Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Jamaica Hotels

Rockhouse Hotel

  • Rockhouse Hotel, Negril

    Rockhouse Hotel

  • Rockhouse Hotel, Negril

    Rockhouse Hotel

  • Rockhouse Hotel, Negril

    Rockhouse Hotel

  • Rockhouse Hotel, Negril

    Rockhouse Hotel

Pros

  • Unique accommodations
  • Beautiful setting
  • Natural, tropical style throughout
  • Great dining options

Cons

  • No beach
  • May be too quiet for vacationers looking for a party scene

Updated 03/13/2014

Fodor's Review

Attracting discerning travelers, honeymooners, and celebrities, this boutique hotel has its cottages and villas placed along a cliff. The rustic but stylish accommodations are built from rough-hewn timber, thatch, and stone, and each has a four-poster, queen-size bed. Lush, tropical gardens ensure privacy at every turn. There are steps down to the sea, with bridges over gaps in the cliffs, where the water has carved out spectacular caves. A highlight of Rockhouse is its

spa, which is also open to the public, where you can indulge yourself in one of the treatment rooms or a cliff-side cabana. There is also a yoga deck and a saltwater pool that's for guests only.

Read More

Hotel Award Winner | 2011

Hotel Information

Address:

West End Rd., Negril, Jamaica

Map It

Phone:

876-957–4373

Hotel Details:

  • 9 rooms, 20 villas, 5 studios
  • No meals

Updated 03/13/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Jamaica

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By gr5806

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 21, 2011

Rockhouse Hotel Review

Been staying here for over 30 years.. It has stayed up with the times without losing its heritage or vibe.. A magical place.. Perfect Jah spot to watch the sunset from the infinity pool, ot the terrific restaurant bar.. Hate leaving here when the time comes, but always know I'll be back..

By Karin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 19, 2005

Rockhouse is a real gem!

Just returned from Rockhouse with my husband and two teenage daughters. Everyone loved it. We stayed in a villa with loft. The setting couldn't have been prettier. The water is so blue and clear. We snorkeled right off our villa's veranda. The restaurant is lovely too with good food for all meals. Try heading outside of the hotel for a few meals too. Beezie's jerk chicken across the street was super. We liked the staff. Very friendly without being

"over the top". The staff seems like a big family - most we talked with had been there for many years. It makes a difference. Perfect vacation - good value.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 7, 2004

Rockhouse Better than All-Inclusive

My fiancee and I went to Jamaica for vacation last summer. We couldn't make up our minds whether to do an all-innclusive vacation or not, so we did both! The first part of our vacation was spent at Couple's Negril. The accomodations and room were nice and the staff was great but it still seemed like we were in the United States. The famous "jerk" food was lack-luster and the music reminded me of bad elevator music. The second part of our vacation

was spent at the Rockhouse. The views were spectacular! The water was crystal blue, the sunsets were amazing. I enjoyed the outdoor shower and I definitely recommend getting a bungalow. The lobster omlette was great! (My finacee ate that every morning for three days). If you want to indulge yourself, I would recommend a couple's massage. They come to your room. The only annoyance were the mosquitos, which were outside the hands of the staff. All in all, I HIGHLY recommend Rockhouse. You're not bombarded by alcohol guzzling/loud obnoxious people. It's a place to sit back and relax and enjoy being with the one you love.

Read More

By Julie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 16, 2004

Rockhouse Rocks

Gorgeous place. LOVED the room - villa w/loft. All wood, thatch, stone. Poster bed draped with netting. So perfect. The rock-wall, open-air shower was the BEST. Pool was awesome. Restaurant was perfect. Staff? so-so. Didn't go out of their way to be nice or to help, but basically just left you alone, which was usually ok, but friendlier would have been better. My daughters complained about the heat in the loft - air conditioning is kind of

weak, but we had fans. Would have been nice to be able to have coffee early in the a.m. to watch the sunrise (restaurant doesn't open that early; would've been nice to have an in-room maker) but I didn't miss having a tv! Hated the cab rides to town (hate to haggle!), so was content to snorkel, sunbathe, and enjoy the laid-back atmosphere. The best luxury was jumping off cliff by room into beautiful, clear water of cove. I'd go back there in a minute.

Read More

By Wendy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 18, 2001

Romance Defined

Not a place to go if you expect all of the amenities, but if you're looking for character and romance at a great price - this is it. The cottages are sparce, but suited our needs. We visited some friends at Sandals during the week and thanked our lucky stars that we had chosen Rockhouse. The staff is polite, laid-back - the food in the restaurant is wonderful, and the scenery and the water (accessible via cliffside ladders) can't be beat!

By Peter

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 18, 2001

There's Nothing "Rocky" About A Vacation at Rockhouse

We stayed at Rockhouse in December and loved it there. The rooms (we stayed in a villa) were incredible and had obviously been newly updated, painted, repaired. They are thatch roofed octagonal villas on the edge of the water. The food at the restaurant was fantastic and the pool cut into the cliff was amazing. The staff was very friendly and the atmosphere was truly Jamaican. If you are looking for a well designed slightly rustic, sexy, Jamaican

experience then this place is perfect.

Read More

By Diane

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 21, 2000

Stylish-side, Cliffs-side

We stayed at Rockhouse for four nights mid-May 2000. That means we got off-season rates for a villa, which was a very good value ($135/night). The pluses: fresh linens with flowers on your pillow daily; the large tile outdoor shower is heaven; in-room mini-bar fridge, CD player, and a sturdy floor fan to augment the overhead -- necessary without A/C. Gripes: I do hope the few leaks in the thatched roof are fixed over the off-season, and the romantic

but practical and necessary mosquito netting on the four-poster bed was functional, but with multiple tears, somewhat unsightly. Screens on the sliding door/windows would have been lovely. Those are pretty minor complaints, though. The staff is very professional and helpful. Security is discrete. The restaurant is wonderful, although the 2-for-1 happy hour drinks were pretty weak. (Go for Red Stripes, instead.) Our delight was being able to snorkel in the cove (and neighboring areas) whenever we pleased. The snorkeling was pretty good, too. While I don't need a pool when I've got that lovely sea, this one is very, very nice. The poolside bar dispenses drinks, food, and huge beach/pool towels efficiently. This was a very romantic and beautiful spot to stay on the cliffs. We had spent four previous nights on the beach, so it was almost like a completely different vacation. Pretty cool.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement