Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

St. Lucia Hotels

Anse Chastanet Resort

  • Anse Chastanet Rd. Map It
  • $$$$
  • Casual Chic

Pros

  • Great for divers
  • Room 14B has a huge tree growing through the bathroom
  • The open-wall Piton views

Cons

  • No pool
  • Entrance road is annoying even in a 4WD vehicle
  • Steep hillside certainly not conducive to strolling
  • No in-room TVs, phones, or a/c

Updated 02/28/2014

Fodor's Review

This resort is magical: spectacular rooms—some with fourth walls completely open to the stunning Piton views—peek out of the thick rain forest that cascades down a steep hillside to the sea. Deluxe hillside rooms have a balcony, tile floors, handmade wooden furniture, madras fabrics, and impressive artwork. You won't find any communication devices, technology, or interruption: it's delightfully peaceful. Diving, jungle biking through the estate's 600 acres, and ocean

kayaking are premier activities; rejuvenate afterward at the Kai Belte Spa. Be prepared, though, for the bone-crushing dirt road between the town and the resort and the steep climb to most rooms. There is a helipad, so you can get to the airport by helicopter if you prefer. A water taxi offers an alternative way into town, or you can simply revel in the gorgeous isolation. Shuttle service is available to negotiate the 100 steps between the beach and the hillside rooms.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Anse Chastanet Rd., Soufrière, St. Lucia

Map It

Phone:

758-459–7000; 800-223–1108-in U.S.

Hotel Details:

  • 49 rooms
  • No meals; Some meals

Updated 02/28/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 9, 2012

What a magical place!

A hotel with incredible, unusual and spectacular views from the rooms. Spacious rooms, with an open fourth wall with stunning views of the magical Pitons that seemed so close by. The lush rain forest and the verdant foliage was a lovely backdrop. It is a struggle to go back and forth to the beach- climbing innumerable steep steps but once we got there, we didnt need to move. The water is clear and peaceful - the views are serene and magical. The

staff were very helpful and very courteous. The restaurants were few and the choices limiting but the chefs would come out and happily make changes and take suggestions.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 27, 2012

Anse Chastanet Resort Review

We went to Anse Chastanet for our honeymoon and could not of had a better honeymoon. Everyone was so friendly and helpful that we didn't have to worry about one thing and could spend our time together without every having to lift a finger. It was so romantic there too! Our room was so huge I think my husband guessed about about 1,500 sq feet with an AMAZING view of the pitons. Everything was open but at the same time very private and secluded. I read

on tripadvisor that some people didn't like that there was no airconditioning but there were rooms with a/c but I don't know why you would want it. I guess it is just personal preference I would not want to be spending my time in an air conditioned room with 4 walls when I can do that anywhere in the world. All the rooms are all completely different and unique, It is simply amazing! The breeze blowing through the rooms kept them so cool and i was worried about bugs but literally they were not a problem at all. I barley saw any the whole trip which was so different from our experiences in the dominican and other islands. There was so much to do as well. Almost too much. We planned to do everything like going jungle biking, climbing the pitons, sailing, zip lining, wind surfing, kayaking, bird watching and more but we ended up just relaxing on one of the two beaches. Plus the spas were amazing too. I spent a lot of time in them for sure haha. They were perfect to spend some time in while my husband went diving, he said it was great, it was so easy because the hotel had its own dive shop so he didn't have to do anything, just get dropped off at the sites, being lazy :). I am a very picky eater as well as a vegetarian so I thought I would have a problem finding something I liked but there are 5 different restaurants (6 including the lunch grill on the second beach) and one was a vegetarian so it was not hard for me to find something I liked. I also asked them to make things for me that weren't necessarily on the menu and they were so friendly and accommodating, they made anything I wanted. All in all I found it worth the money for sure. It was one of the most enjoyable holiday I've ever had. And as a honeymoon it was just magical. We want to go back. But we want Jade Mountain next time. If you've been to Anse Chastanet you know what I'm talking about!

Read More

By rsafier

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 13, 2011

Anse Chastanet Beach Hotel Review

Management set the tone before we even left home and I would like to tell the world that these people know what they are doing. Due to a horrible problem with our daughter’s wedding venue, we had to delay our visit to St. Lucia by a month. Unluckily, the promotion we had purchased expired midway between the two dates. When I contacted their reservations partner CaribIsles, Scot immediately and graciously extended the expiration to include our

new dates with no problem and no penalty. Wait, it gets even better. The wedding went beautifully and we set out to have our “honeymoon” in one of the best snorkeling spots in the world. It took only one night in a charming, tree house setting to determine that our room did not meet our needs. Peter Jean Paul led his staff in an all-out effort to determine which available accommodations would insure that we would enjoy our stay. Once we offered to pay for an upgrade, our belongings were moved into an enchanting, air-conditioned suite. The staff remained immersed and hospitable throughout our week on the property. Our stay was fantastic and the minimal $100/night up charge was a small price to pay to be cool, comfortable and enjoy our vacation with happiness and domestic tranquility. It starts at the top in this well-run, world-class resort and their attitude and outstanding service enabled us to happily decompress and thoroughly enjoy our first visit to this beautiful property. There are limited dining options on the property but don't let the menu limit you. If you want something different or something prepared differently, tell them. The staff proved to us that they were willing very accomodating.

Read More

By Erin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 30, 2006

Hated it

we had the most miserable honeymoon imaginable at this place. Don't believe the words "luxuriate" or "deluxe", the rooms are bug infested open air heat traps, and the view does not make up for the miserable accomodations. If you're not scuba diving, or if you want to luxuriate at all, don't go there. Several other couples left mid-week.

By Stuart

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 26, 2006

Almost Perfect

Anse Chastanet is indeed a lovely spot, and a very well run hotel. Secluded and lush, AC sits on a beautiful dark sand beach, with water so clear, you can see your toenails in neck-deep water. Outstanding diving and snorkeling off the beach. Free watersports galore, including their own 42 footer for day sails (not free). The staff is fantastic. On several occasions, I saw guests hugging staff members as they said their sad goodbyes on checkout

day. Food is very good and service, excellent. Rooms: Ours was large and fairly clean and comfy, but more like Nat park lodge than 5 star resort. The views of the Pitons were stunning. But for the price we paid, I expected something a lot more spiffy. Because of nearby construction, they upgraded us to the All Incl plan, which was way more than necessary, so who's complaining? 2 star room, 5 star views, 5 star price.

Read More

By Allen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 28, 2005

A memorable vacation

My wife and I split our vacation between the Windjammer and Anse Chastanet. While comparably priced rooms at the Windjammer were much more luxurious and comfortable, Anse Chastanet was our favorite of the two, with much more personality. At Windjammer, you wanted to lie around and do nothing all day. At Anse Chastanet, the resort just begged you to go out and get active, with excellent snorkeling right off the beach and a 600 acre plantation waiting

to be explored. But this is not for the weak of heart or knees, since the climb down (via steps of course) to the beach is quite strenuous. Go to the Windjammer to relax and be comfortable. Go to Anse Chastanet to experience St. Lucia in a way that you'll be talking about for years to come.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 6, 2005

Best service ever

Yes, Anse Chastanet is rustic, but it is also so beautiful and the views of the Pitons are spectacular. They need screens, though --- loads of mosquitoes. The best thing about this place is the staff --- SO warm and welcoming and attentive and fun. What a great experience. However, it is WAY too expensive!!

By Dana

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 11, 2005

A Really Hot Place

This is a hot place. Literally. The only a/c on the resort are in the two massage rooms. Rooms are open air (translated "really, really warm"). Mosquito nets required to avoid getting bitten. Even in January, this place was never comfortable. Power outages also a problem. Food was marginal and expensive; however, it doesn't stick with you, because hikes to/from rooms burn serious calories. This is not a high-end resort. If you like rustic,

off-the-beaten-path, maybe this would be okay. If you like high end, this is a huge pass.

Read More

By Jeff

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 9, 2003

Awful

Choose a different destination (especially if you are travelling with young children). This is not a resort for people with high standards (three star or greater). The hiking up and down steps is tiring and the lack of air conditioning is very uncomfortable. The food is awful at best and frequently scary, along with slow, stupid service. Don't go there with young children, there is no pool, the steps up and down from the beach (about 100 steep ones)

are impossible for small feet, and the bug bites will drive them crazy. The managers are less than helpful bordering on moronic. Coming to them with problems is akin to "speaking to the hand". Pass this resort up, or suffer as we did.

Read More

By Colin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 18, 2002

Paradise Found

We are about to fly from London to Anse Chastanet for the sixth time. We found it on a cruise some years ago. having travelled to many parts of the globe, Africa, maldives, far east, Med, other Caribbean Islands we have now found the place we want to be. Superb location, goodfood, wonderful staff. We feel part of the sorroundings. Plenty to do in the water both on it and under it.We cannot wait to get there again in June.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 13, 2002

First Class Paradise

The breathtaking views of the pitons are the first thing you will notice at Anse Chastanet, and it just gets better from there. The rooms are completely private yet totally open at the same time. The open air feeling is one you won't forget and will want to return to experience again! Anse Chastanet's beach is a wonderful place to relax, and the live reef is something to see. An easy swim out from the beach to snorkel around in the warm water

was a wonderful afternoon activity. I highly recommend this unique tropical getaway!

Read More

By Derek

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 10, 2002

Sheer bliss!

We've just returned from Anse Chastanet. What a fantastic place! The location could not be better and their staff were the best we have ever encountered in the Caribbean. We loved the food, and my wife was pleased that there also was a good vegetarian display. Did not realize they had a spa - we took full advantage of it! We mostly wanted to relax but ended up doing quite a bit of snorkeling and even tried out their bike trails. We hardly ever

go back to a place twice, but Anse Chastanet will be the exception.

Read More

By Mike

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 17, 2001

A perfect place for a Honeymoon!

We loved it. Away from the parties @ sandals, great activities, great people. Like a deluxe treehouse, it seems like it is just you and the beach. Highly reccommended.

By sheela

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 12, 2001

island paradise? This is it....

We love this resort so much, we've been back 3 times. The staff are fabulous, the meals are yummy, but the setting is breathtaking! It feels like you are on your own little tropical island.

By Paula

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 3, 2000

Rustic Luxury

We had been to St. Lucia before - a beautiful, lush, island with the spectacular Pitons. This was our first time staying at Anse Chastenet and would highly recommend it for those who don't mind stairs (272 stairs from our room to the beach)and nature. The room we stayed in was wide open (i.e., no screens or louvers on one side) with breathtaking views, but we also had vists by small birds, insects and small lizards. We did not mind this but others

might. The bathroom was large with double sinks and a large shower (no tub). There is much to see and do at the hotel; scuba, snorkelling, and great mountain biking on a part of the property that was once a French plantation (a fascinating place). It was a wonderful and relaxing vacation.

Read More

By Ben

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 9, 2000

Paradise!

It is the most beautiful island in the Carribiean! The people at Anse Chastanet are warm and wonderful!!!

By Sandra

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 18, 2000

Fabulous!

Everything about this place was great. Location, rooms, beach, etc... Spent a week there for our honeymoon and we did not want to come home. It was everything we expected and more.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement