Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Jamaica Hotels

Couples Swept Away Negril

  • Early sunset from room

  • Sunset from Room

  • Hobie Cat

  • Amazing sunset every night.

  • Swimming in the Caves

Pros

  • Excellent fitness and sports facilities
  • Complimentary round-trip airport shuttle
  • Great spa

Cons

  • The healthy angle's not for everyone
  • Some facilities are across the road from resort
  • Fairly expensive

Updated 03/13/2014

Fodor's Review

Sports-minded couples are welcomed to this all-suites resort known for its expansive menu of sports offerings, top-notch facilities (the best in Jamaica and among the best in the Caribbean), and emphasis on healthy cuisine. If you're looking for an active vacation that is still sprinkled with a hint of romance, it's your best option in Negril. The suites are in 26 two-story and three-story tropical villas—each with a private verandah overlooking the sea or a lush garden

area—spread out along a ½-mi (¾-km) stretch of gorgeous beach. Across the road lies one of Jamaica's best sports complexes, with classes and high-end equipment and instruction. There are 10 tennis courts.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Norman Manley Blvd., Negril, Jamaica

Map It

Phone:

876-957–4061

Website: www.couples.com

Hotel Details:

  • 312 suites
  • All-inclusive
  • 3-night minimum

Updated 03/13/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Jamaica

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 9, 2007

Total Let-Down Dump

My husband and I went to a friend's wedding at this resort in April 2007. We had never been to an all inclusive resort before, and now I think I know why. The service was terrible. It took forever to check in, and when we arrived early, they simply told us to come back at 3pm. No directions to a restroom where we might be able to change or a restaurant on the property to get lunch. The quality of the food was poor and the wine list was: "white"

or "red". Very classy. The accommodations were not private or romantic at all. We could literally hear our neighbors cough, and the pitter patter of flip flops outside our bedroom at all hours. The beach was beautiful- it is just too bad it was littered with ugly beach chairs and old, moldy cushions. The spa was a joke. We were told to "make it speedy" by staff when changing for our massage, as we were herded into the "hotel room" that they called a massage room. In my experience, a spa usually consists of a sauna, steam room or something more than a hotel room with massage tables. (And you can forget about robes or slippers)- there wasn't even a private toilet in the spa (literally just a toilet in the room with beaded curtains for privacy). The service continued to be so terrible, that we sat for 3 hours at the wedding dinner before the main course was served. The bride actually left the restaurant before the main course was served! Needless to say, after our friend's wedding, we left the resort early (and were not refunded by the management, even after our specific complaints). We spent the remainder of our time at the Ritz Carlton in Montego Bay, which I would HIGHLY recommend. The service there was impeccable. We were offered an upgraded room at the time of our early arrival.

Read More

By j

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 20, 2004

Good Value

Room was nice after we changed rooms to the second floor. The beach was beautiful white sand; however, no service on the beach and nobody helped with chairs. Towels also ran out if you got there past 11:00. When we first checked in after check in time, our room was not ready and had to wait for another hour. The food was plentiful and very good for all-inclusive food. Overall, good value.

By Ella

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 16, 2004

One of the best vacations we ever had

Just returned from the resort. Excellent service. It's hard to believe that in such poor country everybody so nice and friendly, at least the people we met in resort. Great beach and water just fantastic. Food was Ok for the first few days. Then you might get tired from basically the same dishes. But overall we had a perfect four nights vacation. I would recommend to all my friends.

By Jessica

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 4, 2004

One Word: Unicyclist

My husband and I went to Swept Away for seven days in May to celebrate our honeymoon. A number of things bothered us about the resort in respect to how much we paid. 1. Room was not so clean. After showering and walking in the room our feet were black. Even after the staff cleaned the room, it just wasn't that clean. 2. Service not as good as we had expected. Now, everyone says that it is "Jamaican Time", but there were times staff took

our order and then disappeared. More than once we had to order a drink from multiple staff people to get a drink. 3. Entertainment at night (if you can call it that) was loud if you wanted to get to bed early or have some quiet time together and, as it was, the entertainment was usually not of high quality. For example, one night the resort had a unicyclist and a man who could balance plastic resin tables on his forehead (among other things.). The good points about the resort were that the staff overall were very genuine about wanting guests to have a great time and were very friendly and that bthe resort was physically beautiful. The beach is amazing. All in all, it wasn't worth the money and a disappointment.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 8, 2004

You are on Island Time Mon!

We just came back from our homeymoon at CSA and had a wonderful time! We stayed in the new rooms and they were very nice. The verandah is smaller than the older rooms, but we were by no means cramped. We liked having the mini-bar which was restocked daily with Red Stripe, water, soda, &mixers. The wine (Gato Negro) was not so great, but did taste delicious at 2 AM in the ocean. (Hey it was a honeymoon)The food choices were nice and varied. We

never went hungry.The service was very good. As Easterners, we had to keep reminding ourselves that were were on "Island time" which is nothing like a "New York minute." The resort is very well maintained and there appears to be an army of employees working around the clock. All staff was friendly and helpful and made sure you were satisfied with their assistance. Overall, we had a thoroughly enjoyable experience and would go back again.

Read More

By Shannon

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 15, 2003

Fantastic

My husband and I loved most everything about the resort. The food was amazing, even the buffet. Martinis at the martini bar before dinner were fantastic. Beach was beautiful. Only drawback was the noise--both construction and from surrounding resorts (mostly loud music). But overall a great resort with incredible facilities!

By Amanda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 4, 2003

Perfect for Pregnant Getaway

My husband and I went to Swept Away for 6 nights as a last getaway before baby (I was in my second trimester). We researched many places before reading the other good reviews and deciding on Swept Away. We had a truely wonderful time with relaxation, fun, and good food. The staff was great. They were understanding and accomodating about pregnancy - they moved us without difficulty from our first room which was close to the night entertainment and

a little loud for people going to bed early, answered questions about the food preparation, and gave us special instructions during a couples massage class. We met other couples there, including other pregnant ones, and enjoyed having alone time as well as being social. Lastly, the grounds are so lush and the beach and the water are wonderful - especially floating on the soft mats provided. One note of caution - there is a nurse on staff at the hotel for assistance but our friends had a pregnancy medical emergency and the local hospital left much to be desired. Luckily, all was ok.

Read More

By Robert

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 16, 2003

Resort has great perks, only average food

Spent 9 days at Swept Away. This was our first attempt at an all-inclusive resort in carib. We liked the overall atmosphere (room, beach, jungle-like grounds, free activities, staff) but the food and restaurents were only average. And after 8 days, average gets old fast. We are used to more upscale restaurant quality and do not mind paying for it on vacation. Get ready for buffets at this resort. For Breakfast, buffet only. Lunch is a combo

of buffet and menu. Main dining room for dinner serves okay food, but after 8 days, we were not looking forward to our meals. The beach side lunch/dinner grill is the best option. We have stayed at some of the finer resorts in the caribbean so we have a good comparative benchmark. If you are the Sandals or cruise ship type of person, this resort will work great for you.

Read More

By Laura

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 14, 2003

A Tropical Paradise!

Jamaica has always been my choice for a caribbean vacation because of its lushness, beautiful beaches and friendly people. This was my fifth time there (4th to Negril) but my first time at Swept Away. If you are looking for a mix of tropical "jungle like" settings with all the amenities, this is it! The room's walls are all shutters, and leaving them open at night (they are screened) is like sleeping in a treehouse. The lush vegetation envelopes

your room, the tree frogs lull you to sleep, and the beautiful multi-colored song birds awaken you with their songs. Order room service for breakfast and dine on your very large veranda and enjoy the sights and sounds of a truly tropical paradise. The beaches consist of clean, cool, white sand, and the water is crystal clear turquoise green. (Everyday, around 4:30PM, glance down and see the dozens of starfish!) Food is good and plentiful (be sure to make reservations for "Feathers", the fabulous gourmet restaurant as soon as your arrive). Explore the lush grounds, spa, outstanding fitness center, and all this fabulous place has to offer. I can't wait to return!

Read More

By Maureen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 20, 2002

When can we go back?!

My husband and I chose Swept Away for our honeymoon and loved every minute of it. Everything exceeded our expectations! The room was large and very clean. The service was INCREDIBLE. Everywhere we turned, someone was smiling and offering a drink, snacks, conversation or something to do. The food was great - and there was lots of it too. The buffetts were perfect for me (no red meat) and my husband. Every morning we had omlettes cooked to order and

lots of fresh fruits. The beach was VERY clean and clear. I think the beach team was up at 3 a.m. to rake the beach each morning! The equiptment was top notch and well kept. It does rain everyday for about an hour - and when it rains, it pours! That's why everything remains so lush. There are also lots of mosquitos - make sure you pack bug spray. It's a hot item in the gift shop. We look forward to going back!

Read More

By BDM

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 29, 2002

Just My Opinion...

We arrived for our honeymoon and were disappointed to learn that our beachfront room was no longer available. The staff bent over, giving us more than enough spa credits and champagne each night. When we checked out they even sent us home with cash! Amazing. As far as the resort, it turns out we didn't need "beachfront" anyway. It's only a short walk and the relative seclusion was quite pleasant. It's not that the food was bad, but you can certainly

get more for your money other places. We made up for it in drinks from the juice bar and the beachside tiki bar. Good amenities, nice beach, low traffic. By the time our trip was over, I never wanted to leave...

Read More

By Bill

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 17, 2001

We really were swept away!

fabulous resort, especially for those who like sports and fitness. We couldn't have asked for more. The staff is friendly, the food is good, the entertainment was great, and the atmospher is unpretentious. We can't wait to return!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement