Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Passport: Your weekly travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration

Turks and Caicos Islands Restaurants

Coyaba Restaurant

  • Bonaventure Crescent Map It
  • Grace Bay
  • International
  • Fodor's Choice

Updated 01/14/2015

Fodor's Review

Directly behind Grace Bay Club at Caribbean Paradise Inn, this posh restaurant is in a palm-fringed setting. The nostalgic favorites here are served with tempting twists in conversation-piece crockery. Chef Paul Newman uses his culinary expertise for the daily-changing main courses, which include exquisitely presented dishes such as crispy, whole, yellow snapper fried in Thai spices. One standout is lobster Thermidor in a Dijon-mushroom cream sauce. You may want to try several different appetizers instead of an entrée for dinner; guava-and-tamarind barbecue ribs and coconut-shrimp tempura are two good choices if you go that route. If you enjoy creative menus, this is the place for you. Coyoba keeps the resident expat crowd happy with traditional favorites such as lemon meringue pie, albeit with his own tropical twist. Don't skip dessert; Paul makes incredible chocolate fondant.

Restaurant Information

Address:

Caribbean Paradise Inn, Bonaventure Crescent, off Grace Bay Rd., Grace Bay, Providenciales, Turks and Caicos Islands

Map It

Phone:

649-946–5186

Restaurant Details:

  • Closed Tues. and Sept.-Oct.
  • Reservations essential

Updated 01/14/2015

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

See all restaurants in Turks and Caicos Islands

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

May 10, 2015

Beautiful Garden Setting

My spouse and I dined at Coyaba for dinner on a Friday evening in late April 2015. About one month prior to our arrival, we requested a reservation via email, and the restaurant responded promptly with a confirmation. Coyaba is located in Grace Bay at the Caribbean Paradise Inn, which was a 10-minute (0.5-mile) walk on lighted and paved sidewalks from our hotel, the Seven Stars Resort. Coyaba is open for dinner only, every evening except Tuesday.

Coyaba is a Fodors choice restaurant. The restaurant accepts credit cards as payment. It offers semi-indoor and outdoor dining - there are no truly indoor tables at this restaurant, but there are some tables located beneath a covered roof adjacent to the bar (circulating fans keep the air moving). The remainder of the tables are spread throughout the garden, positioned beneath palm trees and amidst tropical foliage and strings of lights. Coyaba has no official dress code; however, most patrons sported resort casual wear (for example, most men wore Bermuda-type dress shorts and collared Polo-type shirts). We ordered two appetizers: the kale / seaweed salad (a huge portion of seaweed salad surrounded by crispy kale) and the scallops (served cold and cut into bite-sized pieces, accented with seaweed salad and caviar and served on actual scallop shells), and then we shared one entrée (the tandoori mahi mahi with coconut curry sauce and jasmine rice), and finished our meal by sharing one dessert (the sticky toffee pudding). Prior to our meal, the waiter delivered a glass filled with pita triangles and crudité (one celery stalk, one carrot stick, and a toothpick that held one grape tomato, and one green olive); the bottom of the glass held a white dip-like substance similar to a sweet liquidy butter. The food was tasty, and the service was good (many staff members work together to wait on each table). We enjoyed our evening at Coyaba and feel that it is a good fine-dining choice in Grace Bay.

Read More
  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Mar 27, 2014

Can the service spoil your taste buds?

Our reseration was for 9 o'clock but it should not be the reason for the stuff to behave this way. They couldn't wait for us to leave as soon as were seated or the 9 o'clock had nothing to do.Appetizers were very average with fancy name and high price tag (bay scallops on 3 shells should have 3 scallops not 2)Hint of vinaigrette would be just fine. Curried Lobster was hard to chew served in a bowl which made it hard to eat.The Snapper en Papillote

was excellent.We ate in few restaurants on the island and left this one for the special last dinner on the island.Retrain your stuff in attitudes improve food quality to justify high price. You can go only so far on glory of chef Paul if he is even there.The generous tip we left in addition to your 10 percent gratuity(not deserved) is to make you feel bad.The other restaurants we ate are highly recommended.

Read More
  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Mar 22, 2009

Disappointing at best

We have heard so many great things about this restaurant and I am most puzzled as to the positive feedback. We were immediately turned off by the frosty attitude of the staff at the restaurant - the woman that greeted us was snippy, condescending and well, rude. The food was okay but our experience with the haughty staff made us more critical than we would normally be. This restaurant is expensive - other restaurants in this price range are much better

bets (Grace's Cottage, O'Soleil, Parallel 23. Great food in all instances and they acted like they WANTED us and our money in their establishment. A note to Coyaba...there is a recession and you are in a tourist industry...an attitude adjustment should be a part of your business plan.

Read More
  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Jan 29, 2008

Resting on past laurels

can't imagine why this place is so well rated as it really is extremely expensive and food is just so-so. The owners are extremely rude and attempt to make you feel like THEY are doing YOU a favor by being open. There are so many great restaurants on this island, don't bother paying top dollar for at-best mediocre food. For some real decent food, ambiance and service, head over to Coco Bistro, Caicos Cafe, Mango Reef, or Grace's Cottage, or Parallel

23 at the Regent Palms, or Simba at the Turks and Caicos Club, or Baci or Sharkbite, the list goes on....

Read More
  • Room

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Aug 16, 2007

Best place on the island!

Coyoba is my favorite place to dine on Provo. Having lived in Chicago and New York, I've dined at my fair share of excellent restaurants but Coyoba still remains in my top five favorite places. The atmosphere is great, the food is excellent and the staff has always been friendly. Definitely don't miss out on the apple tart dessert.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement

X

No Thanks

Love To Travel?

Get FREE e-mail communications from Fodor's Travel, covering must-see travel destinations, expert trip planning advice, and travel inspiration to fuel your passion.

How we use your email

Thank You

Now sit back, relax, and check your inbox to start planning your next travel adventure.

Please tell us more about the type of travel you're interested in. Check all that apply.