Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Turks and Caicos Islands Restaurants

Anacaona

  • Grace Bay Circle Rd. Map It
  • $$$$
  • Mediterranean

Updated 03/04/2014

Fodor's Review

At Grace Bay Club, this thatch-roofed restaurant has the best setting in the Turks and Caicos, and perhaps in the entire Caribbean. Despite its elite clientele and high prices, the restaurant continues to offer a memorable dining experience minus any formality and attitude (and minus the air-conditioning). That said, children under 12 are not allowed, and long pants and collared shirts are required for men. Oil lamps on the tables, gently revolving ceiling fans, and the

murmur of the trade winds add to the Edenic environment. The entrancing ocean views and the careful service make this an ideal choice when you want to be pampered. The kitchen uses the island's bountiful seafood and fresh produce to craft healthy, Mediterranean-influenced cuisine. It's a good thing the setting is amazing, though; the portions are tiny for what you pay.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

Grace Bay Club, Grace Bay Circle Rd., Grace Bay, Providenciales, Turks and Caicos Islands

Map It

Phone:

649-946–5050

Restaurant Details:

  • Closed Sept. No lunch
  • Reservations essential

Updated 03/04/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

See all restaurants in Turks and Caicos Islands

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 27, 2009

Distrought in Paradise

Can't rate the food here because I never got to eat. After making reservations and showing up 5 minutes early I waited 40 minutes and spent $35 on two cocktails. When I went to the hostess desk to ask about the table no one was manning it so I decided to leave. The bar manager caught me on the way out and apologized and got us our table, BUT 20 more minutes later no server had approached us so we left again. This restaurant is too expensive to not

give impeccable service from start to finish, why REQUIRE reservations if you are not going to honor them.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 5, 2008

Very disappointed with food

The location and atmoshpere is great unfortunately the food is terrible and very expensive!

By dj55

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 18, 2008

Disappointing

We visited Anacaona in January 2008. The food here was quite a disappointment. Appetizers and entrees were mediocre, at best. Dessert was frozen and clearly had been made days before and stored. Considering the price paid, this meal was not worth the money. If this restaurant were in NYC, my suspicion is that it would be lucky to get a single star. The beachfront location was very nice (assuming no rain/wind). Service was mediocre and slow, like

so many places in the Caribbean.

Read More

By Melissa

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 26, 2005

A little overrated...

Not the best meal we had on the island but had the best ambiance. My husband had the shrimp appetizer and grouper for dinner which was excellent. I had tuna sashima which tasted a litle watery but that might just be how the tuna tastes there, I'd skip it. For dinner I had the sea bass special, a little overcooked on the edges but it tasted better in the middle. I'm guessing you're paying for the ambiance. 2 appetizers, 2 dinners, 2 glasses of wine

and a dessert cost us $160.

Read More

By Stacy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 18, 2005

SIMPLY THE BEST

The Best atmosphere, service and experience - especially on live music nights under a clear, starry night.

By Joe

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 9, 2005

Don't Order the Cheese Plate

Anaconda, we believe is overrated. The lobster & spinach ravioli was luke warm when served and really an appetizer rather than a main course. My wife's duck was nothing special. But the capper to the meal was the cheese plate. When the refrigerated cheddar and smoked gouda came to the table the French, female restaurant manager made the lame excuse that somehow because of the Americans they couldn't get good imported cheese! She actually said that,

rather than apologizing for the sorry quality and taking the cheese back and suggesting something else. Later, at Coyaba I asked chef/owner Paul Newman what he had on his cheese plate and, of course, he had good, imported cheese of several varieties. Gianni at Magnolia Wine Bar also had a fine selection of imported cheeses. Both Coyaba and Magnolia, and for that matter, the Italian eatery, Baci are better than Anaconda, as is Grace's Cottage, which has the best rack of lamb we tried.

Read More

By Deb

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 16, 2004

Great setting, good food, ok service

The setting for the restaurant is perfect and romantic. The food was good but not worth the high price. The service had a bit of an attitude.

By Sara

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 31, 2002

Very Romantic

Ate there on my Honeymoon over the past week. We found the food to be very good and the atmosphere to be very romantic and quiet. It is a shame that others did not know the no children policy...it is in every tour guide. We rather enjoyed our meal.

By Hilary

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 31, 2002

Beware of the Grinch!

My family went to this abismal restaurant for Christmas Eve and found that the Grinch had left Hooville for Turks and Caicos! Reservations were made for us by the concierge at another hotel and no one told us that children under 12 were not allowed (my nephew is 10 months). Upon arriving, we were scolded and then seated. My nephew cried once and was immediately taken out side. A second time he got fussy, he was again taken immediately outside. When

my sister-in-law was on her way out, people at the bar yelled, "Don't bring the baby back!" The manager then followed her outside and told her she was not allowed to come back inside the restaurant. He then proceded to rudely tell our table that he, "had to do something about this situation!" He showed a profound lack of professionalism and we were treated as untouchables for having a baby. We should not have been seated in the first place and the manager should have been courteous and at the very least, civil. Needless to say, there was no true spirit of Christmas to be found, infact quite the opposite, the management and staff were rude and heartless!

Read More

By Beth

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 13, 2002

Beautiful Setting was Better than Food

You can't beat the romantic setting of Anacoana...the candlelight, the ocean, the tiki torches, the soft music. Paired with excellent food, it could be one of the top restaurants in the Carribean. The salads were excellent but the entree was bland and the presentation was as good as mine when I serve my children macoroni and cheese. If I ever returned, it would be only for drinks and appetizers in the bar area.

By Jessica

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 12, 2002

The Classiest Dining on Provo

Anacaona is a first rate restaurant, but not the most friendly or inviting. The setting is perfect near the sea, but the hostess is abrupt. Food is by far the most gourmet on the island. Try the shrimp tempura starter--it's the best!

By Sharon

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 27, 2001

The Anacaona is good but overhyped.

We went here on our last night in the islands. The food was good, not spectacular, though I admit we are hard to impress being originally from the SF Bay Area, where the food is amazing. We expected more seafood dishes, of which there were only a few and only one local fish (grouper). The Anacaona is very pricey, a single appetizer is $15-25, entrees are $25-40, and the service is not up to par with restaurants of the same caliber in the USA. That

said, the food was pretty good and the ambiance was nice. Wear insect repellant if you eat dinner here, the mosquitos will eat you alive!

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement