Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Rincon and the Porta del Sol Hotels

Horned Dorset Primavera

  • Mid morning on top of Mystic Mountain.

  • a small glimpse of Deer Mountain

  • Mid Morning at the top of the lift.

Pros

  • Unabashed luxury
  • Unmatched meals
  • Lovely setting
  • Pet-friendly
  • Beautiful decór
  • Yoga "treehouse."

Cons

  • On a very narrow beach
  • Long staircase to some villas

Updated 03/28/2014

Fodor's Review

This is, without a doubt, the most luxurious hotel in Puerto Rico. The 17 whitewashed villas scattered throughout the tropical gardens are designed so you have complete privacy whether you are relaxing in your private plunge pool or admiring the sunset from one of your balconies. The furnishings in each of the two-story suites are impeccable, from the hand-carved mahogany table in the downstairs dining room to the four-poster beds in the upstairs bedroom. The marble bathroom

has a footed porcelain tub that's big enough for two. (There's a second bath downstairs that's perfect for rinsing off after a walk on the beach.) The villas are designed with furnishings imported from Marrakesh. If you so desire, breakfast can be served in your room. With a terrace overlooking the ocean, the restaurant is among the island's most elegant. A place to unplug from the rest of the world, the hotel limits radios and televisions and does not allow children younger than 12 except with prior approval.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Rte. 429, Km 3, Rincón, 00677, Puerto Rico

Map It

Phone:

787-823–4030; 800-633–1857

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 17 villas
  • No meals; Some meals

Updated 03/28/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Rincon and the Porta del Sol

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By valrout

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 30, 2009

A World-Class Hideaway

We first visited this heavenly hostelry 20 years ago when we reviewed it for the San Juan Star newspaper and gave it highest marks. When we were there in March 2009 we found it expanded to include hillside villas but the original atmosphere of tranquility and elegance has not been lost. In fact, under the watchful eyes of the original proprietors the HDP has been burnished to a glow that could compete successfully with any similar establishment

on the Cote d’Azur. Fodor’s assessment is right on point except for its reference to "haughty" employees. We found this to be utterly untrue; the staff, from top to bottom, is exemplary. If you want to treat yourself handsomely, spend some time here!

Read More

By Ben

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 22, 2006

Tranquility, Luxury and Fine Dining

If you want an amazing beach, entertainment or nightlife, I'd seek elsewhere. If, you want fabulous accomodations, excellent service and amazing dining, seek no further. As a serious "foodie" I was hesitatnt about a place that included meals. In fact, each dinner was outstanding, as good as a fine Chicago restaurant. The accomodations were unbelievably good - huge well furnished villa with lovely pool nearby. Only caveat is virtually _everything_

is far away so if you want to explore more of PR, expect a fair amount of time in the car. That being said, my wife and I look forward to many return visits.

Read More

By Stuart

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 24, 2003

Best Food in the Carribean

Only excellent place to eat in the carribean. Equal to any nyc restaurant. To eat better one would have to go to France. Everything else, service,rooms etc., was fine. Only thing wrong was that the ocean water is not as clear as other carribean islands, st. john VI for example.

By Maria

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 13, 2003

The Villas at the HDP are Luxurious

We are regulars at the Hornes Dorset and we just had the opportunity to stay in their new villas. There is no better and luxurious place to stay in PR. The architecture is divine and the exquisite interior design is all the commodities you need for a fabulous stay. Thank You to Mr. Sachs and I congratulate the Architect de Lemos for his design of the villas. Perfect!!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement