Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

San Juan Restaurants

Barú

  • 150 Calle San Sebastián Map It
  • Eclectic

Updated 04/22/2014

Fodor's Review

A global menu has earned Barú a solid reputation among sanjuaneros, so this stylishly contemporary restaurant in a 275-year-old colonial townhouse (the tile floor's original) is often crowded. The dishes, some served in medium-size portions so you can order several and share, range from Middle Eastern to Asian to Caribbean. Favorites include almond-crusted goat cheese with mango sauce and yucca chips. More substantial fare includes risotto with shiitake mushrooms and

goat cheese, filet mignon with mashed potatoes and red-wine sauce, and pork ribs with a ginger-tamarind glaze. The dining room is dark and mysterious. You can dine on high stools at the bar. Wine pours here are generous.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

150 Calle San Sebastián, San Juan, 00901, Puerto Rico

Map It

Phone:

787-977–7107

Website: www.barupr.com

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Closed Mon. No lunch

Updated 04/22/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in San Juan

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 13, 2009

Special before going home

We had dinner for 5, without reservations, on Sunday night. Luis was our server and we were seated in the courtyard. Dinner was spectacular. We ordered course by course as he guided, and shared everything. The goat cheese, tuna carpaccio and the shrimp skewers were all spectacular, as was the beef dish. The sangria was the best we've had anywhere. Our server made the last night, spent with a new bride and groom in the family, just wonderful

and special.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 18, 2008

Tapas Incognito

My girlfriend and I had spent a week bouncing from Old San Juan to the rainforest to the mountains and back to OSJ before sadly heading back to Boston. On our next to last night we decided to bounce from well-reviewed restaraunt to well-reviewed restaraunt. We bumped into an American ex-pat on the street and he reccomended this great and relatively new place on San Sabastian called Baru. After glancing over the menu on the street we thought it looked

good. Not until we sat down did we realize--actually were were told by the server after being seated--this was a tapas menu. I was floored by the prices of the "medium-sized" portions. Hoping that a $20 plate of rissotto would blow us away, we ordered it up. Unfortunately it fell way short. The flavors were ok, but disconnected and out of sync. The drinks were pleasant, but for $11 I'd expect fresh lime juice in a Bombay gimlet to be the default (not Rosie's). The almond crusted goat cheese with yucca chips were ok, but not worth the $15. The sultry, Euro-spanish ambience--particularly in the alfresco dining room with base-lit waterfountains--was definitively inviting, and the service staff inarguably attentive, but at the end of the day, it's the food that brings me back. The chef's pallet has me wary of ever returning. I guess the word that came to me as we were leaving was pretentious. I'll take the pig on a spit in Cayey over this type of place anyday.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 6, 2007

Great ambiance and impromptu dancing

Great food and little pricey and not flawless as it should have been for the price. But the ambiance was worth it great romantic patio where we impromptu danced but the waiter ditched us to 'go on break' and our service then was terrible....Worth it tho

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 29, 2006

Worth the trip to Old San Juan

I was reluctant about traveling to an offbeat location in Old San Juan. Baru was definitely worth the trip. The Tapas was moderately priced, best Sangria, and a great Latino Vibe. We had a party of eight, and sharing is a must. We started with several appetizers and I highly recommend the Shrimp Pinchos with Yucafongo? This dish was so good, we ordered a second serving. We also ordered several main dishes. The Seafood Risotto, and the Filet

Mignon with horseradish mashed potatoes and wine sauce were outstanding. Everything we tasted was delicious. I also have to mention Kelly, our beautiful waitress, who was attentive and provided outstanding service. Thanks Cosmo for a great dinner and many laughs. We had a marvelous dining experience and I cannot wait to go back to Baru.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 16, 2006

Worth Going Back to!

Such a great restaurant! We looked it up from our 1st trip to PR and can't wait to return!

By Joanne

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 12, 2006

Memorable dining experience

This was my first dining experience in San Juan and it was great. We went in a group and sat outside in teh courtyard and it was very enjoyable. Great mojitos, atmosphere service and food!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 11, 2005

Great choice for dinner in San Juan

Chic and hip, this restaurant is a great place. My parents and I dined al fresco and enjoyed the large portion meals. We split a salad (plenty for 3ppl) and each tried a dinner entree: Seafood Risotto, Grilled Halibut and Lambchops. Each was delicious but the Lambchops take the cake! Incredible! We ended our feast with frothy cappuccinos and shared a Tres Leche cake - also great! Highly Recommend.

By Alicia

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 7, 2005

Good Stuff

I am from NY and have been to the best restaurants - Baru had the best seafood risotto we ever tasted. It was so good, we had two orders! That alone is worth the 5 stars. The salmon carpachio was good too - skip the filet mignon though. The bartender knows his stuff - get a flavored martini, you'll be glad you did!

By j

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 13, 2005

Fantastic

I live in Chicago and visit NYC quite often. I know good food. Baru - Wow what a place! The service was great. The food was out of this world. And the drinks were fabulous!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement