oustanding,

they appear to be resting on there reputation at the moment

Read More

By Sharon

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 17, 2000

Peaceful

We were there in August. The hotel is remote. Passing a K-Mart on the way to the hotel took away from the island appeal. Not an island for shopping. There is nothing within walking distance. We had a room right on the beach. It was huge! The only drawback is that they only had one restaurant open. Beware of jellyfish in the ocean!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement