Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Ponce and the Southern Coast Hotels

Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa

Pros

  • Tropical decor
  • Plenty of activities
  • Great dining options

Cons

  • Somewhat distant from other attractions
  • Noise from all the kids

Updated 03/28/2014

Fodor's Review

Without a doubt the most beautiful resort on the southern coast, Copamarina is set on 16 palm-shaded acres facing the Caribbean Sea. The fruit trees and other plants are meticulously groomed, especially around the pair of swimming pools (one popular with kids, the other mostly left to the adults). All the guest rooms are generously proportioned, especially in the older building. Plantation shutters, bamboo headboards and ceilings, and other touches lend a tropical feel.

A small spa blends seamlessly with the rest of the hotel. For children, there is a game room and free daily activities organized by hotel staff. Both the elegant Alexandra and the more casual alfresco Las Palmas Café serve good food. All-inclusive packages are available.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Rte. 333, Km 6.5, Guánica, 00653, Puerto Rico

Map It

Phone:

787-821–0505; 800-468–4553

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 104 rooms, 2 villas
  • No meals; All meals; Some meals

Updated 03/28/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Ponce and the Southern Coast

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • New

Jul 15, 2012

Copamarina Beach Resort Review

We just stayed at the Copamarina (7/12) with our 2 kids and thought it was ok. The room was a little disappointing, needed to be updated and floor was in need of some steam cleaning. The grounds were very nice and the beach clean, but shallow. We took the Ferry from the hotel ($7 per person) to Gilligan's Island, and were a little disappointed to find it crowded with local people (both on the weekend and weekday). The main restaurant, Alexandra,

was excellent. The main restaurant was good, although they only offered a buffet breakfast, which was $10 per child and $20 per adult, which is a waste unless you are a big breakfast eater. The resort is located down a winding mountain road which is not fun to drive at night. It was a good location for a day trip to Ponce (don't go on a Sunday...the stores are mostly closed), and the Lighthouse in Cabo Rojo, and La Parguera where you can catch a boat to see the Bio Bay (we liked Rincon tours and Paradise Dive Shop). We had a deluxe Oceanfront room which had two Queen beds and was a little tight for four people. I would recommend families to spend the extra money and get a suite!

Read More

By AndyNM

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 7, 2008

Great getaway for peace and quiet, no casinos!

Yes, this place is beautiful, quiet, relaxing and clean. You need to avoid the summer months from the local tourists and Nov-Dec from american tourists. Very well maintained landscape and a quiet beach, shallow water and plenty of shade. You can take a short ferry ride to Ballenas Point or Gilligans Island for snorkeling and swimming in waves. If you are looking for deep/wavey water, you'll find it only with a short ferry ride. It was so desolat

there, we even skinny dipped and laid out in the buff. Bring drinks/munchies from the city store 3 miles back. You'll want to spend most of the day on either of the 2 islands, so be prepared. Great for couples and those looking for relaxation/peace. A 2 hr ride from San Juan, very scenic and safe. Well worth the drive. Don't be afraid to go into Guanica at night and eat food from one of the street vendors and have a beer in the local bar at the waterfront. People are friendly. Buy a bottle of rum, some beer and munchies for the evening and the trips to the 2 islands mentioned above. I have been to many tropical places and this tops the list. You can rent kayaks, Hobie sailboat and or a water trike, including snorkeling gear. They have an arcade room for kids, a kiddie pool and a playground. There is a very large public beach park next to this resort, which was barely used and had additional facilities. This resort is a great place for a 3 day or 7 day visit. Plenty of other things to do and visit within a 15-30 minute drive. You can't miss this one. Great deal. Must I say more.

Read More

By rnphd

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 18, 2007

Perfect, perfect, perfect

Perfect, unless you require a beach with waves. The grounds are beautiful and well-maintained; the pools gorgeous, lots of lounging space in either sun or shade. The beach is on a bay, so waveless, but with lovely cabanas or palm-thatched umbrellas to keep you cool. Easy access to water sports and the dive shop staff are both friendly and helpful. The dry forest is across the road and fascinating. It's difficult, though to leave the resort, since

it is so relaxing and gorgeous. The cafe serves very good food (can fresh papaya for breakfast be anything else?) and the staff are fabulous. The biggest problem with this resort is leaving it. The views make postcards look insipid!!

Read More

By Lindsey

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 24, 2006

Muy Bien!!!

This was "heaven on earth"! Excellent place to kick back and relax. A bit pricey, but worth the money... We loved and would reccomend it to anyone! Don't get the all-inclusive, it's not worth it.

By Patty

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 1, 2002

At the copa..copamarina

This is a wonderful place to relax and get a taste of the real Puerto Rico. The staff was helpful, professional and friendly. The rooms were nicely decorated with mini fridges and nice amenities. The grounds were truly beautiful and well maintained. I do recommend a rental car as the resort is far from any atrractions or nightlife. The only problem we had was the mosquitos! Bring insect repellant! They are everywhere and get in the rooms

when the door opens and under the doors (weatherstripping would be a great idea). The beach was just okay. Overall it was a great introduction to Puerto Rico and we would return again.

Read More

By Robert

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 5, 2002

An Excellent Retreat!

We stayed at the Copamarina during Easter. It was a delight! The grounds and atmosphere are beautiful, restful and elegant. The resort was booked up but it never felt crowded! We really looked forward to breakfast at their open air cafe. The buffet was everything you could ask for- the food was very fresh. The room had definitly been updated and was very "Carribean" in style. Our family loved their policy of keeping the pools and jacuzzis open 24

hours! What could be better than lounging in the jacuzzi with a full moon, awesome stars, and the sound of the palms swaying in the breeze?! We also would recommend that you take a pass going to Gilligan's Island. There isn't a beach and the snorkling is poor and it is always crowded. Instead drive down the road from the resort to where there are several nice beaches. We highly recommed this family resort and we would definitly return.

Read More

By JLR

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 22, 2001

Beautiful solitude

Copamarina's property is truly beautiful. I love all the swaying palms and open spaces. It's very quiet and you can truly relax there. I loved the open air lobby and reception. We liked the the food at the outdoor cafe more than the restaurant, although the prices were very high. $14 for a single tomato stuffed with shrimp salad. I didn't care much for the food at the Costal Cuisine restaurant (the $9.00 flan was good, but overpriced). Our biggest

complaint (and of other guests) is that there is NO night life. The beach front bar closed at 6:00 during the week which is before the sun even sets - and that was the best place to watch it from! Saturday night it stayed open until 9:00. About 10 mintues away in Yuaco is a plaza with familiar stores (Walgreens, KMart, Subway). All in all, I would go again, the beautiful grounds and relaxing atmosphere win over the high priced, average food.

Read More

By Brian

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 14, 2000

Sweet Solitude and Pleasant Peacefulness

The grounds are near perfect and the atmosphere begs one to relax and forget all but the sound of the wind and sea. Gilligans Island is a must and make up for the tiny beach on the resort waterfront. Great diving and snorkeling. The resort food is good but there are some great restaurants in nearby towns if you have a rental car. The small crowds allow one to have plenty of room and privacy on the grounds or beach. We've been twice and will return

again. It's my favorite spot in the islands. I can relax there. Isn't that what we go on vacation for?

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement