Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

St. Lucia Hotels

Sandals La Toc Golf Resort & Spa

  • La Toc Rd. Map It
  • Luxurious Retreat

Pros

  • Lots to do
  • Picturesque location
  • On-site golf
  • Airport shuttle

Cons

  • Somewhat isolated
  • Expert golfers will prefer the St. Lucia Golf Resort &
  • Country Club at Cap Estate

Updated 02/28/2014

Fodor's Review

One of three Sandals resorts on St. Lucia, this is the second-largest and distinguishes itself with its own 9-hole golf course (for guests only). Like the others, it's for couples only and is all-inclusive. The resort covers 200 acres on a hillside overlooking the sea at La Toc on the southern shore of Castries Bay. Guest rooms are lavishly decorated with rich mahogany furniture and king-size four-poster beds. Many rooms have private plunge pools. The main pool, with its

waterfall and bridges, and a long crescent beach are focal points for socializing and enjoying water sports. Massages, scrubs, and wraps are available at the full-service spa for an additional charge. Six restaurants serve Asian, Continental, French, Mediterranean, Southwestern, or Caribbean cuisine. A dozen bars serve unlimited liquid refreshments. An hourly shuttle connects all three Sandals properties.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

La Toc Rd., Castries, St. Lucia

Map It

Phone:

758-452–3081

Website: www.sandals.com

Hotel Details:

  • 212 rooms, 116 suites
  • All-inclusive

Updated 02/28/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

See all hotels in St. Lucia

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 6, 2014

Horrible. Would Never Recommed It.

My husband and I were here on our honeymoon there and I cannot even begin to describe how unsatisfied we were. To begin with, we paid extra money for a "honeymoon hideaway" butler suite as it was portrayed that they were secluded and the big advantage was the chaise lounge chairs and plunge pool on our patio. We spent the extra money because we did not want to have to spend our honeymoon by the alarm clock to ensure we got to the pool in time to

get a chair (they will only hold your chairs for you until 10am, after that they give them away and good luck to you finding one). I was so excited to just be able to roll out of bed and lay in the sun on my own patio. Except the only thing we were hidden away from was the SUN! There was a path not even 15 feet from our patio with the doors to the next row of "honeymoon hideaways" so sitting on our patio enjoying private time was absolutely not possible. Because the patio was completely shaded, I could not lay in the sun out there and definitely could not use the pool as without the sun to warm it, it was like ice. We voiced our displeasure and they moved us to another room that had maybe 2 feet of sun so I could turn my chair up against the wall and get a little sun, still couldn't use the pool we paid extra money for though. There were dead bugs all over the counter in our bathroom which I figured out a day later was due to a vent with large slats that opened directly to the outside, no screen, no window, nothing. When others would walk past our room, their conversations came through so clearly we could have joined in. I found this especially mortifying as that would mean that they could also hear what was going on in our room. This was incredibly embarrassing to me. And you would think that for a company that focuses on romantic and special vacations for couples, that they would be more cautious of things like this and provide more privacy for their guests. The nightstand, a table and even the toilet all teetered and were uneven. I almost fell off the toilet at one point because it rocked so much. The gap under our door was more than an inch big...allowing lizards, bugs, frogs, whatever to join us in our room if they wanted. The fans had two speeds - barely turning and wind tunnel. Oh, and please don't forget the one night when we went to get into bed and found a two inch long blood stain on our sheets. We tried to call housekeeping to have them come change it but could not reach anyone so we put two towels down on top of each other to make sure we didn't touch it but I still could barely sleep I was so grossed out. These things all seem minor, however, when you are paying $7000-$8000 for a trip, you don't expect things like this. Honestly, I would complain about things like this at a $150 a night Holiday Inn or Marriott. And the massage on the beach...DON'T DO IT!!!! This was something I looked forward to the most so you can imagine my surprise when I was brought to an elevated gazebo right in front of a beach volleyball game and 30 feet from the biggest pool at the resort. No way to enjoy the massage between the noise of the game and bad Justin Beiber karaoke not to mention the constant fear that my sheet was going to fly off and expose me to all of Sandals. Definitely not romantic or relaxing. Bottom line, NOTHING about this resort was what it appeared online. Even our excursions were unlike what they were portrayed. Then to make matters worse, when I expressed my frustration after the trip, the response was that I could have two free nights at any resort to be used in 12 months but I also had to sign a contract that I would not write anything derogatory about Sandals anywhere. With as expensive as Sandals is, it would cost far more than it is worth for those two free nights. Not to mention, they ruined our HONEYMOON, a once in a lifetime trip, something we can't get back or redo and the fact that that was only worth 2 nights to them is insulting and speaks VOLUMES to how much they obviously do not care about their customers. I even mentioned that it would be impossible for us to use the nights in 12 months because I am returning to school in the fall and between my work schedule and my school schedule, we will not be able to travel until at least December 2015 and they did not even so much as OFFER to even extend the ridiculous offer they gave which was more like spitting on our feelings. After we got home, I wondered if it was just our bad luck, so many others had enjoyed their trips and I was open to giving sandals one more try but after the way we were treated by their "manager" and our experience so clearly belittled, I will never do business with them again for the sheer fact that I want to give my money and business to people who care about it and appreciate it.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 26, 2013

My girlfriend and I just returned from a and overall we were happy but did have some complaints. Ride & View on Arrival - The ride in from the airport was a trip in itself really narrow roads through the mountains plenty of nice view and some scary spots but that's St Lucia. Not an official Sandals shuttle it was like a guy in a small minibus. The sad part is as many resorts are the surrounding area seems very poor but not Sandals fault. Once

we got to the resort the layout and view was very nice. Well manicured and we were driven to a separate check-in since we got the butler service. The check-in process was nice. We sat they gave us drinks and a snack as they checked us in. The Butlers then took us to the room and explained everything and also gave a quick tour of the resort. The grounds were very nice for my taste. The Room - The room was nice. Smaller than I expected very tight but nice overall. We had the 2 story suite in the Piton Suites right across from one of the pools. 2 complaints (1) CATS , CATS and more CATS. we ate breakfast on our patio and 3 cats just sat waiting for us to finish then the second I seemed finished one jumped up on my plate and snatched a sausage. (2) We were right across from the Piano bar so late nite music until about 3am not good unless you are in the bar. Service - The service overall was good but had some small issues there too. One nite we called in some room service and our butler told us one other nite we ordered room service and they knocked and knocked and we never answered. The problem with that is it wasn't us. We told that he was mistaken and he told us yes it was us. Then our food then came 2 hours later almost like they punished us for something we didn't do. That was the last time we ordered room service. The good part was the butler kept leaving us nice things in the room. One nite a drawn bath with flowers and another the bed covered with flowers spelling I love you. nice touches. Golf - FALSE Advertisement!!!! We read on there site that golf was included for this location so I carried the clubs to get alot of golf in. Got the club house and was charged green fees I explained to the them this should be included they said NOPE its not. So including the cost of an extra bag by the airlines and green fees for one round I spent an additional $250. Clearly would have played more golf had it been included like there site states. this is clearly false advertising. Restaurants - The restaurants were nice and the food in some good and others just OK. Neptune's was a nice place for lunch and dinner. The Italian restaurant was closed the entire time so we didn't get to that one. Kimones was good also so was the Pitons restaurant. Food at the Pavillion was just ok but breakfast from the grill was better. Alot of the food was more buffet style and tasted like buffet food. The choice of places to eat were limited since one was closed the others were reservation only and you have to go to the other resorts to get to more then half of them The Beach and Candlelight Dinner- The beach at La Toc was very nice expect for the locals trying to sell us stuff all the time. The side of the beach we stayed was semi private most of the time which was very nice. Thats what we were looking for and at some times it was empty. We went to the Beach at the grande too but wasn't as happy. More of a party atmosphere and not as nice of or private of a beach. Did the Jetski was fun. We did do the candlelight dinner on the beach. This was not worth it($175). We sat on the beach which we thought would be private it was not. We were 10 feet from another couple having dinner on the beach and some locals kept walking back and forth giving us the I'm hngry look which was turning us off. Then the tide came in and washed us out. They need to make this more private and keep the locals away the tide they cant control but but the other 2 issues are controllable. Walking around, the shuttles and Roaches - We walked around alot and rarely saw shuttles so we kept hitchhiking with the other butlers in the golf carts. No complaints but where were the shuttles. The other thing was we walked through the main building and saw one of the biggest roaches I ever saw. This thing was the size of a shoe, mid day just sitting on the wall. Saw another one eating dinner at Neptunes. Hilarious!!! Netpunes is outside and the tables are next to a railing in front of the beach. A huge roach walked across the railing and then jumped from the railing on the table next to us and landed in the ladies glass of water.She screamed!! This was like a 3 foot jump impressive. I know this is the Caribbean and also outside so I can understand sit tough to get a handle on these things but damn this roach was mature and buff I think it worked out. We didn't see any in or around our building. Departure - The last day was all worked out for us. The butler came and grabbed our bags with a shuttle took us to the butler category office. We sat and waited for a car to ride us to the airport. We had a single car nice and a very cool driver. Took us around and showed us sites let us stop and get some camera shots of St Lucia. All Inclusive?? - Not everything is all inclusive it depends on where you buy it on the resort. Between the excursions, the tipping and the selective all inclusive you end up spending alot more money while on the resort. So overall was some what happy but was disappointed about the cats, roaches and what really pissed me off was the NOT included greens fees that they clearly advertise ARE included. My next trip I am definitely looking at other resorts first but would not cancel out Sandals as an option.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 2, 2011

Sandals Regency St. Lucia Golf Resort & Spa Review

I am pretty easy going, but I have to blow the whistle on this place. My wife and I have been married for 6 years, both in our early 30's and easy to please. We go to the Caribbean two times per year, for the last 8 years, and have Secrets, Barcelo, Hilton, many more- to compare to. This place was extremely disappointing and so were the other Sandals locations on the island; there is a free shuttle to the other two resorts. We spent $6,000 (most

of our great vacations have been around $4,000) for the worst food and only a pool to sit by....you cannot enter the ocean, it is so rough that one woman had to be rescued from almost drowning. My wife had a "garage sale" from a wave while trying to get off a jetskii and lost her glasses and headband and spent the next few hours getting out water and sand, which is a little funny, but none the less-dangerous. It was a scary moment because we are talking about an instant 8 foot break on top of you. Sandals is a powerful brand with a good marketing campaign in the USA, and I have to say that I was saddened to see all the newlyweds spending the money from wedding gifts at a resort that only has a few kinds of fruit, and labels itself "all inclusive." I eat more fresh fruit in -20F in Northern Wisconsin than this place had to offer. Apparently all inclusive means guests pay for your snacks, most activities, your wine, your Internet, your hygiene products, your beer (in most rooms), and there is no "top shelf as advertised. No Capt'n, no Grey Goose, no Grand M, nothing. I did complain and one front desk woman laughed in my face, I guess that is because I did not yell and scream like the other guest I saw who were having similar experiences. I got home today and I have a Sandals vacation booked in Jamaica for May, after this review next on my agenda is to change it to a different resort chain. Most of the resort patrons were newlyweds, many out of the USA for the first time and spending up to two weeks in this dump, please vote with your wallet, the resorts are nothing like the Ads they place on TV. St Lucia is a beautiful island and if you go a few pages into google there are so many beautiful resorts and sandy beaches (we took a private, local sailboat, nothing to do with Sandals, so I saw what I missed) that if you look around a bit you will get a great deal in paradise. Just not at Sandals.

Read More

By jmg912x

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 16, 2010

Sandals Regency St. Lucia Golf Resort & Spa Review

I will never stay at another Sandals ever again! Totally unorganized, lots of empty promises, impossible to get any needs met, and overall NOT the luxary they claim to be. They promised all kinds of things if I upgraded my room and didn't follow through on any. The rooms were mediocre at best and smelled like smoke and musty beach smell. Iron didn't work and couldn't get it replaced no matter how many times I asked. Food was terrible. The swim up

pool bar was out the entire time we were there. Our elevator was out most days. Renovations being done everyone - very inconvenient. I could go on, but I just don't want to put any more of my time or energy into this crappy hotel! NEVER EVER AGAIN

Read More

By pegR

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 6, 2009

Shame on Sandals!

See the letter I wrote to the founder of sandals after leaving his resort in disgust after only 2 nights of a 7 night booking.... Dear Mr. Stewart, I watched your Sandals Chairman’s video prior to booking my recent vacation at Sandals Regency Resort in St. Lucia. Your testimonial was key to my choosing Sandals as my vacation destination. I now request that you take the time to hear my testimonial after spending a horrifying two days at the

Regency Resort. I booked the Romeo and Juliet Penthouse Suite (Room 895) for the period of January 3 – 10, 2009 at a cost of $6,556.90. We arrived at the airport after our helicopter transfer and were told that no one from Sandals was there to meet us, as had been confirmed prior to departure. We were forced to book a taxi and pay for it ourselves. Mildly unsettling and certainly not a promising start to our luxury all-inclusive vacation. Within minutes of being shown to our suite my partner and I noticed that the walls had mold growing on them and the room was in terrible disrepair. We asked to speak to the management and the head Butler, whose name we believe is Dipac, explained that he realized the room was in need of renovation and that he was happy to report that the rooms were scheduled for renovation in the near future. However, he also informed us that no other rooms were available until mid-week and that if we wanted to transfer we would have to pay to upgrade to this new room. I made it clear to Dipac that I was not satisfied with this solution and felt that we should be moved immediately. He repeated that there was nothing he could do, but he did acknowledge that our complaints were valid. We have attached photographs to provide proof of the conditions we encountered. (1) there was mold growing on the walls, (2) the window screen and window cranks were broken and there was bird feces on the outside of the windows, (3) the ceilings were stained with watermarks, (4) the bathroom floor was chipped and there was mold and dirt packed into edges of the floors, (5) the tracks of the sliding glass windows were disgustingly dirty and filled with mold, (6) the furniture showed years of use and wear and the chair fabrics stained. We spent the night in that room, against our wishes, and awoke to an intense smell of mold and must and with a floor covered with a heavy layer of condensation. I almost fell trying to get out of bed because the floors were so slippery. My partner, who has strong reactions to smell, was in extreme distress. I had made it clear to the resort, prior to our arrival, that we required no scents in the room. There is a note to this effect in our Butler pre arrival log. We had to leave the room immediately to get away form the mold smell. We quickly made the decision that we could not expose ourselves to the mold in our room After trying to get online to get an immediate flight home, we realized that the promised “in room” internet service did not exist. We had to walk to the main lobby and conduct our business in full view of the management. Our inability to deal with this matter in private caused us concern. The management had made it clear to us the prior day that they were unable or unwilling to accommodate our need for a room without mold. Here we were some three thousand miles from home on an island with no US embassy. We were completely in the power of your resort to meet our safety and health needs. Due to our fear of potential retribution, we chose to use the excuse of a family emergency to appease the management and obtain their help getting home quickly. In truth, the emergency was that we feared for our own health and safety. Martina, from the main desk, worked diligently to get us a flight home. Unfortunately, the soonest flight available was the next day (Jan 5th) and at a cost $1,800. Thus, we were forced to stay one more day at the resort. We attempted to make the best of this final 24 hours. We first went to the dive center and learned that, contrary to what is advertised, the scuba was not free and required a $75 lesson fee. Several people waiting in line were upset about this “hidden” fee. While waiting our turn, we realized that the dive staff was completely disorganized and unprofessional. We did not feel comfortable trusting these individuals with our safety in a boat and under water. We chose, instead, to spend time at the main pool and on the beach. You will see in the attached photos that the pool, which you advertise as a stunning gem on the island, is, in fact, in serious disrepair with cracked tiles and rust stains. The photos that you use in your video show a pool in perfect condition with water fountains flowing. The same fountains that work so well in the video remained off during our entire 3 days stay. During our several hour stay at the pool and on the beach we repeatedly smelled sewage and had to move to new locations. We attempted to get towels and were told there were no clean ones available. Imagine, a “luxury” beach resort with no towels. We visited the Red Lane Spa, advertised as a luxury spa experience, and paid $260 for a couple’s massage. When I tried to shower before my massage, I learned that the spa had no running hot water. I went to the spa attendant and was told I would have had to walk up the Bluff to my room if I wished to shower first. I was not told this when I booked the massage, or even when I entered the spa, but rather after I had disrobed and could not get a refund. One area of service that I will not go into in great detail, but that certainly deserves your immediate attention was the restaurant service and food quality. We were appalled at the low quality of the meals we received. Suffice to say that even at your most prestigious restaurant, Le Toc, our meals were disappointing, to say the least. I feel compelled to note the two shining stars of your staff, the head butler (Dipac) and the office manager (Martina). Clearly you have numerous talented and capable staff, if only you would invest in the infrastructure renovations required to bring this resort to the level they, and more importantly the consumers, deserve. Here is one example of what I mean. We were told that you had just arrived at the resort as we were about to leave. This individual divulged to us his hope that your toilet backed up so that you would understand how seriously compromised the infrastructure really was. He was very pessimistic that the management would permit you to see all the problems that existed. He truly loved working at Sandals but felt horrible about how the guests were being “ripped off” and then left with bad feelings about his island. If only you could promote this caring individual to a position where he could make a difference! One final comment about our safety concerns. As we put our luggage into the taxi for the ride to the airport we noticed that my luggage had been tampered with. We found a large bag of candles packed into one of the compartments. We asked about this and were told that our butler, Shanna, had placed the candles in my bag as a convenience while she carried them to the front desk. She then forgot to remove them. What Shanna did not seem to understand was that she had violated my right to privacy. She had opened my luggage. How do I know what else she put in my bag, or took out. I had to unpack and search for any further “hidden” items to be sure I was not carrying something illegal into customs. You advertise highly trained professional butlers in your video. When I brought this matter to their attention they laughed at me. Let me end this letter with some information about myself. First, I am an experienced traveler. As a professional biologist, I have traveled to numerous developing countries, including some with very meager accommodations, such as Kenya, Tanzania and the Galapagos Islands. I am not fearful of staying in primitive conditions. I have slept in tents in Africa and in grungy hotel rooms in the Galapagos. In both of those cases, I got exactly what I had been promised – meager accommodations at meager prices. In contrast, at your resort I got dismal, unhealthy accommodations for the price of a luxury resort. In fact, in all of my travels, I have never encountered the lack of concern for my health and safety as I experienced during my brief stay at your resort. It was clear that the management had no interest in providing the “luxury” service you so proudly boast in your video. What a horrid, horrid, experience....

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 13, 2007

Sandals Grande

My husband and I returned to Sandals Grande last week, as we had been totally enthusiastic last year. We like the atmosphere, the magnificent bay on which it stands, and the great choice of activities and tours. We were a bit disappointed by the fact that the highlight of our last tour, Martinique Splendor ( a full day trip , by boat, to Martinique), is no longer sold at the tour desk. Fortunately, we managed to book directly with the tour itself,

called St.Lucian Wave Riders . Their phone numbers are everywhere on the island. It is by far the best tour on the island and the best value for money....We realized that Sandals was charging a lot more than what we were asked when booking direct...So, good for us...And for whoever needs the tip !

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 22, 2007

Exceptional Week

Impecable service, room refreshed twice a day. Turn down service nightly. Minibar restocked daily. Local seafood available daily prepared many delicious ways. Unlimited excellent French champagne. Recommend all but the Pitons for dinner. Japanese, Italian, French, Southwest, Regional Caribbean, informal snacks and pizza, not to mention availability of food 24/7! Cooked to order breakfast at the Pavillion, or go up to the bluffs for breakfast,

lunch or dinner with a spectacular view. Exceptional van drivers went out of their way to stop for photos, answer questions, cater to us. Our Dive master was patient and knowledgable, showed grace under pressure when more than one "diver" suffered anxiety on the dive. Manager of the resort engaged us in conversation daily...more than just a hello. A huge FLAT screen, champagne flowing, and beautiful views on our patio. Manicured beach, fresh towels whenever needed, bar service right at your chaise lounge. Lovely, white-gloved service at our candlelight dinner, unobtrusive photographers, exceptional staff, and I must say the cleanest, TRASH-FREE resort and island we have ever visited! Halcyon was too close to the main road, too dark and too many security guards that made us wonder what problems may be happening at that resort - although dinner at the Pier was excellent. We didn't make it over to the Grande...because we were out diving and snorkling EVERY day which was included at no additional cost...we just ran out of time. Go and splurge on a week or so here....oh yeah.. we heard the wedding planning services and packages were excellent. Must be -- we saw at least 15 couples get married in just 3 days. Excellent but too short stay at the Regency.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 10, 2007

A So-So Deal

We just honeymooned here. I immediately disliked the airport in Castries. A porter grabbed our bags for a 3 foot walk to the taxi & then "asked" for a tip! The hotel check-in went smoothly. We had one of the suites without the private pool. The room was lovely-with a bar that they restocked every day. The beach & pools were wonderful, except that it was hard to get towels at certain times. Restaurant foods were definitely not gourmet, but we were

satisfied. The horseback riding was definitely not worth the money. The trail was not scenic, as described. You go down a rode, passing by locals' shanty houses. Once on the beach, local vendors approach you to buy there goods. They are creepy! One guy insisted on rubbing aloe on my husband's sunburn & then asked for money when we were leaving. They give you a cold drink & again ask for money. The brochure doesn't mention bringing any cash, so of course we didn't have any. Once in the water, there was poop floating all around.Back at the hotel, beware the bats flying around the amphitheater at night & the rats that run around the shrubbery & across paths at night. When we ate at the Mexican restaurant a gigantic cockaroach walked out of the kitchen area & right under our table & across the floor.I couldn't put my feet down & relax. Thank God the food was awful & my husband couln't eat his dinner(fajitas). Then a bat came flying into the restaurant. We decided to leave. The Red Lane Spa is not worth the ridiculous prices! I would not recommend the smaller airport. We spent 9 hours there on our return because the plane that came in for us had a leak. They airport has no mechanics & no extra planes. We had to wait for the next flight in from San Juan. The security guards wouldn't even let us leave the departure room to get air or a smoke! All-in-all, I'm still trying to decide if the trip was worth it.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 18, 2007

No Pressure

"No pressure, no problem" is a line frequently used by St. Lucians (at least to tourists). Not only capturing the spirit of the island, the phrase also makes reference to the island's volcano, which emits gases rather than allowing pressure to build and increasing the likelihood of a dangerous eruption. We certainly had nine days without any pressures or problems at the all-inclusive Sandals Regency (meaning all food, booze, tips, and watersports

are included in the upfront cost). We became quite accustomed to staying there, and it was very difficult to pack our bags and leave. In spite of having a spectacular and fulfilling honeymoon, we were both practically tearing up as our flight leaving the small airport at St. Lucia's capital of Castries turned onto the runway. The people---from those working at the resort to villagers we encountered on excursions---could not have been nicer. The weather was beautifully hot and tropical. The food at our resort totally exceeded our expectations, and so many little things and gestures from our hosts (Sandals and otherwise) made all the difference in our spectacular honeymoon. For example: a beachside snack bar with pizza and make-your-own nachos with deliciously spicy salsa (they were not afraid to kick things up at the resort, foodwise), queso sauce, and one of the best guacamoles I have ever had (probably because of the local avocados). What could be better than to take a respite from the beach and have a beer, some pizza, and nachos? I do not think there is anything I like better to eat, especially in the grab-a-bite beach setting. Anyway, it was a wonderful honeymoon, the scenery was amazing, and the dining was highly satisfactory, exceeding our expectations and even amazing us at times. We highly recommend the Sandals Regency, or, if you really want to splurge, the Grande. I really have no idea what resort the other Fodor's reviewers stayed at. Certainly was not the Sandals Regency, from what we saw.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 13, 2007

A total ripoff

We wasted $5k and a week. The service was terrible and the food even worse. Who would think that you go to a resort in the tropics and not be able to get a real fruit drink. The place stunk of sewage and was under construction. Never again!!!!

By Liz

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 29, 2006

"They give you everything at Sandals"...hmmmm

My husband and I went here for our honeymoon and it wasn't the magical vacation you see on the commercials. We got there and the music from the night club was so loud and there was a girl passed out on a bench outside. The servers are less than friendly, having the attitude that they almost resent the guests there. Breakfast and lunch buffets were good, but dinners at the restaraunts were gross. Rooms were average, not breathtaking, but it was

nice to relax and not have to carry around a purse or wallet. Good perk about Sandals is that they take you to the other resorts. The Sandals Halcyon has an italian restaurant called Mario's that has incredible food!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 21, 2005

No Pressure/No Service

Very disappointing! Claims to be "World's Most Luxurious All Inclusive" and is priced as such, but very, very mediocre!!! Food was poor to mediocre at best; service was extremely poor although staff for the most part were friendly. Overall, this 35 year old resort is not aging gracefully! The only rooms even worth looking into are the rooms on the bluff with 24 hour room service (but don't order!!) and 24 hour concierge. Depite our Do Not Disturb

sign, our butler felt compelled to call us each morning at 7:30 a.m. Otherwise, she was nowhere to be seen! We were in our room for 2 days before we even met our night butler!!! Very poor value!

Read More

By Mike

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 30, 2003

Great Honymoon spot

I just got back from this resort and my new wife and I really enjoyed our stay. The food was great, drinks were good the service was good we rarely had to wait for anything. I recommend the Deluxe Ocean Veiw room it was the first room that I had ever been in where the view was really what was advertised. The only complaint I had was that they occasionaly ran out of towels by the pool because the resort was so full, but really I was on my honymoon

so I was in no hurry I just let the sun dry me. For the person that keeps posting his review from 4 years ago I think you need to let it go, all I have to say is if it was really bad 4 years they are great now.

Read More

By Kevin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 30, 2002

More like an "All EX-CLUSIVE"

Very dissappointed in our stay at Golf & Spa resort. There was a promotional photo-shoot on the property while we were there and all sorts of things were either closed or off limits. We participated in the Sandals "Dine-Around" program with the other two resorts on the island, but the photo-shoot had been extended to those resorts as well. I've worked in the food service business part time for 14 years and I can't believe they actually pawn off

the food they serve at Sandals as "gourmet." Hardly! VERY small portions and only mediocre quality. Also, some premium bar selections were not available at Golf & Spa, but were available at the other two Sandals. If you're interested in a tour, DO NOT book through the hotel. They charged us a $46 "service fee" for a 30 second phone conversation to place a tour reservation.

Read More

By Paul

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 16, 2002

Disappointed in Sandals

Broken A/C, terrible experience with the water sports center. Main pool area was closed many days. Jacuzzi was closed almost every day before sunset. Would never go to another Sandals.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 9, 2002

Not All That

My husband and I went for our honeymoon and were not impressed for the amount of money we spent. Rooms were ok except for the air conditioner that sounded like a fire alarm everytime it kicked on (slightly annoying when you are sleeping). Service was not great at the restaurants.....we usually would receive our first cup of coffee at breakfast just before we were about to leave. The the food was great, no complaints about that. Spa services were

not worth the money, I get a lot more for the money at home. The one thing that shocked us most was returning home to a phone message from one of the staff members of the resort calling to tell us that 2 towels and an ashtray were missing from our room and if we could call them back to let know what happened to them. First of all we don't smoke, and second, we would not of taken the 2 starched white towels with "Sandals Golf Resort" written in black permanent magic marker. So all in all, I would not go back to another Sandals resort again.

Read More

By Sue

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 15, 2002

Wedding Bliss or Blast?

This is truly the wedding capital of St. Lucia. One day there was 9 weddings! We were there for my 50th birthday. The grounds were nice but I thought Breezes at Runaway Bay, Jamaica was prettier. We are beach people so we were very disappointed with the narrow beach, no umbrellas and very steep drop off. The waves knock you down and you're only in about 3 feet! My husband attempted to waterski but the water was very rough and he is a very good

skier. We went to Sandals Halcylon during the day and returned to the Golf resort in the evening. That worked out fine. That resort was much less crowded and a lot quieter. The beach was wider and the sea calmer. We totally enjoyed the warm Caribbean water. The food never varied although they did have numerous restaurants to choice from and most required reservations. Heard some people got very sick from eating the fish at the Japanese place. The service wasn't very good as far as getting your beverages with your meal. Our room, unfortunately, was next to the entertainment/bar and in front of the pool on the first floor. The "entertainment" was so loud you couldn't hear the tv in our room! The room was always clean and we had no complaints about the room service. By the way, the "entertainment" was very bad. The "native" dancer was way too vulgar. I believe she should have been working the "gentlemen's clubs." Also, they really need to mix up the music more and turn it down. One can only listen to the same Raggea/rap for so long. Even the younger people weren't very happy with the loudness. We had the couples massage and it was wonderful. So relaxing. All in all I thought the resort itself was nice but I don't think we'll return. There's too many other islands to investigate.

Read More

By Josh

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 16, 2002

Always ask for the upgrade! Great rooms!

Went to St.Lucia first 2 weeks of Feb. So much nicer than Sandals Antigua or Halcyon...more like a Hawaiian resort, but friendlier, lusher and still laid back. Much more upscale than other Sandals. Beach is small but still nice and private (vendors not allowed) Incredible choice of rooms. Make sure and ask for the upgrade to suites on the slope or to the tower on the cliffs. Rooms by the pool could be noisy (lots of live music..great bands).

The suites were great. Food was consistently good...probably due to French influence. 5 restaurants, plus you can always go to Halcyon by shuttle. Water was a bit rough in February, probably nicer in late summer. Beautiful island.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement