Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Jamaica Hotels

Couples Negril

Pros

  • Free weddings for guests staying six nights or more
  • Complimentary airport shuttle
  • Good stretch of beach

Cons

  • It's a long walk along the beach to the heart of the action if you want to sample life outside the all-inclusive

Updated 03/13/2014

Fodor's Review

This couples-only resort emphasizes romance and relaxation and is a more laid-back alternative to the nearby Sandals Negril. The resort has a good beachfront along Bloody Bay, north of the funkier Negril Beach, although Negril's bohemian nature is still reflected throughout the nine low-rise buildings. The property is decorated in bright colors, and lively art by local craftspeople peppers public spaces. Rooms are similarly bright and roomy but are not luxurious. All rooms

are air-conditioned and have king-size beds and ceiling fans; oversized bathrooms have a double vanity and Jacuzzi bathtub; every room has a flat-screen TV, bathrobes, an iPod docking station, and a minibar stocked with beer, wine, juices, and soda (replenished daily); hors d'oeuvres are delivered each evening. All rooms also include balcony or patio, and suites have hammocks. All land and water activities, selected excursions, and weddings are included in the rates.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Norman Manley Blvd., Negril, Jamaica

Map It

Phone:

876-957–5960

Website: www.couples.com

Hotel Details:

  • 234 rooms, 18 suites
  • All-inclusive

Updated 03/13/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Jamaica

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Zammy1

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 25, 2007

Paradise Found

We returned from our second trip to Couples Negril in April, and I will say we found our paradise. Our only complaint about the property is that the rooms do need a bit of revamping, but they are comfortable and the beds are great! The food is great and you must try Otaheite........ Realize you are in the Caribbean and service is much slower here, but always with a smile...... The staff goes out of their way to make you happy. Bloody Bay is absolutely

gorgeous and I must say as I research other places to stay, such as Punta Cana, I am having a hard time leaving the calm of that Bay...... We find Couples has numerous repeat guests, us being one of them, and there are reasons for that. The resort exudes romance, the beach is picture perfect, the pool is huge and a great place to meet people, the food again is wonderful, the drinks always flowing and the ambiance incredible. I am trying to force myself to try a new place next year, and it may end up being another Couples Resort on the Ocho side, but then again it may end up being CN again.........

Read More

By Caren

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 22, 2005

Romance Romance

We spent our 16th anniversary at CN and can't wait to go back. The food is excellent and very diverse, the beach is phenomenal as are the watersports, and there aren't enough good things to day about the staff. They truly make the experience unforgettable. There aren't any finer people that the people of Jamaica.

By Tricia

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 19, 2005

Couples Negril

We loved Couples Negril! The food was wonderful - the service was great - the beach was beautiful. The only thing we didn't like was that we paid for an ocean view room and felt it was more of a gardenview.

By Karen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 31, 2004

This picky person picks Couples Negril again!

I have been to many resorts and this place just can't be beat for the price. Two GREAT trips there and I'm going again next year as well. This year I had a slight water pressure problem with my shower, other than that-it was PERFECT! I just saw that somebody had the gall to review this resort that didn't even stay there-they don't know what they're talking about. I had no problems getting drinks on the beach and the beach was immaculate!

By Mack

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 6, 2003

Rooms don't Quite Match the Resort

Nice resort, however the rooms did not measure up to quality. The bathroom had mildew around the tub and toilet. The room had tile floors, which had lots of dirt and mildew in the grout, especially in the bathroom. The resort was very clean and well maintained however the rooms are in much need of renovation. They were late cleaning our room two out of four nights. They were also stingy with the towels and wash clothes.

By Terri

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 20, 2003

GO Smokey

My husband and I just returned from COuples Negril. All I can say is FAB-U-LOUS. We had an unbelievable perfect time. We celebrated our 10 yr anniversary and renewed our vows. It was so much more than I expected and I have very high expectations. The place was magical, beautiful, impeccably clean and romantic. The service was awesome. The entertainment was so-so, but Smokey the MC for most of the events made it so much more fun. We made friends

with several of the guests and staff including the waiters, wedding staf and entertainers. They made you feel like it wasn't all about work. You do have to sign up for your activies right away to get the day you want. But there are always alternate days. The 5 star dining at ottahite was wonderful. We even got to go twice. The beach was beautiful and very spacious unlike neighboring Grand Lido and Riu. There was so much free activites to do including scub, waterski, snorkling, catamaran, wind sailing just to name a few. I haven't seen any that even offers this type of free water activities. The rooms were very comfortable. I brought to cans of mosquito spray and I got bit once. My Husband didn't get bit at all. I would highly recommend this place for a fun, romanitic, (not overcrowded) wonderful vacation. We'll be going back next year. Best vacation ever.

Read More

By Angela

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 3, 2003

Best place yet....

Couples was perfect in every way, I was amazed. The rooms were decorated in a unique way, the housekeeping was on point, as was the food, the bartenders, and every single thing you could imagine. This was a truly "heaven on earth" experience, my only complaint was that we had to leave!!

By Melissa

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 22, 2002

10 Year Anniversary at Couples

What a wonderful place to celebrate our 10th anniversary. Room - We went for a suite right on the beach. It was so spacious, a/c worked well, bathroom as big as our bedroom, great amenities. The room was always cleaned well and the staff left little "snack plates" throughout the day. Restaurants - The food was excellent and plentiful. The a la carte restaurants were even better. Activities - You can do it all or do nothing. Everything we could

think of was available including parasailing and water skiing. Staff - Very friendly and helpful! Night Life - None Nude Beach - Yes If I could get off work, my husband and I would leave now!!!

Read More

By Kristy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 22, 2002

Well Maintained & in a Nice Setting

We were there in late Oct/early Nov 2001. Excellent food and drinks. Nice beach and beautiful decor. Good value with all meals and drinks, activities, and some excursions. Entertainment was so so and the house band was not good. Staff not as friendly or helpful as staff at Couples Ocho Rios, nor was there as much to do. But still a nice resort. We had a good time and would go back.

By Bo

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 30, 2001

Staff did not comfort me!

Spent honeymoon there in May. I thought the rooms, grounds, and food were exceptional -- best we'd seen in Jamaica. However, staff was lacking in customer service -- not rude, just not very pleasant or thorough or thoughtful! Had to ask repeatedly to have champagne delivered to room (wanted it for our special night, got it the next day)! Asked for Miller Light beer for the wet bar -- they balked -- they could give me Red Stripe but I'd have to

walk down to the bar to get Miller beer! Went to the bar and asked the bar tender for two cans of beer (one for now and one for later). He balked saying that they were not supposed to serve drinks except in a glass! What! Again, the staff wasn't "bad" -- I just felt like for an "upscale" resort like Couples, that they should be more flexible and accomodating when dealing with guests. IMO, they seem to be wholly unconcerned with your level of enjoyment or comfort (unlike other resorts in Jamaica where I've stayed). I don't expect anyone to "break a leg" to please me but I don't think it's asking too much to have the drink service personnel go to the bar and cop a couple of cans of beer. It's those type of little things that go a long way in shaping someone's impression about a place and it's staff!

Read More

By Amy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 12, 2001

Good enough for this Travel Agent

Traveled to Couples Negril for my honeymoon because it was the only major resort on the island I haven't seen. I will never stay at any other resort again (when traveling to Jamaica). The service was fabulous and the rooms were very unique and clean. I can't believe I was actually able to fit into my swim suit after eating all of the wonderful food! We'll be going back!!!!

By Adam

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 4, 2001

Just Perfect

My wife and I did the Couples' Double Take and spent half the time in Negril and half in Ocho Rios (don't do it!). We wished we had stayed in Negril. The beach was perfect, the room was nice (get the beachfront suite with the hammock!), the food was out of this world (don't miss breakfast) and the service impeccable. I only gave it a "4" in value because it was expensive. Regardless, we will be back and next time we'll skip the double take.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement