Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

St. Barthelemy Restaurants

La Langouste

Updated 06/02/2014

Fodor's Review

This tiny but friendly beachside restaurant in the pool courtyard of Hôtel Baie des Anges lives up to its name by serving fresh-grilled local lobster, and lobster thermidor, at prices that are somewhat gentler than at most other island venues. Try starters like creole stuffed crab, scallop carpaccio, a warm goat cheese salad, or one of the five soups including classic Caribbean fish soup and lobster bisque. The well-prepared fish or pasta dishes are great main options,

and there are choices for meat fans as well. Classic French desserts like Floating Island with vanilla sauce, crepes suzette, and mango tart are worth the calories.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

Hôtel Baie des Anges, Anse des Flamands, 97133, St. Barthélemy

Phone:

0590-27–63–61

Restaurant Details:

  • Closed August 26 - October 15.
  • Reservations essential

Updated 06/02/2014

Advertisement

What's Nearby

  • Hotels

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 2, 2007

simplicity is sometimes best

This place lived up to it's legend.It is a very simple dining area where the perfect meal is to pick your lobster from the tank w/ a nice bottle of rose' and enjoy. It is a st barths classic not to be missed. Our most memorable meal on the whole island, not the fanciest,but the best.

By jrpinto

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 30, 2007

The most authentic restaurant on St. Barths...

We have been coming to St. Barths since the late 70s and La Langouste has always been there  first in Gustavia and now at Flamands. Anny looks the same now as when we first new her. She is the only St. Barths native to own and operate one of the great restaurants on the island. La Langouste is important because it is the place to go for the best selection of classic St. Barths fare: spiny lobster, accras, cristophine, etc.

By JJ

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 5, 2005

It's a go

I am not sure were the other guy was sitting but how can you not call it beautiful sitting around a lit pool hearing and smelling the waves rolling on the beach. Ambience is awesome. Food is awesome, and so is the host(ess) and owner. It is our first nights meal every visit. It's a teat.

By Todd

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 6, 2004

Great food, bad location

Hard to find, tackily decorated (think Brady Bunch chic meets the beach), but the food is fantastic and the service - especially for the FWI - is outstanding. Some of the largest lobsters I have ever seen expertly prepared is only one reason to give this out of the way place a try.

By Peter

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 6, 2002

A dream

Year after year we choose to return making it our first dinner upon arrival.The owner (she works the door) has her hands full balancing the restaurant with the guest rooms but pulls it off well. It is always a treat.The food is awesome. The relaxing atmosphere sitting by the pool. And of course the cutest little dog that runs around. The scar on his face is from hot oil. He is doing well. Yes a hidden jem. Tough to find, just head towards Flammands,

but well worth it.

Read More

By Richard

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 4, 2002

Oooh La La Langouste!

Simply superb lobster! Wonderful accras (cod fritters) as well. Great fun sitting watching the creatures in their tank. Altogether a fine evening's meal...but please $15.00!!!!!! What were you eating? Ours was $180 Euros for 2 including a $2 Euro bottle of wine.

By Ashley

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 6, 2001

Fine Cuisine Served Poolside

This little joint could easily be missed, as it's part of a small hotel up near Hotel Isle de France. We had an excellent, romantic dinner here. The lobster and dessert were very memorable!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement