Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

St. Lucia Restaurants

Dasheene Restaurant and Bar

  • Caribbean
  • Fodor's Choice

Updated 02/28/2014

Fodor's Review

The terrace restaurant at Ladera resort has breathtakingly close-up views of the Pitons and the sea between them, especially beautiful at sunset. The ambience is casual by day and magical at night. Appetizers may include grilled crab claws with a choice of dips or silky pumpkin soup with ginger. Typical entrées are "fisherman's catch" with a choice of flavored butters or sauces, shrimp Dasheene (panfried with local herbs), grilled rack of lamb with coconut risotto and

curry sauce, or pan-seared fillet of beef marinated in a lime-and-pepper seasoning. Light dishes, pasta dishes, and fresh salads are also served at lunch—along with that million-dollar view.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

Ladera, 2 miles (3 km) south of Soufrière, Soufrière, St. Lucia

Phone:

758-459–7323

Website: www.ladera.com

Updated 02/28/2014

Advertisement

What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 16, 2010

Dasheene Restaurant & Bar Review

We drove to Dasheene from the northern part of the island for lunch and the journey was worth it! The staff was lovely and the food was good but not excellent. The views were spectacular - overall would recommend Dasheene.

By 711

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 12, 2008

What a view!

The place is to visit for the view. The rest is fine, but not outstanding. It's a long way from anywhere.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 13, 2007

very nice

Had lunch with good people and great food.

By Natalia

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 20, 2006

Great food, service and view!!!

I really can not imagine why people would rate this place poorly--we ate there 3 times during our stay at Jalousie resort--the food, drinks and service were very, very, very good!!! We though it was very reasonably priced for this type of restaurant. The view at sunset was absolutely stunning. I would highly reccommned this place!

By Julie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 9, 2006

So good at dinner we went back for breakfast

Best views of anywhere we dined in St. Lucia. Best place for drinks at sunset, plus live music. Very nice menu for dinner and breakfast.

By Marc

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 2, 2003

Somewhat Less Than Dasheeng

Curious how anyone could rate this the best restaurant anywhere, let alone on St. Lucia. Actually, the best restaurant we found, notably not included on Fodor's list, is Chic (pronounced "Shiek"). Chic, not Dasheene, is as good as anything found anywhere.

By Jean

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 26, 2002

Paradise

Dasheene offers a wonderful dining experience. Fantastic food. A creole tomato soup I still fantasize about. Great fresh fish. Views that seem straight from a movie set. It is a bit pricey, but worth it. Service isn't American hectic, but island relaxed. If you can deal with that -- and you should -- you won't be disappointed.

By Alan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 16, 2001

Come hungry and bring your camera!

After trying other restaurants in Soufriere', we agreed that nothing can compare to Dashene. The food, wine list and views were impaccable. While the service was a liitle slow at times, and the prices were not cheap, who cared, we were on vacation anyway. To get a good table, it helps to make reservations.

By Ken

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 26, 2001

Unbelieveable!

Unbelieveable describes many things at Dasheene, from the view, decor,construction, food taste and presentation. Only downside was the slow service (even with a 6:30 sitting) - wich is similar at other places (Island time, not North American time - don't worry be happy). The server also wasn't happy to be working with a group of 7 plus a 2 year old (hence the early setting as I didn't want to ruin any honeymoons!). Food was delicious from appetizer

through main course, dessert and coffee. Presentation gets an A+. People on the site warned of price, but its no different than any other major city such as New York or Toronto (ex- exchange rate issue).

Read More

By lisa

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 21, 2000

One of the most beautiful views in the world

Delicious food, friendly waitstaff that will go out of their way to make sure you're happy, and one of the most spectacular views I've ever seen. If you want to ensure a table by the edge, call and make a reservation. And definitely make sure you get there before sunset to fully appreciate the vantage point! Breakfasts and lunches are far more affordable than dinners, which can be pricey.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement