Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Turks and Caicos Islands Hotels

Sands at Grace Bay

  • pool and resturant

  • Piscina dell'Hotel

  • Corpo Hp

  • Piscina

  • Spiaggia dell'albergo

Pros

  • One of the best places for families
  • Central to shops and numerous restaurants
  • Screened balconies and porches give an escape from incessant air-conditioning

Cons

  • The pool deck is dark wood, so keep your sandals or flip-flops handy
  • Avoid courtyard rooms, which are not worth the price

Updated 03/04/2014

Fodor's Review

Spacious gardens and winding pools set the tone for one of Provo's most popular family resorts. You can expect friendly and helpful staff and excellent amenities, including a spa, a good-size fitness room, and a beachside cabana restaurant, called Hemingway's. Sparkling ocean views from huge screened patios and floor-to-ceiling windows are best in the oceanfront suites in Blocks 3 and 4, which are also closest to the beach, restaurant, and pool. Ask for leftover beach toys, including swim noodles and buckets and shovels, to keep children entertained.

Hotel Information

Address:

Grace Bay Rd., Grace Bay, Providenciales, Turks and Caicos Islands

Map It

Phone:

649-941–5199; 877-777–2637

Hotel Details:

  • 118 suites
  • No meals

Updated 03/04/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

See all hotels in Turks and Caicos Islands

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Sharon

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 3, 2006

Life is a Beach - the best one around!

If you are looking for the best beach, this is it. We stayed from December 2-9,2005 and the beach was all ours. Make sure your room is on the second or third floor. (Don't bother with the oceanfront studio - dark! It took us 2 hours to get the room changed). Hemingway's was great for meals. We miss that beach!

By Hilary

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 3, 2005

Wonderful Week at the Sands

We just got back from our week-long honeymoon at the Sands. It was beautiful. I've traveled the Caribbean before, but the beach on Grace Bay is the nicest I have ever seen. Hemingways was delicious, the staff was very helpful and nice, and our one bedroom suite was very nice. The Turks and Caicos was amazing, and I would definitely recommend the islands and The Sands.

By Joe

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 9, 2005

Casual Nonchalance A Keynote

The Sands is a fine resort, but there is a real lack of urgency among the desk staff for solving guests' problems. Tendra the concierge is very good, but the rest of the staff seem careless at best and incompetant at worse. We asked to have a ceiling fan cord fixed in our room on our first day. 10 days later, when we checked out, it was still not fixed. And asking directions to various places made one think these people didn't live on the island.

Several times we were given inaccurate information, and in one instance, completely wrong information. Hemingway's is pedestrian at best; there are many other better restaurants on the island. We liked the Sands and our room, but the staff needs better training if they want to be considered first class.

Read More

By Neil

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 4, 2003

A Home from Home

We have stayed at The Sands twice and are looking to go back again in 2004, despite my preference to try new places. In fact, our trip in 2003 was our third to the Island, in our first, we stayed at Beaches (the kids loved it, but otherwise not great value). The reason we keep going back to The Sands is mostly for the Atmosphere. The staff are all very friendly, especially our maid, Pearline (our kids used to come back to the room especially so they

could spend time with her). Hemmingways has a grat casual feel with a great setting and good food. The rooms are spacious, well equipped and very clean. Make sure you book an Ocean Front room. In all, its not too crowded and a great place for a family or couples to relax. The reasons we keep going back to T&C are: the wonderful beach, its safe, a perfect climate and only 3 hours from JFK.

Read More

By Kim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 8, 2003

The Sands has it all . . .

Our family has travelled extensively, and we all agree that The Sands is one of the best resorts we've had the pleasure of staying at. The suites are designed with comfortable elegance in mind, and the patios are a treat. The beach is spectacular, as is the pool. But the real treat here is the wonderful, kind staff. Everyone we encountered greeted us with a friendly 'hello', and went out of their way to assist us. Hemingways is absolutely lovely;

great service, excellent food, unbeatable location. We will certainly return!

Read More

By Sara

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 31, 2002

I didn't want to leave!!!

I just returned from my Honeymoon and a wonderful stay at the Sands. The entire trip was perfect! The staff and facilities are deligthful and I cannot say enough about the beach. Hemmingways turned out to be the restaurant we returned to 3 times! I highly reccomend the Sands and Turks!

By Brandon

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 22, 2002

not much to do but beautiful

By the sixth day I was ready to come home. Unless you dive - What is there to do on the Island. I want to thank the people who comment on Fodors for steering me to the Sands at Grace Bay. The room was so clean. Hemmingway's ended up being one of the best restaurants on the island. I would go back there maybe after I learn how to dive.

By Dan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 13, 2002

Can't wait to return

I recently stayed at the The Sands in April and I would highly recommend it. It has a great beach and pool. The restaurant was good and an excellent spot for breakfast or lunch. My wife and I found other nearby restaurants that were great and the atmosphere a little fancier than the Sands.

By Beth

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 13, 2002

R&R Is At Your Fingertips

We loved the resort...very peaceful and the beaches could not be more beautiful. Our 1BR Ocean View room was a great size and well equipped. We loved being on the upper floors with the screened in lanai's. On site restaurant (Hemmingway's) was also terrific. During our stay it was 99% couples in their 30's - 50's. Actually, I wouldn't consider bringing my children here unless it was a school/Holiday break. Enjoy!

By Walter

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 18, 2002

Romper Room in Paradise

The Sands is a teriffic resort and an excellent vacation value. Large, clean suites, great beach, and very courteous staff. There were many families and LOTS of kids, which unfortunately was not ideal for our honeymoon. We plan to return, but not until we have children of our own. The Sands would be great for a family, but if you seek tranquility and tropical relaxation, look elsewhere.

By Jeff

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 28, 2002

A beautiful place to relax

A great place to stay, as long as you aren't looking for tons of activities and games. This is a great place to relax and take it easy. It's more of an older crowd, with about 50% of the people there being couples over 50 years old. (There were some families and younger groups of people). The staff is great and the grounds are very nice. Go here to kick back and forget normal life for a while.

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 18, 2001

Wonderful Place to Stay

We stayed at the Sands in April 2001. We re-located from "Beaches" because it was unsatisfactory. The "Sands" was absolutely fabulous in many respects. In terms of accomadations and service I would recommend it to anyone. We even looked into buying one of the the units.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement