Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

San Juan Restaurants

Aguaviva

  • 364 Calle Fortaleza Map It
  • $$$
  • Seafood

Updated 03/28/2014

Fodor's Review

The name means "jellyfish," which explains why this ultramodern place has dim blue lighting like a tranquil ocean, and lamps shaped like jellyfish floating overhead. Eating here is like submerging oneself into the sea. The extensive, ever-changing menu by Chef Hector Crespo features inventive ceviches, including the truffle tuna tartare with cucumber and green apple. For something more filling, try the lobster yucca gnocchi or the orzo paella, which is generously covered

with an assortment of seafood. Chicken and chorizo with saffron beurre blanc are added to the dish making it oh so tasty and enough for two. You could also splurge on one of the torres del mar, or "towers of the sea." This gravity-defying dish comes hot or cold and includes oysters, mussels, shrimp—you name it. Don't pass up the Oysters Rockefeller, those alone are worth the trip.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

364 Calle Fortaleza, San Juan, 00901, Puerto Rico

Map It

Phone:

787-722–0665

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No lunch.

Updated 03/28/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in San Juan

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By FlyDST

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 1, 2008

Wonderful!!!

We have been to Puerto Rico a couple of times and do I wish that I had know about this place on the very first day. We ate dinner there (based on a friends recommendation) the last night we were there (on our second trip). The food was delicious!!! It was so beautifully prepared that we ever took pictures of it. We're going back this summer and can't wait to eat there. It was so good that I don't know if I should eat there as soon as we get there

or rest and get some good shopping in.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 17, 2008

Top 3 Restaurants in San Juan, Puerto Rico

If you don't mind the price, then this is the spot to eat before you leave Puerto Rico. I've eaten here as a tourist and I've eaten here as a local. The food is consistent and well prepared. That's why the chef from here was on Iron Chef and won! I haven't eaten all of the dishes here but the one that I remember most is the scallops with orzo. If you like scallops, you have to order this. I've spent alot of money in Puerto Rico on restaurants and

this has to be the one spot where the money is worth every dime.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 17, 2008

Full of Flavor and Atmosphere!

We decided to go to Aguaviva for ceviche as an appetizer and cocktail stop before dinner. We asked to sit at the oyster bar to enjoy watching the cooks. Our server was friendly, attentive and helpful. We had 3 ceviches - fantastic!! I am very much a ceviche fan (I'm from a coastal town) and this was among the very best! We enjoyed our cocktails and the crowd as well. It is indeed alittle expensive as some people mention. It was well worth it

to me.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 28, 2008

Great Food. Romantic Setting. A Perfect Night Out.

This has become one of our favorite restaurants in PR. Our first time there was for Valentine's Day and the service, selection, and setting did not let us down. On the contrary, we really felt that the staff really cared about our dining experience. It is the perfect size restaurant to take your sweartheart on a great dining date.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 24, 2007

Cool down on a hot night

If you're looking for a cool, well-decorated spot for some refreshing fish, this is the place. A great selection of ceviches (the house specialty) and a live oyster bar makes this a perfect spot to unwind after a hot day walking Old San Juan. A little pricey, but worth it if fish is your want.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 7, 2007

Don't waste your time here

Worst dinner on a recent march 2007 trip. Over priced, over rated and under staffed.

By Jim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 18, 2006

Over-all it's Over rated

Appetizers were much better than the main courses.

By vivian

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 17, 2006

Sabroso!!!!!!!!!!!!!

me encanta Aguaviva!!one of the best bartenders is Barbie no one makes a cosmo like her.. my latest trip was a little disappointing when the owner decided to move her to his over the top rest. Dragan Fly. cool foods, need cool drinks.. bring Barber back where she belongs the comos where NOT the same! but the tuna remains one of the best.

By Joanne

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 12, 2006

Aguaviva is a cool dining experience

Very cool place -literally ...everything is blue and white...modern beach decor, very stream line and sleek place. Great mojitos and excellent seafood. Mahi mahi mango cervichi was one of the appetizers we had...very good. The BBQ Camarones -BBQ'd king sized shrimp was EXCELLENT. The shrimp were the biggest I'd ever seen. Creme brulee was also good. A great dining experience overall. This probably tops my list of dining experiences and I would definitly

go back if I visit San Juan again.

Read More

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 10, 2005

Bartender did not accept rum coupons

My wife and I stopped by the bar after dinner for a couple of Mojito's. I gave the bartender two free rum drink coupons and he said "Oh, we only accept those when you order an appetizer" in a spanish accent. We had already eaten and were just there to try some rum cocktails with our coupons. Big dissapointment from one of the trendiest places in San Juan. Save your money.

By mark

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 9, 2005

What a wonderful dining experience

I went to Aquaviva back in 2002. A friend and I went there for dinner, and we ended up going back for dinner the next three nights we were there. The cerviche trio was absolutely amazing, the swordfish chop was gargantuan and delicious, the service was great. The only disappointment, was the so called watermelon juice i ordered. The juice was not freshly made at that moment, it was watered down and loaded with sugar. I told the waiter and he sent

it back and gave me a complimentary other beverage. The next time I am in Puerto Rico, I would immediately go back there for dinner. It's one of my favorite restaurants in the whole world.

Read More

By Eric

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 26, 2005

Must Have The Swordfish

3 types of oysters for an appetizer, all were delicious. I had the paella (with cous cous, not rice) was excellent. My girlfriend had the swordfish (they only get 8 dorsal steaks each night, so order early)...the best we ever tasted. Portions were huge, service was friendly and attentive. Would recommend to anyone!

By Luisa

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 17, 2005

elegant-Nightclub enviorment

Not because of loud music or drunks falling down on top of you, but dark with colored lights and elegant. The fact that is in center of Puerto Rico makes it a great place to go especially for a night of food and drinks. The food was great!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 6, 2005

Trevino does it again in Old San Juan!

Chef/Owner Roberto Trevino has another hit with this fun and inventive restaurant. Swordfish chop is out of this world (call ahead to reserve one), drinks are great and service was wonderfully friendly. I might skip the tower of fried seafood appetizer - a little overcooked and greasy. But, all in all, a very refreshing dinig experience!

By Andrew

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 28, 2005

Over Rated is to be Polite

The place is located in old San Juan (no parking and the streets are usually crowded)and they don'y accept reservations. we got in after a 20 minute wait. The food was mediocre, the service slow and arrogant. Never again

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 14, 2004

Wonderful a must eat at.

We eat at this facility at least once a year and have never been dissapointed. Thier Swordfish Chop has to be the best fish I have ever had the opportunity to enjoy. They cook right in front of you... its a great place.

By Rich

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 28, 2004

I work in the real Soho and have never seen that much attitude.

A couple of other guidebooks and websites in fact actually said you do need a reservation, so we made one without a problem. Then we get down there and the bitchy doorgirl said they do not take them, and put us on a waiting list and told us it would be 20 minutes, and to step inside and have a drink. After 45 minutes and really bad vodka tonics at 8.50 each, we decided to leave. She was also giving tables to other parties of 2 who had come in after

us. On the way out we counted 8 empty tables for 2 ready to be seated. The snotty attitude needs to go. Not a good way to treat customers. I say skip the attitude and find someplace else. They have a no shorts policy, but if you have MC Hammer pants, definately take them along as that seems to be the trend at this place. They also have a red velvet rope out front....real klassy.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement