Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Turks and Caicos Islands Restaurants

Coyaba Restaurant

  • Bonaventure Crescent Map It
  • $$$$
  • International
  • Fodor's Choice

Updated 03/04/2014

Fodor's Review

Directly behind Grace Bay Club at Caribbean Paradise Inn, this posh restaurant is in a palm-fringed setting. The nostalgic favorites here are served with tempting twists in conversation-piece crockery. Chef Paul Newman uses his culinary expertise for the daily-changing main courses, which include exquisitely presented dishes such as crispy, whole, yellow snapper fried in Thai spices. One standout is lobster Thermidor in a Dijon-mushroom cream sauce. You may want to try

several different appetizers instead of an entrée for dinner; guava-and-tamarind barbecue ribs and coconut-shrimp tempura are two good choices if you go that route. If you enjoy creative menus, this is the place for you. Coyoba keeps the resident expat crowd happy with traditional favorites such as lemon meringue pie, albeit with his own tropical twist. Don't skip dessert; Paul makes incredible chocolate fondant.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

Caribbean Paradise Inn, Bonaventure Crescent, off Grace Bay Rd., Grace Bay, Providenciales, Turks and Caicos Islands

Map It

Phone:

649-946–5186

Restaurant Details:

  • Closed Tues. and Sept.-Oct.
  • Reservations essential

Updated 03/04/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

See all restaurants in Turks and Caicos Islands

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 27, 2014

Can the service spoil your taste buds?

Our reseration was for 9 o'clock but it should not be the reason for the stuff to behave this way. They couldn't wait for us to leave as soon as were seated or the 9 o'clock had nothing to do.Appetizers were very average with fancy name and high price tag (bay scallops on 3 shells should have 3 scallops not 2)Hint of vinaigrette would be just fine. Curried Lobster was hard to chew served in a bowl which made it hard to eat.The Snapper en Papillote

was excellent.We ate in few restaurants on the island and left this one for the special last dinner on the island.Retrain your stuff in attitudes improve food quality to justify high price. You can go only so far on glory of chef Paul if he is even there.The generous tip we left in addition to your 10 percent gratuity(not deserved) is to make you feel bad.The other restaurants we ate are highly recommended.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 22, 2009

Disappointing at best

We have heard so many great things about this restaurant and I am most puzzled as to the positive feedback. We were immediately turned off by the frosty attitude of the staff at the restaurant - the woman that greeted us was snippy, condescending and well, rude. The food was okay but our experience with the haughty staff made us more critical than we would normally be. This restaurant is expensive - other restaurants in this price range are much better

bets (Grace's Cottage, O'Soleil, Parallel 23. Great food in all instances and they acted like they WANTED us and our money in their establishment. A note to Coyaba...there is a recession and you are in a tourist industry...an attitude adjustment should be a part of your business plan.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 29, 2008

Resting on past laurels

can't imagine why this place is so well rated as it really is extremely expensive and food is just so-so. The owners are extremely rude and attempt to make you feel like THEY are doing YOU a favor by being open. There are so many great restaurants on this island, don't bother paying top dollar for at-best mediocre food. For some real decent food, ambiance and service, head over to Coco Bistro, Caicos Cafe, Mango Reef, or Grace's Cottage, or Parallel

23 at the Regent Palms, or Simba at the Turks and Caicos Club, or Baci or Sharkbite, the list goes on....

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 16, 2007

Best place on the island!

Coyoba is my favorite place to dine on Provo. Having lived in Chicago and New York, I've dined at my fair share of excellent restaurants but Coyoba still remains in my top five favorite places. The atmosphere is great, the food is excellent and the staff has always been friendly. Definitely don't miss out on the apple tart dessert.

By Mic

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 20, 2006

Ready, Set...order!!!!

Coyaba is an Arawak word meaning "heavenly", but the only thing heavenly about this place is their twinkle lights that decorate the entire place. We were seated and our cocktail order taken. We hadn't had our menus opened for five minutes, when the woman in charge of taking orders was at our table wanting our selections. Sorry, we really haven't had the opportunity to review the menu yet, "okay, I"ll come back". Five minutes later, drinks had

still not arrived, but the young woman wanting our order did. I made a quick glance through the selections and picked the osso bucco and my husband choose the ahi. While we caved and allowed them to dictate our timing for our selections, another diner seated next to us did not, demanding that they be left alone. Why didn't I think of that? Drinks arrived along with our bottled water. No one felt compelled to actually "open" the water bottle and pour so we helped ourselves. This continued through the entire meal, never once having our water poured. Wait staff was at best, sketchy...besides the lightening speed order taking,there was one waitress (Ali?) who was so unpleasant we almost asked for her to not come back to the table. Two of the young men who were servicing our table, however, were pleasant enough, just not very well trained on fine dining protocol. So far, not so good, but we're here and hungry so how bad can it be? Well, the answer to the $64,000 question is not bad, but extremely disappointing. My husband's tuna was uninteresting and unappealing looking in presentation and my osso bucco (one of my favorites) turned out to be a large veal shank, that had been baked....no sauce, no vegies, no gremolata..sorry, but a veal shank does not an osso bucco make. I should of thought something was up when they brought me a huge steak knife just prior to our entrees. Given our experience we opted out of getting dessert and left. In my opinion, this place does not live up to it's hype.

Read More

By Joe

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 9, 2005

Restaurateur/Raconteur

Paul Newan is a great talker and a great chef. His large, friendly, gregarious presense makes dining in his establishment an added pleasure only outdone by his sumptious preparations. His Coyaba restaurant is the highest priced but probably the best restaurant in Provo. His staff is very well trained and professional and his lobster theamador is the best I've had since Dinis in Boston closed some years ago (and Paul's isn't even Maine lobster)!The

tuna sashimi with pepper crust is a great appetizer, the lobster bisque is delicious, the coconut shrimp very tasty and the wine list is top notch.

Read More

By Buster

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 13, 2003

C. Paul should look for new job

Don't waste your time or money...

By Sarah

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 26, 2003

You'll Drop a Bundle But...

The food was was very very good and if you like chocolate you have to get the chocolate fondant... Also, unlike many other high end restaurants in Provo, Coyaba actually has an extensive wine list. Service is good, the owner is often milling around. The atmosphere is very romantic, ask to sit in the back under the canopy. Our dinner was $200 but it was worth every penny and we went back twice later in our trip, just for the dessert.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement